We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misrepresentation with ad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jamaica
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Boat Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Jamaica B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2009

I felt the inn was misrepresented by the photo they have on their website. The rooms you actually stay in are in a cement building right next to a very loud road. We visited in July and they did not offer any air conditioning in the room,which turned quite sweltering. They offer hiking for pets but are quite rigid on their guidelines. The "hiking area " could only be reached be crossing a metal grid bridge that proved most difficult for my older dog. The breakfast was nominal and I feel for the price you are better off staying in a hotel rather than a hostile.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2009

We spent 3 nights at Stoneboat for a ski holiday after Christmas 2008. What a wonderful stay we had and we would definitely go back there for our next trip to VT. Great comfort and great value.

The room- one of the two family rooms we stayed had a great size. It's slightly dated but very clean and very cosy- German (high) standard. They even got two cute teddies laying on pillows to greet our young kids. The down side of the room were noises from the road and shower strength. For the noises, we were worried when we first arrived. But it did not bother us one bit since we were so tired from skiing and the road was not busy in the evening or night. For the shower it had one of this typical 60'-70's tiny shower head which did not give out lots of water. We had the same experience staying in at another B&B but we thought of it being kind to environment 555.

Apart from the room, we love how friendly and helpful the owners, Jeff and Chris were. Breakfast was great with variety of cereals, nice coffee and delicious baked goods. We love the common room. We could sit reading papers and playing board games with the kids. A microwave was there to warm your food etc. Another thing we loved was parking. Since we could park right next to our bedroom, it's convenient loading and unloading all the winter gears ( except ski and boots which were to be outside the room). Jeff and Chris were really kind. They lent us sleds and some gears for kids to have some fun. Ask them about this slope you will love it!

We only wish there would be more places we could stay like this one.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelroseMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Stone Boat Farm B & B was very comfortable, clean, accessible and private. The owners made every effort to make us at home. Every morning breakfast was ready and waiting for us in the "Common Room" - fresh baked goods, fruit, juice, steaming coffee, milk, cereals and teas. The self-serve breakfast setup fit our ski schedule perfectly and gave us plenty of energy until lunch time. We were parked and entering the ski shuttle at Stratton Mountain within 10 to 15 minutes of leaving our accomodations. Drying racks are available in the rooms or in the owners' quarters as needed. Cross county skis and snowshoes are also available to guests at Stone Boat at no charge. The friendly owners pointed out local treks and restaurants.

The rooms were warm and clean with televisions, private bathrooms and showers. Deep comforters made the cold nights very cozy.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank tsalladtsallad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

SBF was recommended by a co-worker. The owners Geoff and Chris are exactly like the other reviews, friendly and knowledgeable.
They treat each guest like a new person to get to know and welcome into their home. They know the area well and make great recommendations for shopping, restaurants, hiking and other activities. We will be revisiting for certain!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Joopiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

My wife and I just returned from a three day weekend in Vermont.
The B&B is run by a very friendly husband and wife, Geoff and Chris. Geoff and Chris are very knowledgeable about the area and are more than willing to answer any questions you may have. They helped us navigate vermont, suggested villages to visit, restaurants to eat at and places to ski and snow shoe. The room was very clean. The location was excellent - 10 mins to Statton Mountain and 30 minutes to Okemo Mountain.

I would highly recommend this place and we plan on going back for more winter activities and summer activities.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stfarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

If you are looking for a memorable experience when you visit Vermont you must stay at this amazing place. The owners, Geoff and Christiane Cunnar, are two of the most warm, knowledgeable, and welcoming people I have had the pleasure to meet. The grounds are beautiful. There is a pond that leads to a stream, a fire pit, a screened in outdoor furniture set, Barbeques, lounge chairs, etc. The rooms are extremely clean, affordable, and comfortable. At night you can hear the sound of the trickling stream. There is a breakfast that consists of homemade muffins, breads, english muffins, granola, coffee, juice, etc. served every morning in the common room, which is open 24/7. The essential everyday items that are provided by The Stone Boat Farm are immeasurable. They have everything from silverware and glasses to bug bite itch relievers. Geoff and Chris go above and beyond with their suggestions of what to do, eat, and see, all of which are captured in a binder that provides details and directions in every room. The trails, swimming holes, and towns we visited that were written about were beautiful! I would highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MattCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2007

Stone Boat Farm is ideally situated in southern VT, close to the town of Jamaica and Jamaica State Park. We enjoyed a clean and comfortable room complete with wireless internet and a DVD player (with 200+ movies to choose from). Breakfast included freshly baked breads, fresh juice, coffee, and about 20 different kinds of tea. The breakfast room/common room was open 24/7 and also had plenty of board games, reading material, etc. available to guests.

Even though we visited during the low season (April), Geoff and Christiane made sure we found lots to do in the area. They've put together a fantastic binder with tips for hiking, rafting, shopping, and restaurants, and they helped us plan our activities around the rather unpredictable weather.

Overall, Stone Boat Farm offers comfortable, laid-back accommodations
and is the ideal place for those looking for a base to explore Vermont.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lauriegs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stone Boat Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Boat Farm B&B

Address: 7240 Vermont Route 30, Jamaica, VT 05343
Region: United States > Vermont > Jamaica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamaica
Price Range: £82 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Stone Boat Farm B&B Jamaica, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing