We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I took an impromptu trip to Vermont and was totally charmed by the Governor's House. Suzanne has a knack for steering her guests toward day trips suited to their interests and I thoroughly enjoyed a tour of the covered bridges in the area. The Inn is lovely, the owner welcoming and knowledgeable, and the food delicious. I look forward to attending one of the Jane Austen weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Governor's House in Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

To celebrate my sister’s 60th birthday, four of my sisters and I participated in one of Suzanne’s “Jane Austen Weekends. The accommodations were superb and the welcome magnificent. The Governor’s House is beautifully restored and maintained. The “Austen” activities gave us an opportunity to meet the other participants without constricting our time to explore Hyde’s Park and Stowe. We easily bonded with the other guests and enjoyed the information shared about the Regency period during the teas and mealtimes. Suzanne helped arranged a country-side carriage ride in Stowe and even surprised my sister with a birthday cake at the Saturday Regency dinner. Unbeknownst to Suzanne, the spice cake she made was the same cake our mom made for my sister’s birthday. This happenstance only added to the specialness of the weekend. We traveled 11 hours by car and would do in again in a heartbeat! This place is definitely a Vermont “go to” destination.

Room Tip: All room are worthy of any quest
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mciesielski54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We went to The Governor's House to elope. The owner did all the cooking (delicious breakfasts and our wedding dinner), cleaning, flowers, champagne, cake, and even took our wedding pictures! We stayed in a clean, neat room with electric fireplace and English style bathtub where I could soak up to my chin! She even provided a crib and booster seat for our 6 month old baby. The town of Hyde Park is small but has a nice little bakery and everything you need within 5 miles. Very close to Stowe, a cute little ski town. We had a sweet little wedding and a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smpearso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed two nights. This is a large house, carefully restored under the owner's supervision and the quality shows, particularly in the woodwork. Suzanne is an engaging host and the breakfast was very good. There is a large library and a variety of public rooms where you can meet other people or sit on your own. There is also a large yard and garden and a nice rear terrace. This is quiet inn in a small, quiet town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Governor's House last month with our two boys aged 8 and 11years. We were visiting from England and found a little piece of it right here in Vermont. Suzanne, the innkeeper, has lovingly restored and furnished the Georgian house in period style to make it home, albeit temporarily for her guests. Modern amenities make it comfortable and it is clean throughout.
The vast selection of films available to watch in your room as well as boardgames and books to loan certainly keeps all the family entertained. With jars of home-made cookies and sweets plus a large bowl of fruit in the hall hungry tummies are satisfied too.
We particularly enjoyed the communal breakfast served on the sunny dining room. Initially this felt a little daunting with silver service and other guests as we had the two boys in tow but it was a wonderful unhurried start to the day with delicious breakfast treats and an opportunity to meet other guests and share tales of our travels.
Suzanne herself is a great source of information, both locally with maps, guides etc to send you in the right direction and further afield. Her website helped us plan our itinerary and, as much has been written from her own experience, it proved an accurate and helpful resource.
We very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to another visit one day as everyone says we must see Vermont in the Fall.

Room Tip: We stayed in the French Room which comfortably accommodated a family of four.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Ended up in Hyde Park by default but had a very pleasant stay. Innkeeper was very friendly and accomodating- provided tea and ice cream upon arrival, great breakfast, and perfect hike and swim recommendations. Almost nothing in Hyde Park, so if you like quiet, this is a good spot where you will be well taken care of.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkelly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed there for 4 days in the pineapple room, which is small but really cozy. Suzanne, the inn keeper does a exceptional job from preparing a outstanding original breakfast to baking cookies in the afternoon and keeping the place clean and comfortable. She was very knowledgable of the surrounding area, and provided us in detail beautiful places to go. We look forward to a return trip during the ski season

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.6 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fitch Hill Inn
Fitch Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Hyde Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,838 reviews
8.4 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
1,045 reviews
9.1 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's House in Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's House in Hyde Park

Address: 100 Main St., Pob 300, Hyde Park, VT 05655
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range: £108 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's House in Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Governor's House in Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor's House In Hyde Park Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing