We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They could write the book on how to do a B and B”
Review of Fitch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fitch Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“They could write the book on how to do a B and B”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We loved this place because attention is paid to every detail and need. John and Julie make it look so easy. We were the only ones staying on the day we arrived. It had been raining and we were pooped. Well, fresh baked cookies and tea were laid out to start near the woodburning stove. It got us off to a great start. I had checked out all the rooms on their site . One thing that I did not "feel" from the site is the total warmth and comfort of the place. The views from our room (The Vermont Federal room) were super. One note, is some of the private baths are quite compact, so if you are a person of size, do ask which would be most comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent. I wish we had booked two nights there. We were just passing though, so did not explore the town. We did visit the Cabot Creamery nearby though and that was fun.

Room Tip: Vermont Federal rm. or Mass. room back w/ views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
107
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Julie and John's old house is beautifully kept up. The room was attractive, the bed comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the hosts warm and friendly. We stayed here on a ski trip - within easy reach of Smugglers Notch ... Also, the cookies were delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skier60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Just returned from a stay here this past weekend. We stayed in the room with the outside separate entrance, fireplace, jacuzzi etc, which was completely private and relaxing. This B & B is immaculate with well maintained historic charm. All modern amentities were available and within an arms reach.
The innkeepers Julie and Jon were very nice and at the top of their game. If you are looking for a b & b within a short driving distance to Stowe, this is the place. In fact,the value here is incredible and unmatched to other b & bs in the area ( you will pay much more in Stowe for the same services). 
My only complaint would be that my boyfriend and I had pancakes, french toast and waffles all three days we stayed there with no egg variety in between. However, we did not mention anything about this while we were there and eggs can be pre-requested. We just assumed there would be more of a variety as demonstrated in other b & b's. However, the meals were diverse in other ways and very good. Great perks, maple syrup, comfort and the epitome of everything Vermont! I will gladly return if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aja915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We just spent a wonderful weekend at the Fitch Hill Inn. We decided to visit the Stowe area a week ago, and were lucky to find this gem. We arrived on Friday evening with our college aged son, and stayed in the Green Mountain Suite. We were warmly greeted by Julie, and after partaking of the fresh cookies that apparently are available every evening, she gave us an introduction to the inn then left us to settle in. The room was very nice, with lots of room even with the sleeper pulled out. In the morning we had one of the best breakfasts ever, starting with the baked pear, then a pumpkin nut muffin, followed by stuffed French toast (a single piece made with cream cheese between two thin slices of bread, the whole thing then dipped in the egg mixture and grilled, topped by a blueberry maple sauce. Delicious, and just the right amount of food (some meals are overly generous and leave you feeling stuffed, this was just perfect). We then went to Trapp Family Lodge for a wonderful day of skiing. Skied up to the cabin for lunch, then on around the trails. At our host's recommendation we went to the Bees Knees in Johnson for dinner, then went back to the Inn where we had a pleasant conversion with John and then watched a movie.
In the morning we had another good breakfast (berries on yogurt, blueberry muffins, egg soufflé), then went skiing on the trails by the high school. Though not as extensive as commercial areas, they as just a few minutes from the Inn, are well groomed, and free. For lunch we stopped at Sweet Crunch Bake Shop for some great sandwiches.
We were very lucky to have wonderful snow, great weather and overall as good a weekend as you can ever have, and the Inn was definitely a large part of what made it so good. We are very glad we stayed here rather than in Stowe, and highly recommend it to anyone planning to ski at Trapp Family Lodge (or at one of the downhill places as other guests were).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fixit14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at Fitch Hill Inn for a couple of night in late 2009 and loved it so much that we came back for a week in 2010. The inn has so many little touches that make it special- from the beautiful hand made quilts and curtains to a jug of plum wine in each room and home baked cookies in the afternoon. The breakfast each day was simply heavenly. The rooms do vary in size, as do the beds, so if you like to spread out, try to book a room with a queen/king size bed (I think the Massachusetts room is one of the larger ones; we've also stayed in the Vermont room, which was smaller but very pretty and cozy). regardless though, all are very well appointed and comfortable. I have a back problem, so the quality of the mattress is important for me, and Fitch Hill Inn certainly has excellent ones. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The inn sits on a beautiful property and is also very close to Stowe, but such a better value than many of the places there. In my experience, too, this has been the best B&B we stayed in in Vermont. All in all, it was a wonderful time and we plan to come back in the summer now!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alibeeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersworth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Our stay at the Fitch Hill In was by far the best bed and breakfast experience we've ever enjoyed. The Inn offers an exquisite combination of luxury and down-home comfort. I particularly enjoyed reading my book by the wood burning stove, my teenage daughter really appreciated the excellent WiFi connection, and my husband (who suffered from insomnia the first night) was glad to be able to retreat to the common room for a cup of herb tea in the wee hours of the morning. We all agree that this inn is 100% Outstanding!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaGarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennesssee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Fitch Hill on our trip through New England. We selected it because of the location, close to Stowe but away from the busyness, as a base to explore this area of Vermont. The house is on a quiet street and surrounded by yard and woods behind it, and is, indeed very quiet and serene. It is a lovely old farmhouse, attractively decorated and full of amenities.

Julie has thoughtfully furnished the public areas with books and brochures on the area, and our room had a selection of Vermont and New England magazines. Warm cookies and hot water for cocoa or hot tea awaited us when we arrived and a Keurig coffee maker was available upstairs for whenever we needed it. Also, bottled water and canned soft drinks were ours for the taking, as well as a carafe of cream sherry in the room. A computer for guests is available upstairs, and there is free wifi if you have your own computer. An assortment of personal items were available in our bathroom (shampoo, lotion, toothpaste, etc.), white terry bathrobes hung in the wardrobe, extra pillows, blanket and an afghan were readily at hand----in short, Julie is a wonderful hostess who has thought of everything a guest might need.

That is the positive of our visit, however perhaps due to our choice of room, it was not a great stay. We selected one of the least expensive rooms, The New York room. It is located at the top of the stairs, so you hear everyone coming and going up and down the steps, and feel that they can hear you, also. And, the coffee maker and computer are just outside the bedroom door, and we could hear people talking as they used these. The bedroom itself was small, containing a queen bed with firm but comfortable mattress,two straight wooden chairs, a wardrobe to hang clothes, and small bedside tables. The sink was located in the bedroom, which could be a problem if one person likes to get up and dressed early. But the most uncomfortable part of the room was the bathroom---it was tiny, tiny, tiny!! You have only about a foot between the toilet and the shower---very tight quarters for drying off!

One of the most important parts of a B&B is the breakfast, and we can not give very high marks for these. Both days, we had cold muffins which tasted as if they came from a store, fruit which was mostly grapes, and then a small serving of the main course---french toast one day, only one small piece, and we can't remember the other meal. Everyone could set their own time to eat, so there was not much opportunity to meet the other guests.

Julie is doing a lot of things right, and we appreciated all the extras, but better breakfasts would raise our rating. Also, I advise travelers to call and talk to her about the rooms so that you know what you are getting instead of choosing from the online descriptions----a different room would have improved our stay tremendously.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookandcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitchhill, Owner at Fitch Hill Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
We appreciate the feedback. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with the breakfast as we usually receive compliments on our breakfasts. Be assured, the muffins are made fresh from scratch each morning. The french toast you wrote of must have been our Apple French Toast, a newer recipe we began serving this fall to take advantage of fresh Vermont apples newly in season. We will rework that recipe to provide a larger portion size. The "fruit that was mostly grapes" would have been a fruit salad of grapes, blueberries, mandarin oranges, and apples, and you would have been served either Fresh Apples with Vanilla Yogurt, Cinnamin Cooked Apples, or Heavenly Bananas on the other morning along with an egg casserole served in an individual ramekin with toast from home-made bread.
If part of you vacation expectations and enjoyment is to have a chance to meet and chat with other guests, ask us when others are having breakfast. We serve guests at the guests' preference to best serve each individual / couple. If you've ever missed breakfast because you've needed to start your day earlier or starved waiting for it to be served, we think you will appreciate our flexibility.
The New York Room is at the top of the stairs and is a smaller room, hence its being a less expensive room. In order to provide a private, en-suite bath, it was installed in the closet and is the smallest bath of all the rooms. For $10 more per night, the Vermont Federal Room has a closet bath with more space and the Massachusetts Room has a large, newly renovated bath.
We already have plans to move the coffee maker down the hall away from the room doors later this winter. A new "butler's" kitchen with microwave, sink, and cabinets for wine glasses, dishes, etc., will provide these amenities, similar to those already in the suites, for guests staying in the four regular rooms and is part of our recent renovation of the bathrooms for both the Massachusetts Room and the New Hampshire Suite.
We continually work to increase the sound insulation in the inn to try to prevent guests being disturbed by others. We have filled the walls with insulation, but even in purpose-built lodging, the doors let noise in from the halls, and many people don't realize how loud they are being.
We hope that we are setting a good standard for our innkeeping, but know that there are always ways to improve the experience for our guests. We also appreciate that in spite of some issues, this reviewer still gave us an above average rating and would recommend us to their friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
425 reviews
9.4 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
673 reviews
8.8 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitch Hill Inn

Property: Fitch Hill Inn
Address: 258 Fitch Hill Rd, Hyde Park, VT 05655-9363
Region: United States > Vermont > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic farmhouse on a quiet residential street set on a hill with mountain views. A full hot breakfast is served each morning. Near Stowe, Smugglers' Notch, and the Northeast Kingdom. Come experience the tranquility of our 18th century Vermont home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fitch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitch Hill Inn Hyde Park, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing