We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great time at "Smuggs"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers' Notch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
pittsfield, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great time at "Smuggs"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We exchanged through RCI for a one week stay in a one bedroom condo in Mountain Laurels. We could not be more pleased with the facilities including the large comfortable unit, the heated outdoor pool, the staff, the Mountainside Grille Restaurant, and the shuttle. All needed cooking supplies were there. (We like to cook a few dinners, pack our trail lunch, and eat breakfast in the unit.) We had a very comfortable bed, quality linens, and a gas fireplace, which was a nice touch. The pillows left a little to be desired, but I am a little picky when it comes to them, and we made do with using the extras which were available. The Ski Locker was very helpful, as we brought 2 pairs of x-c skis and poles, a set of downhill skis and poles, and two pairs of snowshoes. I would say the stay was just about perfect, as we lucked out with four days of great skiing and one of snow-shoeing even though we knew we were taking a chance with staying so late in March. The Nordic Center provided a great variety of trails, well marked and well groomed. Downhill skiing on the "3 Mountains" was also great, and we even got a "2 for 1 on Thursday" discount. We usually do not return to the same vacation spot, but Smuggler's Notch Resort might make us change this!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary-jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello - Thank you for choosing Smugglers' as your destination; we are delighted that you had a great visit here and were able to take full advantage of the wonderful snow conditions to enjoy alpine skiing, cross country skiing and snowshoeing. We appreciate your positive feedback about your Mountain Laurels home, our staff, the Mountain Grille, and the shuttle. It does appear, however, that you were dissatisfied with the pillows in the home. If you return to Smugglers' (and we hope you will!), please feel free to call our housekeeping department for an alternative.

Thanks for providing feedback on your stay.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    300
    117
    56
    37
See reviews for
582
129
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We just returned from a trip to Smugglers Notch. He had a 2 BR condo in the Villmarksauna building. Sure, it was a bit dated - but it was comfortable and very clean! We had a king bed plus a sofa (that I think was a pull-out) in the master, plus 2 twin beds and a trundle (total 3 beds) in the second bedroom. The living room also had a pull-out sofa, so there was plenty of space to sleep! The kitchen had everything we needed and we ate in most days. There's a small grocery store on site that had the essentials, though it was a bit on the expensive side (not unexpected). We got quite a bit of snow during our visit, so we didn't venture off resort property as much as we might have otherwise. It would have been nice to be able to leave the property more to explore the surrounding areas. It did feel that we were a bit secluded!

The ski school for kids here is REALLY GREAT! We loved that they had GPS trackers on the kids - and the instructors seemed like they genuinely enjoyed what they do. I also took an adult ski lesson and was pleased with the experience as well.

The Family Fun Zone was a really fun way to spend our evenings, as was the evening tubing! The indoor pool and hot tub were fine, nothing special, but not bad.

We ate at a couple of the restaurants and were underwhelmed, so we ate in most days. Could be that we just picked the wrong things to order. The pizza was pretty good, though - and we loved the Ben & Jerry's!

The on-site resort shuttle was super convenient. We rarely had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a shuttle to take us anywhere within the resort. We were a little concerned at first since our condo was a bit of a walk to the lifts, but it turned out not to be a problem at all!!

Overall, it was a very good experience and if we return to the area, we'd return to the resort. We may just not be a skiing family, so we might prefer to see what it's like in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kattimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review sharing your family's experience at Smugglers'.

We're glad that you enjoyed your lodging in one of our VillmarkSauna homes. Most guests find these homes to be in a location providing convenient access to our village amenities and to the ski school meeting area for levels 1-4. You mentioned a possible return in the summer. The Villmarksauna homes are also a nice spot in the summer, with the creek and the woods providing a peaceful backdrop just behind the buildings, and with Notchville Park's pools and waterslides a short walk away.

We very much appreciate the positive feedback you provided on your family's ski school experience and the resort shuttle.

We're very happy that you found your experience overall to be very good, and we hope that you will indeed visit us again in the future!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place was very nice for the family. When we were there it snowed 16" over nite ! We had a 2 bedroom condo. No problems with facility, great wood burning fireplace. Loved restaurant hearth and candle. Great New England clam chowder at little grill and sandwich shop near slopes. Snowboarding first timers class educational, snowmobiling in snow storm was a rush! Need an all wheel drive or 4x4 if u really wanna drive about but don't need it on resort because in resort shuttle was great! Loads of fun at this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gopal_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks so much for your comments on some of the amenities and programs you enjoyed during your vacation at Smugglers'. We're glad to hear you loved the Hearth & Candle. With a convenient location right in the Village and a varied menu highlighting lots of local ingredients, it's a favorite of many of our guests. You also mentioned snowmobiling - another favorite! The evening snowmobile tours run all season, conditions permitting, and are always a fun adventure.

Regarding the snowboarding first timers class, perhaps you are referring to our Night School for Snowboarding? For other readers of this review, Night School is offered 3 times during the week in the evening under the lights. The format begins with instruction and is followed by practice time on the beginner hill with the support of the instructors - the whole session is 2 1/2 hours, a nice chunk of time to work on skills. Other lesson formats include group, private, children's camps, and specialty classes like the women's clinic and adult mountain experience.

It sounds as though you appreciated the use of our on-demand shuttle - glad to hear it!

Thank you for posting a review. We hope you'll consider making a return visit to Smugglers' in the future.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Everything about our stay in Smuggler's' Notch was perfect. Everyone we met was very courteous and accommodating in both hotel and on the ski lifts. We were visiting with my elderly mother and they let us check into the room earlier and checkout later than regular check-in/check-out times. We visited Smugglers' Notch on special promotion that specifically excluded President days vacation week, but when I inquired, they agreed to give me that weekend without extra pay, and also gave us two beautiful rooms overlooking the mountain. I certainly recommend the liftside building. Both rooms were very comfortable and although decorated slightly different, each one was pleasant in its own way. Very convenient was storage for skies and boards inside the building with a bench where you could change.as not to carry the snow inside the room... Fireplace in each room made it very cozy and the balcony overlooking the mountain and lift was also enjoyable. The room was well equipped with all kitchen appliances that we needed. Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay and looking forward to come back. I am glad to discover Smuggler Notch for our next winter vacation.
My only disappointment (not to the hotel, but skiing) was that it was ending rather early, at 4 pm while it was plenty of daylight. I suppose it is not as common in VT, but I am used to ski places close to NY that have night time skiing. Even without investment into lighting, they should keep it at least for 1-2 more hours in March when it is getting darker much later. Also, tubing was fun (grown ups are allowed to do it too :))

Room Tip: I certainly recommend the liftside building. First floor is most convenient if you plan to stop by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hitulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We are pleased to hear that everything about your recent visit was perfect; that is the goal we work towards. We're glad that the Liftside homes you stayed in worked well for your family. The Liftside homes are popular for the very features you outlined: comfortable and pleasant, and convenient to the Village center's amenities.

You also mentioned our lift closing time. Northern Vermont winter days are quite short, and we close the lifts at 4pm in order to have sufficient daylight hours for skiers and riders to get down the mountain and for ski patrol to check trails at the end of the day. We do offer Night Schools for learning to snowboard and for polishing park skills under the lights on our Sir Henry's Hill on selected evenings. I will pass along your comment about keeping the mountain open when the days are longer in March to our management.

Thank you very much for sharing your Smugglers' experience in a review.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

As first time visitors, we couldn't have been less impressed with our accommodations in the Sterling section. In none of the promotional materials do you see images which reflect the unit where we stayed--and for good reason. Here are some of the issues we dealt with in our specific unit:

Upon arrival, we discovered that our stove didn't work. After waiting 40 minutes (at night, after a long car ride) the on-site maintenance person couldn't fix it, so we were offered a pizza and barely an apology. Without notice, a repair man showed up the next morning. While he was perfectly nice, it was inconvenient to get ready for skiing--in an already tiny place--with a stranger trying to do his work.

Cinder block walls give the feeling of a bunker; however, but they didn't prevent us from hearing our noisy neighbors every night. We had to turn fans at full blast to drown out the noise.

The furniture, especially the couch, was dated and worn.

There was dust literally hanging down from the ceiling fan, the light fixture and other surfaces needed cleaning, too.

It looked as though the unit was on the verge of a lady bug infestation, with dead ones in the corners and a few live ones moving around.

The heat in the bathroom is separate from the rest of the unit. The thermostat is in a lock box set to 50 degrees. If you want heat in the bathroom, you need to turn on a little heating unit on the wall that will only stay on for 30 minutes at a time. So, if you can plan your trips to the bathroom, it is warm enough. If it is first thing in the morning, the middle of the night, or right after skiing, it is unbearable.

As other reviewers have written, the entire property feels dated and a bit run down. The lobby/reception area is not welcoming at all and, amazingly, there is no real lodge at the base of Morse Mountain. We enjoyed the pool/hot tub facility, but that also seems dated and tired and in need up some updating.

While we were unhappy with our accommodations and feel very misled by photos on the web site, we did enjoy the skiing very much. Our kids had great instructors and anyone who worked in the ski program was friendly, helpful and courteous. We were very pleased with every aspect of the ski school and our skiing experience.

I wish Smugglers Notch would have been more honest about the range of accommodations and would have given us a realistic idea of what we were booking. This was our first family ski trip and while it was a great time overall, I'm not sure we couldn't do better at a resort that spends less time touting its "#1" status and more time thinking about the comfort of its guests.

If the resort really cares about families coming back, I'd suggest that at check out, the staff ask how things went and if everything was as expected. Perhaps if we had stayed in another unit, one closer to the mountain (so we could walk) and without the other issues, I'd be able to rave about our stay like so many other reviewers. We really loved the skiing, and our kids didn't notice all the things that we found disappointing, so it was still a really fun family trip. But I don't like feeling misled or tricked, and they obviously know that they are renting out these inferior units.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in any of the Sterling units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The feedback shared by our guests is very important to us as we work to make the Smugglers' experience for families the best that it can be.

We're delighted to hear that overall, you had a fun family trip, and that you had a great time on our slopes and a positive experience with our Snow Sport University staff.

Thank you for providing details on the issues you had with your vacation home. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on lodging, particularly as regards cleanliness and maintenance. Your comments have been shared with our quality assurance team for follow-up.

Again, our apologies that your lodging left you disappointed. We will be getting in touch with you directly to further review your comments. We hope you will consider another family vacation at Smugglers' as we welcome the opportunity to go above and beyond your expectations.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent Ski Conditions for our 2014 Spring Break! We stay in Unit8 2B/2B Premium Unit in Trailside Highlands. There are only 4 condos in our building and Unit 7/8 are on the ground floor. No stairs - just walk right in! I enjoy the gas fireplace in the LR and Master Bedroom & the jacuzzi tub in the Master. It's a short walk to Morse Highlands lift. There are free shuttles to take you to the village area where there are many activities including Thursday night fireworks. We have been coming here for 10+ years because of the family-focus of this resort. Our girls are now college-age but still love coming to Smuggs. This is an excellent resort all seasons of the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatorGirl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello - Glad to hear you had a great spring break with excellent ski conditions! Thank you for providing a snapshot of your experience in our Highlands Hill community. For skiers and riders, the Morse Highlands lift does provide convenience since it is within walking distance of many of the homes. The community is beautiful year-round with the wooded mountainside surroundings. Your comments about your vacation home and the neighborhood will be helpful to other travelers considering a Smugglers' vacation and thinking about their lodging preferences. We very much appreciate your family's many years of visits to Smugglers'!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We own at Smuggs and go twice every year. Usually in the fall for the beautiful colors and also in the winter to ski. Kids programs are great. Summers are wonderful too, though we haven't visited in the summer for awhile.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awb0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello - Thank you for posting a review. We're glad to hear you've enjoyed your three-season experiences over the years and that the kids' programs are a highlight. It sounds as though your next stay will be this fall. Please accept our best wishes for another great vacation!

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
8.8 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Smuggler's Notch Inn
#2 of 3 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
9.9 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Property: Smugglers' Notch Resort
Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing