We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jay Peak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jay Peak Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at Jay Peak last week and were beyond impressed!! The rooms are modern and tastfully decorated, extremely clean with full kitchen and even a Keurig with a generous amount of coffee! We had a fireplace with flat screen TV above, comfortable sheets and pillows with down comforters!

Upon arrival we were also given a coupon booklet for a free pizza, free arcade games (the arcade was awesome!), free rental of ice skates and helmet as they have a new arena on site! These coupons were awesome!!

The Pumphouse indoor waterpark was out of this world = Awesome! There is something for people of every age and confidence level! It was very clean with plenty of towels and lockers available for use!

They also have TRAM rides up the mountain which according to my husband and daughter (some of us aren't as brave!) the view from the mountain top was beautiful!

I can't say enough positive things about Jay Peak!! We would definitely return:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avery05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    283
    96
    51
    38
See reviews for
818
106
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Jay right after the water park opened in February of 2012. I bought a one night stay for us as a Valentine's Day surprise for him. First of all: the price is great! What a deal for what you're getting.

There were some negative aspects right off: #1 - the parking lot was all dirt and uneven with potholes. We had to park pretty far away from the front door and were slightly confused at first about where to go. #2 - the Front Desk staff were pretty rude and seemed overall not adequately trained in check-ins. This may have been because Hotel Jay was a fairly new addition at the time and they were still getting used to it. We arrived around 4 PM and waited an hour to get into our room.

Another note: a lot of the building was under construction, so we were constantly passing by workers and it was pretty noisy. Even our floor was partly under construction. We even found a stray Swiss Army pocket knife just on the floor in the hallway. Kind of dangerous for children running around, huh?

During that time, we ate at Mountain Dick's Pizza. Decent pizza. We enjoyed it as a light lunch upon arrival. Our room was great, with a view of the slopes. Very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, we both liked the decor.

The water park was great, but be warned if you visit in the winter: the germs are like a cesspool! We both got almost immediately very sick after being in the water park all evening. I guess that's to be expected, but be sure you bring some sort of cold medicine or Airborne just in case.

We ate at the Foundry Pub & Grille. When we arrived, we were told we'd have to wait for a table because they were understaffed. The hostess was rude, but our waiter was nice enough. A young kid who we recognized from the water park (apparently he spends his time off in there). We finally got to sit down, then waited a long time to get our drinks (my soda was in a tiny cup that I downed within minutes). Our waiter seemed to be lost in translation, so I actually had to ask the bartender if someone could come take our order. Then they proceeded to mess up our orders TWICE. When they finally got it right, we were starving, but the food IS good. But it better be good for the steep prices.

The next day we had coffee at the Aroma cafe in the other building (but they're mostly all connected, don't worry!). The barista was nice and there was a neat bench/counter area to sit and watch the slopes. However, the breakfast sandwiches were not that great, but that might be because they had been sitting in the display case for a while.

We went to the Taiga Spa for a couple's massage. Expensive, but a great experience overall for two massage "virgins"! They did give me champagne without even carding me, however. My boyfriend is over 21 but I'm not. I didn't drink any!

We then ventured over to the ice skating rink before we left. To access this building, you do have to shlep through the icy, muddy parking lot, but it's a nice little spot. Skates were in bad condition, and they were so incredibly dull we asked to have them sharpened, but decided we didn't want to pay extra for it.

Despite the negative aspects, we plan to come again! Great place to escape from reality for a while, especially for two college students.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our third visit to Jay Peak and the second visit to the "new" Jay Peak. Our room was nice, with very high ceilings that made it seem larger. The bench and coat hooks at the entrance were appreciated and the kitchenette was perfect. However, the only chairs in the room were part of a dining set and were made of metal, leaving the beds as only soft places to sit. The alarm clock was about the cheapest one I've ever seen: in fact, the alarm clock at the Best Western we stayed at the following night was many times better! The bathroom hs a beautifu vessel sink but absolutely no counter space to put your things: the only other surface to place things is the top of the toilet tank but the toilet seat had no lid.. it would only takes one late night visit for your things to fall into that open toilet. There was also no hairdryer: this seemed almost unbelievable, given the new water park that is the centerpiece of the hotel. Less granite and more basic comforts, please. Breakfast is not included: the coffee shop was closed and the convenience store had a poor selection of muffins for breakfast, so bring your own breakfast food. The Foundry restaurant was nice for dinner (burger, fries and flatbread were delicious) but a little too formal for breakfast. We stayed at a condo last spring for skiing and, after staying at the Hotel Jay, I would unltimately stay at a condo again next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scandislav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Jay recently, and were very impressed, rooms totally modern, extremely clean with full kitchen and fireplace with flat screen TV above, and down comforters. We hiked, relaxed, went to eat, explore, and had an amazing time at the resort. A bit pricey (and probably even more in the winter) but worth every penny. And of course, you can't beat the views.

Room Tip: make sure your room doesn't have a view of the water park! Our friends did and it was LOUD duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hikingchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowrider_VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

First off I need to say I'm a big fan of Jay Peak. We live about an hour away and I've been riding that mtn for 20 years. Decided to take the 3 yr old daughter to the water park for her birthday last weekend. I can't say enough positive things about the transformation up at Jay Peak. From the hotel, to the restaurants, to the water park, everything gets a thumbs up from me. Very well thought/planned out, I can't think of one thing to complain about.

The splash & stay package is $200 for a Family of 4. We got a nice, new, clean suite w/amazing valley view & balcony, plus admission for all 3 of us for 2 days in the water park. You can do the math, you either pay for the room and get park access for free, or pay for park and get the room for free. The fact that we checked out sunday morning and still got to use the water park and pools/hot tubs all day is very nice.

You're also given a coupon book for free pizza, free skate rentals in the also brand new ice arena, free arcade games, and more. they are coupons you can actually use, not ones w/tons of restrictions that are no good to anyone.

Food is moderately priced for a destination resort. Dinner for 3 including a large & medium pizza at Mountain Dicks was $24. You can spend that much just for lunch at any ski area base lodge these days.

The hotel is built so you don't even need to go outside to access water park, restaurants, arcade, etc. Pull in, park your car and leave it for the weekend. Rooms have ample room and a kitchen w/fridge. Water park is absolutely AMAZING! tons of rides/pools for everyone. Water slides, the flowrider surf wave, a rock climbing pool, pool basketball, a long lazy river to float in, and ample tables/chairs for all guests. We were there when it was 90 degrees outside in july, can't imagine more of a demand for the water park and it still didn't feel crowded.

Can't wait to go back in a few months when the snow starts flying. La Chute slide is no joke, and I'm an adrenaline junkie who lives to ride the chutes below the tram house at top of mtn. If you haven't been to Jay in a year or two you won't believe how it looks. And I mean that in a very good way.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. Mtn view faces ski area, valley view overlooks golf course and NE Kingd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowrider_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enosburg Falls, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The staff was so helpful! The food excellent! So many different activities and at a very good price.
The hotel was very comforable!!!!!

Room Tip: Whatever you choose you will not be dissapointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enosburg Falls, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed @ the new Hotel Jay last night. It was very comfortable and affordable. There is a big, beautiful indoor water park, indoor ice skating arena and a challenging 18 hole golf course. Would be a great place for a family vacation. However the choices of resort restaurants during the week is slim especially if you have a big family. That was the only draw back we found. The Jay Peak resort also offers plenty of affordable package deals. We were hoping "Alice's Table Restaurant", would be open but it was not during the week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
0.1 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
12.4 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
12.9 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
3.3 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.6 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Property: Jay Peak Resort
Address: 830 Jay Peak Rd, Jay, VT 05859-7046
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay
Jay Peak Resort Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing