We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smuggs gave us the perfect family vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Smuggs gave us the perfect family vacation.”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had the most glorious week. Three kids and two adults. Our kids are 9,7, and 2. Our kids loved their camps and our 2 year old loved treasures! It allowed me to do the guided hikes and my husband to do tennis. Great wholesome family fun with good time Charlie. I live the campfire sing a long.

Thank you Smuggs!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayl0rFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    308
    122
    58
    38
See reviews for
606
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We purchased a timeshare 7years ago. When we first began going smuggs our kids were 5 and enjoyed going to camp and my husband and I enjoyed time to ourselves. Now that our triplets are 12, they no longer wish to attend camp, but thoroughly enjoy the independence of doing what they want around the resort. The smugg's atmosphere is so family oriented we never feel nervous about allowing our kids to travel among the resort by themselves. All employees are very friendly and accommodating. Going to smugglers notch is my favorite family vacation. It's the best place to sit back and relax. I certainly believe our investment 7years ago was certainly worth every penny!

Room Tip: Premium timeshare units are nicer than a some of the older units
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chart08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent a week in the Tamaracks, I think it was unit 42. The units are like a cozy suburban condo, with all the trappings of home; jacuzzi tub in the master suite with a flatscreen tv right in the bathroom, etc. The unit had a fantastic balcony, where we spent a lot of time. One unpleasant element was that the pool area has a waterslide with a bell that goes off everytime someone goes down the slide, so we got to listen to a bell that sounded something like a fire alarm going off from morning to night. We eventually got used to it, but it was a little jarring the first few days. However, other units are farther from the pool, and the noise could have been a sort of acoustic quirk of our exact placement.

The resort is filled with woods, which was nice, and it is just a short drive from Smuggler's Notch park, which we adored. The hikes in that park are pretty great. There appear to be all kinds of activities for kids and adults alike at the resort; there were people ziplining through the trees above our heads as we walked through the woods every day of the week. If nonstop activities is your kind of thing, this is probably a great place for you. It didn't really give us the feeling of "getting away in the mountains and roughing it", as everything is carpeted and heated and soundproofed, but if you like your creature comforts, and basically want the feeling of a suburban home but with a fabulous view of the mountains, this is probably exactly what you're looking for.

Room Tip: I can only speak to the Tamaracks units, which seem to be some of the fancier ones in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikhaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

In June we stayed in the Executive Trailside Section of Smuggler's Notch for our family vacation. Our vacation had two teenagers and we vacationed with family that had a 6 and 9 year old. We had an overall very pleasant experience. The weather did not cooperate and it was cool and rainy two of the days. The younger two did attend their camps in the rain, while the teenagers tennis camp was cancelled. Unfortunately, they orginally had a tennis bubble, but it has been since turned into a play area with bouncy houses. This was very disappointing. Reminder: if you do go to the bouncy house, everyone must have socks. Even parents that want to sit at a table must have socks. You will have to buy socks or go back to your house to get them. The younger two did enjoy their camps very much. I could say that that every time I saw the camp counselors, they all seemed to be very caring and enjoyed their jobs. The tennis camp was good, and my kids did have a good time. They did say that they wished they could have played with other campers who were at a more advanced level. When it did rain we took advantage of the time to explore local factory tours and the town of Burlington. I did talk to others that stayed at the resort and that there wasn't much to do. The rest of the days were just beautiful and we did many activities such as swimming, mini golf, disc golf and hikes. All these activities were very fun. The lake was very cool, but was refreshing on a warm day! The food at Smuggler's Notch is pretty good. We ate at the deli and at the Grille. The staff is very nice, but the food is a bit overpriced. There is also a store that is stocked very well. Stop at a grocery store on your way to the resort and stock up your kitchen! The trailside executives we stayed in was very nice. Everything was very clean and they did include small amounts of dishsoap, dishwasher detergent and laundry detergent. Our view was beautiful and secluded and for the most part very quiet. The only sound we could hear was the neighbor's who seemed to stomp up and down the stairs all the time. Funny we couldn't hear a word though! We were lucky enough to see some wildlife out our window which included lots of beautful birds, our very own groundhog and most suprisingly a mink! That was such a welcome sight! Overall I would recommend this as a good family vacation that caters to all ages. The staff was friendly and the resort clean.

Room Tip: The further up the mountain you go, the quieter the area. The shuttle service was always very quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 973Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the sycamore section of Smugglers Notch. The unit was a two bedroom. The 2nd room had a queen along with two single beds. Would make a nice stay for a larger family. The master bathroom had a tv...kids loved that. The unit seemed to a little outdated but is stil very nice. The resort itself was great. They have so many activities. The kids already want to go back. Would highly recommend to everyone.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty_RTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Half my wardrobe was stolen right out of my condo rented at Smuggler's Notch. The security office acted like they didn't care very much about my story. They offered no compensation to replace the hundreds of dollars of clothes I lost.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
A member of the resort's management team is in contact with this guest and an investigation is underway.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is the place to go whether it be summer or winter. I'll start with the summer. The endless amount of pools and waterslides is great for the kids, and adults. There are pools, slides, hot tubs, lagoon, water playground, volleyball, basketball, it is sensational. The camps they have for children is also remarkable. They have a variety of choices such as art, sports, and nature/hiking. They have two teen areas that my older ones enjoyed. They have amazing activites daily such as carnivals, bingo where you could win money, dance parties, and much much more. The dining is also incredible. The Hearth and Candle is our favorite. It is the more fancy option. They also have a coloring contest where you can win a free cone at the Ben and Jerry's in the resort. There is a deli open for breakfast and lunch, a great pizzeria, and a grill. They have a market also. We LOVE the funzone. It has arcade games (we won a watch and necklaces in the claw machine), and inflatable obstacle courses and slides, mini golf, etc. We love the tennis, shuffleboard, volleyball, and basketball courts. We played horseshoes for the first time. The activites are endless. The suites are also the nicest I've seen. They are almost the size of small houses.

The skiing in the winter is incredible. They have endless trails for every level, many classes and programs, and they have dining on the hill. They have endless activities in the winter also and it is the best place I have ever been too. There are sled races, ice skating, it is just a marvelous resort. You must go here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
21.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
456 reviews
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
891 reviews
9.9 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Property: Smugglers' Notch Resort
Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing