We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski and Snowboarding adventure 2/2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ski and Snowboarding adventure 2/2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place was very nice for the family. When we were there it snowed 16" over nite ! We had a 2 bedroom condo. No problems with facility, great wood burning fireplace. Loved restaurant hearth and candle. Great New England clam chowder at little grill and sandwich shop near slopes. Snowboarding first timers class educational, snowmobiling in snow storm was a rush! Need an all wheel drive or 4x4 if u really wanna drive about but don't need it on resort because in resort shuttle was great! Loads of fun at this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopal_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks so much for your comments on some of the amenities and programs you enjoyed during your vacation at Smugglers'. We're glad to hear you loved the Hearth & Candle. With a convenient location right in the Village and a varied menu highlighting lots of local ingredients, it's a favorite of many of our guests. You also mentioned snowmobiling - another favorite! The evening snowmobile tours run all season, conditions permitting, and are always a fun adventure.

Regarding the snowboarding first timers class, perhaps you are referring to our Night School for Snowboarding? For other readers of this review, Night School is offered 3 times during the week in the evening under the lights. The format begins with instruction and is followed by practice time on the beginner hill with the support of the instructors - the whole session is 2 1/2 hours, a nice chunk of time to work on skills. Other lesson formats include group, private, children's camps, and specialty classes like the women's clinic and adult mountain experience.

It sounds as though you appreciated the use of our on-demand shuttle - glad to hear it!

Thank you for posting a review. We hope you'll consider making a return visit to Smugglers' in the future.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    304
    120
    56
    38
See reviews for
593
129
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Everything about our stay in Smuggler's' Notch was perfect. Everyone we met was very courteous and accommodating in both hotel and on the ski lifts. We were visiting with my elderly mother and they let us check into the room earlier and checkout later than regular check-in/check-out times. We visited Smugglers' Notch on special promotion that specifically excluded President days vacation week, but when I inquired, they agreed to give me that weekend without extra pay, and also gave us two beautiful rooms overlooking the mountain. I certainly recommend the liftside building. Both rooms were very comfortable and although decorated slightly different, each one was pleasant in its own way. Very convenient was storage for skies and boards inside the building with a bench where you could change.as not to carry the snow inside the room... Fireplace in each room made it very cozy and the balcony overlooking the mountain and lift was also enjoyable. The room was well equipped with all kitchen appliances that we needed. Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay and looking forward to come back. I am glad to discover Smuggler Notch for our next winter vacation.
My only disappointment (not to the hotel, but skiing) was that it was ending rather early, at 4 pm while it was plenty of daylight. I suppose it is not as common in VT, but I am used to ski places close to NY that have night time skiing. Even without investment into lighting, they should keep it at least for 1-2 more hours in March when it is getting darker much later. Also, tubing was fun (grown ups are allowed to do it too :))

Room Tip: I certainly recommend the liftside building. First floor is most convenient if you plan to stop by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We are pleased to hear that everything about your recent visit was perfect; that is the goal we work towards. We're glad that the Liftside homes you stayed in worked well for your family. The Liftside homes are popular for the very features you outlined: comfortable and pleasant, and convenient to the Village center's amenities.

You also mentioned our lift closing time. Northern Vermont winter days are quite short, and we close the lifts at 4pm in order to have sufficient daylight hours for skiers and riders to get down the mountain and for ski patrol to check trails at the end of the day. We do offer Night Schools for learning to snowboard and for polishing park skills under the lights on our Sir Henry's Hill on selected evenings. I will pass along your comment about keeping the mountain open when the days are longer in March to our management.

Thank you very much for sharing your Smugglers' experience in a review.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

As first time visitors, we couldn't have been less impressed with our accommodations in the Sterling section. In none of the promotional materials do you see images which reflect the unit where we stayed--and for good reason. Here are some of the issues we dealt with in our specific unit:

Upon arrival, we discovered that our stove didn't work. After waiting 40 minutes (at night, after a long car ride) the on-site maintenance person couldn't fix it, so we were offered a pizza and barely an apology. Without notice, a repair man showed up the next morning. While he was perfectly nice, it was inconvenient to get ready for skiing--in an already tiny place--with a stranger trying to do his work.

Cinder block walls give the feeling of a bunker; however, but they didn't prevent us from hearing our noisy neighbors every night. We had to turn fans at full blast to drown out the noise.

The furniture, especially the couch, was dated and worn.

There was dust literally hanging down from the ceiling fan, the light fixture and other surfaces needed cleaning, too.

It looked as though the unit was on the verge of a lady bug infestation, with dead ones in the corners and a few live ones moving around.

The heat in the bathroom is separate from the rest of the unit. The thermostat is in a lock box set to 50 degrees. If you want heat in the bathroom, you need to turn on a little heating unit on the wall that will only stay on for 30 minutes at a time. So, if you can plan your trips to the bathroom, it is warm enough. If it is first thing in the morning, the middle of the night, or right after skiing, it is unbearable.

As other reviewers have written, the entire property feels dated and a bit run down. The lobby/reception area is not welcoming at all and, amazingly, there is no real lodge at the base of Morse Mountain. We enjoyed the pool/hot tub facility, but that also seems dated and tired and in need up some updating.

While we were unhappy with our accommodations and feel very misled by photos on the web site, we did enjoy the skiing very much. Our kids had great instructors and anyone who worked in the ski program was friendly, helpful and courteous. We were very pleased with every aspect of the ski school and our skiing experience.

I wish Smugglers Notch would have been more honest about the range of accommodations and would have given us a realistic idea of what we were booking. This was our first family ski trip and while it was a great time overall, I'm not sure we couldn't do better at a resort that spends less time touting its "#1" status and more time thinking about the comfort of its guests.

If the resort really cares about families coming back, I'd suggest that at check out, the staff ask how things went and if everything was as expected. Perhaps if we had stayed in another unit, one closer to the mountain (so we could walk) and without the other issues, I'd be able to rave about our stay like so many other reviewers. We really loved the skiing, and our kids didn't notice all the things that we found disappointing, so it was still a really fun family trip. But I don't like feeling misled or tricked, and they obviously know that they are renting out these inferior units.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in any of the Sterling units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The feedback shared by our guests is very important to us as we work to make the Smugglers' experience for families the best that it can be.

We're delighted to hear that overall, you had a fun family trip, and that you had a great time on our slopes and a positive experience with our Snow Sport University staff.

Thank you for providing details on the issues you had with your vacation home. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on lodging, particularly as regards cleanliness and maintenance. Your comments have been shared with our quality assurance team for follow-up.

Again, our apologies that your lodging left you disappointed. We will be getting in touch with you directly to further review your comments. We hope you will consider another family vacation at Smugglers' as we welcome the opportunity to go above and beyond your expectations.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent Ski Conditions for our 2014 Spring Break! We stay in Unit8 2B/2B Premium Unit in Trailside Highlands. There are only 4 condos in our building and Unit 7/8 are on the ground floor. No stairs - just walk right in! I enjoy the gas fireplace in the LR and Master Bedroom & the jacuzzi tub in the Master. It's a short walk to Morse Highlands lift. There are free shuttles to take you to the village area where there are many activities including Thursday night fireworks. We have been coming here for 10+ years because of the family-focus of this resort. Our girls are now college-age but still love coming to Smuggs. This is an excellent resort all seasons of the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatorGirl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello - Glad to hear you had a great spring break with excellent ski conditions! Thank you for providing a snapshot of your experience in our Highlands Hill community. For skiers and riders, the Morse Highlands lift does provide convenience since it is within walking distance of many of the homes. The community is beautiful year-round with the wooded mountainside surroundings. Your comments about your vacation home and the neighborhood will be helpful to other travelers considering a Smugglers' vacation and thinking about their lodging preferences. We very much appreciate your family's many years of visits to Smugglers'!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We own at Smuggs and go twice every year. Usually in the fall for the beautiful colors and also in the winter to ski. Kids programs are great. Summers are wonderful too, though we haven't visited in the summer for awhile.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awb0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello - Thank you for posting a review. We're glad to hear you've enjoyed your three-season experiences over the years and that the kids' programs are a highlight. It sounds as though your next stay will be this fall. Please accept our best wishes for another great vacation!

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Upon arriving at the property, it is quite underwhelming. I was here about 7 years ago with our family and it has not changed. I also skied here in 1980 and it is exactly the same as it was back then. The parking lot is muddy and the most of the building were built between 1970-80. There is not a village but a check in centre and some restaurants, Ben and Jerrys and two stores. There is also a ski rental centre where we rented skis for one of our sons. The service there was ok. I would not say that they spend a lot of time with my son but they were nice enough although, my son said his hat was a little bit too big. Check in was reasonably fast, although it was pretty busy so they gave us very little information about anything at the resort.
We drove to our unit, which was a two bedroom condo. The condo was also very dated. It had everything that a family could need in a rental. The kids bedroom had two single beds and a double bed so it could easily sleep 3 kids. The single beds were captain beds so there was a lot of room to store their clothes although the drawers were difficult too open. The kids has there own t.v which was nice if they wanted to watch before they fell asleep. They also had there own bathroom. Master bedroom had a lot of drawer space, much more than is usually provided at other rentals. Main bathroom was also large with a shower and full size jacuzzi tub. One thing that they had in the bathroom which I have never ever had before is a t.v. We all had took jacuzzi baths and watched tv at the same time.
Kitchen was incredibly well stocked with every appliance including a crock pot, toaster oven, toaster, blender, although they don't provide frying pans or cookie sheets. The fridge and stove were new and clean. There was also enough dish washing liquid provided. It was great to be able to have breakfast and lunch in the room and not have to spend money for every meal. In general, I would say that the unit
was very spacious and comfortable, everything was there that was needed. However, it was all basic style even though we were in the highest end units. We were comfortable but it was nothing above that. The towels were basic as were the linens and the sheets and bedspread were very 70's style.
The buildings in the "resort" were also very basic. There was a outdoor swimming pool, but no hot tub in the pool in the complex near us. There is a main indoor pool with a hot tub but it looked very crowded, so we didn't go. Our kids were a little old for the indoor kids zone but it did look like it would have been fun for the 5-12 year olds. The teen complex was empty when they went so they did not stay. The kids did enjoy the outdoor ice rink, which they don't get the chance to skate on very often. so this was a definte plus. It closed at 8:30, so we did not use it as much as we would have liked too because we finished dinner too late.
The hill was the best part of the resort and the reason we would come back. The lifts were extremely slow which is a definite drawback for all of us. When you finally get up to the mountain though the slopes are great. Nice long runs, which are not crowded at all. So despite, all the negatives the kids loved the slopes and so did we. The outdoor rink is something that is not at all resorts so that is also aplus. Smuggs is a smaller hill so even though the runs are nice and long it is not confusing to figure your way around. With ski in ski out and the shuttle, we could all finish at different at different times without any trouble. All this made for an easy vacation, which is the main reason we would likely return.
They also have cross country skiing and snow shoeing trails available at no cost which is a nice perk. The trails are beautiful. The natural environment throughout the resort was also beautiful as is all of Vermont. In general, most of the staff was nice but they do not provide very much personal service.
The kids did like their two hour ski lessons and seemed to make some progress. I also took private lessons and liked the instructor although you don't get as much time as you would expect because you spend so much time on the slow chair lift.
Aside from Ben and Jerry's, the food at the resort is awful. Especially the "Italian" restaurant which is more like a high school cafeteria. After eating there, we left the resort for our meal or cooked in the unit. There is a good Mexican restaurant not too far away, which I would go to again, if I were to return.
All in all Vermont is great for skiing with the family and Smugglers is a nice mountain with basic but passable accommodations. The outdoor ice rink, cross country trails and connivence of ski in, ski out, make this a enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetripplanner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that overall, your family had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your positive comments on many aspects of your vacation, such as rentals, lodging, ice skating, skiing and ski instruction with our Snow Sport University. We're glad you found your vacation home to be well stocked. Certainly if a guest needs a kitchen tool that is not stocked in their condo, they are welcome to call for specific items. Thank you also for the positive comments on our cross country skiing and snowshoeing trails.

We're very glad that you found your Smugglers' getaway to be an "easy" vacation for your family given that you found your way around the mountain easily, and that the shuttle and ski in/ski out convenience served your family well.

Please rest assured that our continuing commitment to families and their recreation is strong. We hope that our plans for the future will yield enhancements that you and your family may enjoy on a future visit.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were up at Smuggler's March 1 to the 8th. We are home owners. We stayed in the village in the Birches. Staying in the village was just great. We could walk to everything. The skiing was great as was the snowshoeing. Took a few 'winter walks" with Gail. She is terrific. All the staff are just so friendly. They really make you feel at home. Once again Good Time Charlie was terrific as was Rockin Ron. Jammin Sam is such a great new asset to the resort. Heard him play at Bootleggers and the Black Bear Lodge. We are looking forward to our next vacation at Smuggs at the end of June.

Room Tip: In the winter, I think the Village is great. You can walk to everything including Morse Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review; we are always delighted to hear from a member of our community of vacation homeowners. Your comments about the walkability and convenience of the Village will be useful to other travelers considering a Smugglers' vacation. We appreciate your mention of several of our staff members who contribute so much to our guests' experience here. The daily winter walking outings are a great opportunity to combine aerobic fitness with exploration of our beautiful corner of Vermont - thanks to the expertise of guides like Gail. Best wishes for a lovely visit in June!

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
21.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Smuggler's Notch Inn
#2 of 3 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Property: Smugglers' Notch Resort
Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing