We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windekind Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windekind Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Huntington B&B and Inns
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We recently took our first trip to New England. We stayed in the studio for just a couple nights. I wish it could have been longer but we had other destinations to get to. The setting was beautiful nestled at the end of a winding gravel road in the mountains. The studio was well appointed and had everything we needed. It was plenty big enough for the 3 of us. I especially enjoyed the claw foot tub. Our gracious hosts were more than willing to share their knowledge of the area and gave us terrific pointers and ideas for day trips. Our son LOVED Elsa and Mark's train. Hope to go back someday and stay a little longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidneynurse05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently spent two nights in Breidablick Cottage as our home base for leaf peeping in northern Vermont. The setting couldn't have been more stunning and idilic. The surrounding hillside was covered in fall colors set against a pasture of grazing cows and our cottage was rustic but very comfortable. The updated kitchen includes everything you would need to cook and the cottage comes complete with tv and radio. While the location is a bit off the beaten path, we were close enough to excellent restaurants and grocery stores. Mark and Marijke are wonderful hosts and helped us with our itineraries and local attractions. Mark's train shop and track layout were highlights for us. We even got to take the train for a few spins around the property! I would highly recommend Windekind for a special stay in Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The cottage is rustic, simple, and beautiful!!! The setting is back in a valley overlooking beautiful scenery. Queen bed upstairs is very soft - sleeps two. Futon in living area is somewhat firm and can sleep two. Place is charming and hosts are as well. Enjoyed our short stay and hope to return for an even longer one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Szmorr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband, myself and our 13 year old son recently stayed for 2 nights in the Breidablick cottage. Such a beautiful vista, we would have loved to stay longer and just relax! We had a few visits from their sweet Golden Lab, Elsie. Mark and Marijke were lovely hosts and Mark gave us a grand tour of his train shop where he makes beautiful model steam engines and gave us great information about the area and things to do; lovely chatting with him! We definitely want to return and maybe even plan a winter vacation to try out some of the trails for cross country skiing. We've been singing the praises of Windekind farm and definitely feel it was a highlight of our vacation this summer!

Thanks so much again!!
Mike, Maxine and Tristan

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishsettermags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The mood was set for a great night. Mark and Marijke Smith had Windekind Farm as welcoming as can be for a delicious Flash Dinner with Karyl Kent of New Leaf Catering. The Paella was outstanding! Huntington River Vineyard sold their delightful wines by the glass. The gardens and birds were all on que. Our hosts delighted the crowd of over 42 with their Post and Beam locally milled "Campanula" Cottage. We finished the evening frolicking on the Engineer Mark's train. Joe Capps sewed the evening together with fine Jazz. And then the beautiful August full moon arose in the east finishing off the glorious summer feast. The place is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NdeTarnowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I had a wonderfully restful time at Windekind farm. If a vacation is supposed make you feel recharged, it was a great success. We rented Breidablick cottage and brought our Aussi. Honestly, it was a dream landscape -- bring your art supplies!. Mark and Marijke are gracious and kind. You can either lie low or use it as a wonderful touring base. We did both. Since we hit the Burlington Farmers' market and co-op on the first day, we had fun cooking and eating in. Mark's information about the area can help you really find the highlights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlington_VAMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I have been staying at Windekind since 2005—our first visit was in wintry weather, complete with an ice storm and many inches of snow! Even in less-than-stellar weather, Windekind Farm enchanted us from the start, and became a “second home” to us. Over the years, we have stayed in both the Studio and Breidablick, at times bringing our pug and Labrador along, and at times, opting for a romantic/peaceful stay, complete with hiking trips, reservoir kayaking, and visits to the Boyden Valley Winery. As long-standing guests, we have truly witnessed the amazing evolution of Windekind, and have also felt a part of that growth and change.

Just a few weeks ago, my husband and I returned to Windekind after nearly a year. This visit felt especially necessary, as I have been recovering from difficult foot surgery, and was craving an escape and the chance to use my kayak on the Green River Reservoir. Also, my husband’s business has been hectic and non-stop busy, and he was eager to fully decompress, go boating, and cook in the farm’s Big Green Egg grill!

As we drove down the dirt road to the farm, we breathed a long sigh of relief and drank in the (as always) exquisite view. Cows chewed grass and plodded about. Dogs ran to greet us, as though we had just been there the day before and they knew we would have treats in our pockets. We marveled at the construction of the new building—a glorious structure, aptly named Campanula (“Little Bell”)—with an incredible view of the farm, mountains, other cottages, and Mark and Marijke’s beautiful homestead.

This time, we visited as a relentless heat wave was breaking, and we could feel the air change. We unburdened ourselves of the stresses back home, breathed in the fresh Vermont air, unpacked our bags, and settled into Breidablick, which was, as always, clean, bright, and with all the amenities we could need. We then walked down to Mark’s studio to greet him, then over to the homestead to see Marijke.

Mark and Marijke—and of course, Elsa the Lab, the farm’s adorable ambassador—are the most warm and welcoming hosts you will ever meet. Whether you visit Windekind once every few years or once a month, each time you return you will feel like a valued part of the “farm family”. Mark and Marijke are always available—for questions, conversation, and suggestions about where to walk, hike, kayak, or dine—but they also realize that folks enjoy their space, relaxation time, and adventures both on and off the farm.

On our last afternoon at Windekind, after a great deal of fun, beautiful weather, and delicious meals (who needs to dine out when you have a full kitchen at your disposal?), Mark graciously showed us around the construction site that is quickly becoming Campanula, the breathtaking new “cottage”. It is far more than a cottage, mind you—it is truly a magnificent work of art. When it is completed, it will have a huge porch, perfect for warm summer nights and cooler autumn days. There will be ample sleeping space (bedrooms and a heavenly loft), a fully-equipped kitchen, radiant floor heating, and many more exquisite details and amenities. It is clearly a labor of love, as well as a family project of which Mark, Marijke, and their children (and grandchildren!) should be incredibly proud. Campanula will be ideal for family reunions, wedding parties, and gatherings of friends.

In essence, we will forever be returning to Windekind, whether as a couple, with our pups, or even with friends and family in tow. For us, Mark, Marijke, and Elsa are now part of our extended family, and Windekind will always be our “second home.”

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardComma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
17.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
16.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
17.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
14.5 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windekind Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windekind Farm

Property: Windekind Farm
Address: 1425 Bert White Road, Huntington, VT 05462
Region: United States > Vermont > Huntington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Huntington
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing