We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jay Peak Hotel: Location, location, location”
Review of Jay Peak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jay Peak Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Jay Peak Hotel: Location, location, location”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Walked to the front desk and got a very good deal $550US: Thu / Fri 2 nights (2 adults + 2 kids (6 & 8)) plus breakfast, evening meal and 2½ days of ski passes. The hotel is located right next to two chair lifts and the new gondola. It is therefore Ski in / out and yet prices are rock bottom. The catch is that the hotel is showing its age. The rooms are worn and the décor fading. It is well past its prime and reminded me of skiing as a teenager….. however do not be put off. Location, location, location. The staff were all most friendly and the food was first rate. Breakfast was a large buffet and the evening meal was a 3 course, with over 10 entrees including duck, ribs or pork medallions, which were all very well presented. The room had a double bed and queen size with a single bunk bed overhead… the TV was antiquated and black masking tape adorned the patio windows in a vain attempt to keep out the blowing wind. Who cares, Jay is all about the skiing. They will soon knock down the Jay Peak Hotel and you will have missed your chance to stay at a great location for next to nothing! If you want to know about the skiing, you'll find our entry under Jay Peak Travel - Before You Go.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    286
    96
    52
    38
See reviews for
822
106
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York,New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We stayed at Jay Peak in Febuary 2008 with 3 families with kids ages 7-15 who had all skied before.We had a Blast.We stayed in 2 new slopeside condos they were great 4 bedrooms and a pullot couch and 2 large bathrooms.The kitchen was big and fully equiped and we had a washer and dryer.The best part was it was right on racoon run(great for beginers) and there are trails from the top of racoon run all the way to the main base(about a 3 minute ride on flat trail)The only thing we didnt like was the 7 hour ride from New York.

  • Liked — Slopeside condos
  • Disliked — Distance from NY(but we got to see great scenery)
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Just returned from 3 great days at Hotel Jay.
Skiing was great. Hotel was nice enough.
Great package deal, that included lift tickets, breakfast and Dinner. Staff was very nice, food was good.
This is not a 5 star hotel, but certainly very adequate, if your main intent is to ski. Nothing else here but skiing. Only complaint was that walls between rooms was thin, and I was awakened at 2am by my neighbors partying. A few knocks on the wall, and they quickly quieted them down. I would highly reccommend this hotel,and the mountain.

  • Liked — friendliness and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Age of hotel, thin walls
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sehr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

I've been skiing in New England for over 40 years and have always wanted to ski Jay. We spent 5 days there in one of the slopeside condos. We loved it and will be back before the season is over. Although Jay is known for being a hard core skier's mountain a friend who joined us skied for the first time and had plenty of terrain to keep her happy. My kids loved the glades. Not a place for those whose interests lie in the bar or restaurant scene. Posers will find themselves more comfortable in some of the southern Vermont ski resorts. If you enjoy skiing and spending time with your family , Jay can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bcsmvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

We're just back from a 5 day stay in Jay Peak and I have to say we loved every minute. There were 3 adults in our group and none of us had ever been skiing before, and our trip to Jay Peak has turned us into true ski lovers.

We stayed in one of the luxury village condos which were beautifully clean, well equipped: TV, Washing Machine, Tumble Dryer, Microwave, Dishwasher, etc but no internet access (not that it was an issue as we were out on the slopes for the day).

The bar food in the hotel was lovely though the restaurant was very over priced for what it was. The Mini Mart has basic supplies but if you're cooking for yourselves you're better off doing a quick shop in Jay before you get to the main resort.

The Ski instructors are great and really patient. I can't rave enough about our holiday and I know we'll be back.

  • Liked — How clean and well equipped they were
  • Disliked — Heating was almost too hot and we had very little control of it
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

We just got back form a two night stay at Hotel Jay. It's an older hotel that's starting to show its age. The carpet in our room was a bit worn and stained. The decor in the rooms was very 1970's. Bedding was passable albeit with crusty nylon comforters. The whole hotel had a very "The Shining" vibe to it.

We had booked a room for two but were pleasently surprised that it came with a queen bed, a double bed and a single bunk bed! The size of the room was pretty large so it could have slept 5 people comfortably. The bathroom was very basic and we always had hot water.

The location of the hotel was perfect - right at the base of the mountain and relatively close to the cafeteria. Food at the cafeteria was outrageously priced (not uncommon for ski hills).

The hotel's amenities were pretty minimal. No coffee machines or small fridges in the room (we used our balcony to keep our drinks cold). No business facilities with computer or Internet. There is a cozy living room with fire place for lounging and a games room with a few arcade, pinball and vending machines. The hotel's two jacuzzi tubs and sauna were located indoors in the basement near the ski lockers...the tubs looked a bit grimey and if you value your genitals, I'd advise not stepping in.

Hotel staff were quite friendly and helpful...there is a restaurant attached to the hotel that we were able to get a free coffee in the mornings and a hot chocolate after a day of skiing. The restaurant offers a buffet breakfast for $15/person.

My only complaint is that our room faced the parking lot and one night, they started plowing the parking lot at 3:00am so we were awoken to the sound of beeping and plowing. We will try to get a room that faces the hill next time.

Overall, we had a fantastic weekend at Jay Peak and Hotel Jay was a good choice for lodgings at the hill.

  • Liked — The hotel was very close to the hill.
  • Disliked — No amenities - no coffeemaker, bar fridge, Internet
  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

We stayed in the Deluxe Village Condos - 2 families with 6 teenagers ages 12-18.

These condos are owned independently and rented via the Resort. They are absolutely fabulous -- lots of room, brand new throughout, a bathroom for every bedroom, full and equipped kitchen, huge dining area, living room with gas fireplace, huge balcony. The 3 bedroom condo (we booked a 2 and a 3 bedroom) had a grade entrance to a cloak room area (undress, store equipment) and a separate living space for the kids. The condos were ski in, ski out, though not off the main runs, but certainly nicely accessible.

The Resort people aim to please -- we arrived at midnight during a heavy snowstorm and they escorted us to our condo, and even plowed out parking spaces for our vans. They are extremely accommodating and want to help.

The only drawback is that there is no hot tub except for at the main hotel, which we had to drive to (only 5 mins). Definately something that we always enjoy and missed on this trip!

The snow was great. Get up early and get out as the afternoon tends to cool down quickly as the sun goes behind the mountain. Cafeteria food good and typical pricing ($15 for a large beer, soup and sandwich). No food or huts on the mountain. A few restaurants in Jay (we enjoyed the Village Inn) along with a reasonably stocked General Store.

The tram was overrated, but you gotta do it once I guess. Kinda like the TTC (Toronto subway) at rush hour. When you think you are full, they pack ten more people in. It only goes a bit further than the highest chair lift, but faster and warmer.

A great family holiday, we will go back!!

  • Liked — First class, lots of room, everthing you need
  • Disliked — No Hot Tub
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairbaij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
0.1 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
12.4 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
12.9 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
3.3 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.6 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Property: Jay Peak Resort
Address: 830 Jay Peak Rd, Jay, VT 05859-7046
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay
Jay Peak Resort Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing