We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kensington,CT
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went to attend an Elopement. The home was Beautiful. All I wanted was to have the couple that was eloping to be cared for . Suzanne took care of them and everything they wished for. Thank You!!!
The food was delicious . Suzanne has put some of her recipes on her web site & I know I will be using them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSBKensington_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
93
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I along with friends just returned from a weekend at the Governor's House. We needed a break and this was the perfect place. Suzanne, the owner, has refurbished an old mansion with taste, charm and elegance. The House is spotless and filled with wonderful furniture, books and the rooms are just as lovely. She has gone out of her way to add thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms, heavenly lavender scented bath products in the bathrooms ,and a great selection of cds and dvds for guests to choose from should they feel like watching a movie. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking blissful Vermont soothing scenery and it was delicious.
Suzanne herself is a wealth of information about what to see and do . As Stowe is very close by, she gave us excellent dinner suggestion and made a reservation for us. Though we couldn't stay for high tea on Sunday, I am sure it is worthwhile and hope to do so next time.
All in all, this was a wonderful B&B, bravo Suzanne.
Bluma and Mark, Montreal, Quebec

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluma14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Governor's House is an amazing place, it has everything you could want for a comfortable and luxurious stay. The rooms are all unique and the house itself is pretty amazing (over 100 years old.) There is a very old world charm to everything, you really feel like you're staying in the 180's. The host, Suzanne, really makes the place special. Her homemade breakfasts are great and she has a lot of knowledge of the local area, her recommendations were spot on. She even had ice cream to offer us at the end of the day! If you are looking for a great B&B experience in a unique and comfortable place close to all of the skiing, leaf peeping, and everything else Vermont has to offer this place is for you!

Room Tip: The English Room on the first floor is very comfortable, but could be noisy if there were a lot of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 411angusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I were married at the Governor's House. Our stay was perfect and we often day dream of going back for our anniversary. Suzanne was such a lovely and attentive host; we felt very much taken care of! The food was delicious and creative. Our wedding cake had raspberries the size of strawberries! We stayed in the Governor's bedroom and were very happy with our choice. Spacious, yet still cozy. When we first entered, it felt like we were stepping back in time. We did not choose to write our own wedding vows, but received a beautiful and thoughtful ceremony. Vicky, the Justice of the Peace, was also sweet and friendly. We did not hire a photographer so Suzanne offered to take pictures throughout the ceremony, which were priceless. We cannot thank Suzanne and Vicky enough for our wonderful ceremony and our stay. If any couples out there are considering having a romantic small wedding/elopement, do not look any further!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Lovely rooms, comfortable bed, good breakfast, lots of rooms to explore or hang out in. Great soaking tub in the bathroom.
Suzanne is friendly and untiringly helpful. Definitely a place I'd return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmw_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I must write this review while this place is still fresh in my mind. I am wishing I never had to leave. As everyone has stated the Inn is the epitome of charm - without question. Truly impeccable. We also enjoyed having Suzanne as our host. This is not a place for those who require high maintenance. If you're thrown off by having to follow "house rules" while staying in a 19th century home book your stay at a commercial lodge down the road.

My husband and I are the easy going type, flexible, open to most anything that might come our way (especially when traveling - come on!) and we had the best weekend we've had in a long time at the Governor's House.

We were running late the first night and didn't arrive until 10:30pm. We figured we had missed the evening snacks, and probably kept up the Innkeeper who had to attend to an early breakfast. Suzanne was not at all put off by our late arrival and actually served us some hot cider before bed! There was also a small amount of delicious sherry stocked in the room, which we also sipped on in front of our fireplace in the English Room.

The next morning we had to leave super early to get to Jay Peak, which meant being out the door before breakfast was served. Suzanne happily packed up a breakfast to go of muffins, clementines, cheese, and juice. The next night we received a bottle of chilled champagne when we arrived back after dinner.

After a long day of skiing, the deep soaking tub was just what we needed! And Suzanne provided some delightful bath products from a place across the border in Canada. After baths we wondered around the Inn and talked to some fellow guests and Suzanne, and particularly enjoyed perusing her immense collection of books in the library, including the scrapbook she put together of what the house was before she bought it, and how she turned it into what it is today. Remarkable story! Then we grabbed an old production of Macbeth (with Ian Fleming and Judi Dench!) from Suzanne's movie collection and took it back to our room (which seemed just perfect for the occasion), turned the lights off, turned the fireplace up, and relaxed with great ease and joy.

Suzanne's breakfast was delicious the next morning, and served with all of the guests gathered around one large table, as it should be. It's true that Suzanne might be what you'd call an "environmental freak" - but she's a Vermonter for heavens sake! I figured anyone familiar with Vermonters would expect to drink tap water and reuse towels. Her way of doing things never got in our way. She made several smart, practical decisions (heat down at night, tap water in glasses, large bottles of bath products to last for several guests) - nothing intrusive or difficult to work around. (When in Rome, folks.) Her principles might get in the way of some, and perhaps she could advertise them better to ward off any entitled travelers. But if you're up for taking places and people as they come while traveling, this is just the place for you. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My mother and I attended a Jane Austen-themed weekend at the Governor's House, and the entire experience was incredible. The house and surroundings are gorgeous, particularly in the winter, and it is located close by the attractions of downtown Stowe while retaining its charming removal from tourist areas. I truly felt like I was had been transported back to the early 19th Century. The host was welcoming, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable. I cannot recommend the Governor's House highly enough, and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
8.6 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
9.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,820 reviews
8.9 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
688 reviews
9.1 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's House in Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's House in Hyde Park

Property: Governor's House in Hyde Park
Address: 100 Main St., Pob 300, Hyde Park, VT 05655
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's House in Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Governor's House in Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor's House In Hyde Park Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing