We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing every time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fitch Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am torn about writing this review. On the one hand, this is one of the best B&B's I have stayed in. On the other, a review that would do this B&B justice would doubtlessly attract other patrons, and may interfere with my ability to reserve a room at this hidden gem at the precise time of my choosing!
But, here it goes. We have been staying with Julie and John around Christmastime for 4 years now. Its been such a warm and special experience every time! The hosts are wonderful, and you feel so welcome in their home. We also made friends with other regular guests, so we truly felt at home during each of our stays. The inn is very aesthetic. It has been tastefully restored by the owners, up to the smallest details. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are tastefully decorated. The wonderful quilts made by Julie and the woodwork and furniture made by John are beautiful. Each room has been restored in a different style, but all have beautiful artwork, antique furniture and wallpaper decor. And then, of course there are the small touches that make staying at Fitch Hill a truly special experience, like the regal breakfast (John's muffins are amazing!), the homemade cookies and apple cider in the afternoon, the sweet liquor in our room that greeted us upon arrival and the wonderful book, game and music collections we could use while staying at the inn. Every time we return, we are reminded how lucky we are to have found this special place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibeeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
106
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
buffalo,ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights xmas week and it exceeded our expectations. I’m writing this in detail b/c it was so much fun to stay there it’s worth my while to write about. We were greeted with a warm crackling fire, hot tea or cider and homemade cookies. The whole house was festively decorated inside and out. The house itself is originally from the late 1700’s so it’s quite the treat to look at. There were two rooms for sitting; besides the one which greeted us, another one had reading material, DVD’s and music CD’s to choose from and an assortment of games. Once upstairs there was a kitchenette area with teas, hot water, a Krugric coffee maker, cold bottled water and a frig and microwave. A computer was in the hall for general use (although my husband said it was slower than the one we brought), extra towels and cute battery lighted candles that really looked real. The room was very nice, with a new wall TV which played DVD’s or CD’s. Very clean. Complimentary toiletries. Little carafe of sherry with two delicate glasses. Breakfast was fabulous. Each morning started with fresh muffins/biscuits and really good coffee. (I bought some of the coffee/tea mugs b/c they were so cute) Then some kind of fruit but tastefully presented; everything was presented with that extra flair! Then came the main serving that always included some protein unless you didn’t want it. One day was pumpkin and banana pancakes with sausage, another day was French toast filled with cream cheese and blueberry compote on top and real maple syrup. They said they would accommodate any dietary preferences but we liked everything. We found the hosts to be professional but funny and witty. They both seem like very hard workers and very serious about providing the best service possible; we were always impressed by their attention to detail. Christmas day they left us a present in the room which was just so thoughtful. We would stay again for sure but after seeing the downstairs suite, we would spend the extra money to stay in that room…really nice looking.

Room Tip: suites look very spacious and in hindsight, worth the extra money when we book again
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived rather late in the afternoon to discover a plate of cookies and a cozy wood stove waiting for us.

Our room was tidy and spacious. The jet tub and gas fireplace were fabulous after our frigid hike up and slide down Mt. Mansfield!

I have to eat gluten and whey-free, and I have never had such a delicious breakfast at any of the numerous inns at which I have stayed.

This B&B is perfect!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband & I spent three very enjoyable nights at the Fitch Hill Inn.

The home itself couldn't be more charming - 200+ years old and decorated just as you would expect, and our room was toasty warm despite the arctic blast that brought temps to -9 degrees one morning around Thanksgiving.

The inn keepers are welcoming, chatty & sweet - they helped us find a restaurant in Stowe & encouraged us to grab videos from their huge library of the best old school movies (awesome).

Breakfast was copious & delicious, as were the hot cider & cookies available at the entrance around the clock.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can - it's a few extra bucks but worth it for the extra space & microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellykellykelly43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN USA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very historic inn, and well kept. Lovely room and bath, and very comfortable. Hosts were very, very accomodating, and breakfast was just wonderful including homemade bread and egg casserole. Highly recommend this b & b.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fitch Hill Inn. The accommodations we very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and healthy and the owners were friendly and very easy to talk to. We found the scenery nearby to be very beautiful, especially at the height of the Fall season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our first visit to the Fitch Hill Inn. If we ever find ourselves returning to Vermont, we would definitely stay here again. Julie and John were both warm and friendly. Conversations with them were always interesting, engaging, and informative.

The rooms are impeccable. We were particularly impressed with the chocolates, bottled water, and sherry (!) in the rooms for no extra charge. The cookies in the living room were an equal delight. Each room has a 3-ring binder with tons of information about the area. We followed the directions for the covered bridge tour and found the directions to be precise and accurate (very helpful since we do not travel with a navigation system).

John is an excellent woodworker. Be sure to ask him about the main table and other things he's built at the inn. Julie made each bed quilt and they are lovely.

The breakfasts were outstanding. Margie fell in love with the banana pumpkin pancakes and bought the "Stitchin' in the Kitchaen" cookbook containing Julie's recipe.

Larry and Margie from Minnesota

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryR_and_MargieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
8.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
9.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.8 mi away
Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
10.0 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
8.8 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitch Hill Inn

Property: Fitch Hill Inn
Address: 258 Fitch Hill Road, Hyde Park, VT 05655
Region: United States > Vermont > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic farmhouse on a quiet residential street set on a hill with mountain views. A full hot breakfast is served each morning. Near Stowe, Smugglers' Notch, and the Northeast Kingdom. Come experience the tranquility of our 18th century Vermont home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fitch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitch Hill Inn Hyde Park, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing