We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We traveled to Smuggler's Notch over Memorial Day weekend. Check-in was easy, although the pressure to attend an Owner's update is getting a little old.....every time we go somewhere it seems like we are asked over and over to attend, doesn't matter how many times/ways we say no. They even followed up with a phone call the next two days to see if we wanted to attend. It seemed like there were quite a few people at the resort, but as others have stated, many of the resort's restaurants are closed or have limited hours. The family above us let their kids run & jump until late at night. We called the front desk and were told that quiet hour starts at 9:00 p.m. Fine - but that didn't stop them! Maybe a suggestion to put families with small children on the ground floors. Overall, our trip was nice - we saw some beautiful scenery and traveled through the "Notch" - quite an experience! Not sure we would stay again as it was quite a drive, but am glad we stayed once.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Smugglers'. We appreciate your feedback, which will be shared with the appropriate managers here at the resort. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here and the opportunity to take in Vermont's beautiful scenery. The drive through the Notch is indeed, as you say, an experience, with great views of the rugged terrain surrounding the pass. Our thanks to you for choosing Smugglers' as your Memorial Day weekend destination.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The resort is located in a beautiful part of Vermont, and ideal if you are planning to do some hiking (we recommend the Long Trail to Mount Mansfield, a 5 hour hike). We arrived at the resort, and it was very quiet around this time (end of May). The gentleman who assisted us was nice enough but other staff in the registration area did not make us feel welcomed, not friendly at all when we tried to make small talk. We left as quickly as possible to our rooms, which luckily was ready for us before 5 pm. We booked a 1 bedroom unit in the West Hill area through our timeshare. It was nice, a little dated but served as a good home base. Based on the reception received, and the quality of the unit itself, I don't think we will be coming back. The location is very good however with only 35 mins drive to Waterbuty for a choice of restaurants and grocery stores.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at Smugglers'.

We're glad that you identified us as an ideal site for hikers; we are located a short distance from several trail heads and hiking is a favorite pastime of our guests, particularly in summer and fall. Traveling the Long Trail to the Mount Mansfield summit is a very popular hike. I hope you thoroughly enjoyed the rewarding view from the summit.

We are disappointed that you did not feel welcomed by all the staff present during your check in. It was also disappointing to learn that you found your condominium in our West Hill neighborhood to be a bit dated. Your comments will be shared with appropriate departments to help guide future improvements.

We would welcome the opportunity to exceed your expectations for service and lodging if you choose to return to Smugglers' in the future.

Sincerely,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We made the reservations through our time share and didn't realize April was easy to get because it was "mud season". This is off season so almost all the restaurants on the property were closed as was many surrounding the area. Check in was at 6pm. We got there at 7:30, were told to rush to the only open restaurant that closed at 8pm, but mind you, since its time share, we had to listen to them trying to get us to make an appointment to sit through their stuff. We did make it to get food, as they were closing, but the staff was nice and kept the kitchen open for us.
The room was amazing, spacious, clean. We had aprivate balcony and two fire places, kitchen was functional with a decent supply of utensils. Laundry in the room. We had a 2 bedroom that could easily and comfortably sleep 6 in beds, 8 if u use the couch which was comfortable. The 6 units in the building we were in have a shared hot tub.
The only thing that needed help was the road. They are dirt roads with huge holes that are filled with rocks. Not so good on our car.
The resort has hiking trails and pools, as well as a convenience store on site. I didnt see much of the hiking trails due to rain, snow, and mud (last week of april). We chose the hot tub over the pool because we would have to drive to the pool. The convenince store had a small selection of items, and did have movies to rent( a little pricy). There is a dvd player, so pack a movie or two to watch. Down the road is a general store and a few towns over a Hanafords grocery store.
Note: the main road to Stowe is closed until memorial day, so to get to places there (15 miles away) you have to drive around the mountain, about 45 min. Burlington is about 1 hour away as well.
There wasnt much to do. We mainly visited 22 breweries, 3 wineries, some famous places like ben and jerrys and vermont teddy bear company. you can do a lot of relaxing and site seeing if you plan your trip accordingly. Also save a lot of $ by cooking in when you can.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your April stay with us. Typically in early April we are still in our winter programming season, and then we transition to our spring services. It appears that you visited during our spring season, and we are sorry that the availability of some of the programs and services were not clear when you made your timeshare arrangements. We recommend that travelers planning a visit refer to the seasonal pages of our website or call our vacation planners with any questions. We are happy to provide details on programs and services so that visitors are well prepared.

We're glad that you found your lodging spacious and comfortable and that our staff was able to provide some assistance with dining when you arrived.

You mentioned some difficulties with the resort roads. Please accept our apologies that conditions were not satisfactory during your stay. Maintaining our resort roads is a challenge in spring as our regular maintenance schedule can be impacted by the changeable weather Mother Nature sends our way. Rest assured that our goal is to provide a good experience for our guests in every aspect of their stay.

Regarding Route 108 between Smugglers' and Stowe, the opening of the pass occurs when this stretch of road has cleared of snow. Typically this happens in early May. Until the reopening, visitors do indeed have a scenic drive around the mountain through farmland and towns that offer shops and dining to enjoy.

I hope you had fun during your visits to some of the local attractions such as Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream and Vermont Teddy Bear.

Thank you again for sharing a review of your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Smugglers' in the future.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent one weekend in the fall in Smugglers Notch. We used our vacation timeshare and we booked thru Wyndham. We had a 2 bedroom condo and it was very spacious and clean. Everything was working perfectly inside our unit. We enjoyed the beautiful autumn leaves of Vermont!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cole1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello - Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your fall getaway. We appreciate your feedback describing your experience and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lodging and the beautiful fall colors. We hope that you were able to enjoy our seasonal programs that offer a unique perspective on Vermont's renowned foliage season. Thank you again for making Smugglers' your destination.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We rented a 3 bedroom condo in March during the Canadian spring break. It was new, huge, amazingly comfortable and well appointed from kitchen tools to top of the line laundry appliances. It doesn't matter if your building is far removed from the slopes; a call to the shuttle service will have a bus outside your building within about ten minutes (depending on how busy they are) and will drop you off anywhere at the resort. No extra fee.

The runs were excellently groomed. It was a bonus that while we were there the clouds opened up and graciously dropped 26 inches of more snow! Yahoo! The flip side of this is that schools were closed because of that snowfall and lots of people chose not to go to work and it seemed as though they ALL decided to go skiiing. Translation: the lift lines were very slow. This raises a good point: Smuggs only has 2 person chair lifts that are NOT high speed. Okay if there isn't much traffic and if it isn't too cold, but makes waiting painful when it's busy. Paying the premium we did to stay there, we didn't pay to stand around in lift lines. Also, the lifts are very slow. The longest one takes 25 minutes to get to the top. Something to consider when planning your next ski trip. The lifts are the reason we didn't give it a higher rating. We definitely would not come here at Christmas time or during Presidents Week.

With respect to service, they are definitely on top of their game. All staff that we encountered in any area of the resort were pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful.

There is a small grocery store on the resort that is remarkably well stocked with common desirables including fresh produce and meats, wines, cereals, dried and canned goods, frozen foods and an excellent selection of Ben and Jerry's ice cream. I wish we had known before we got there how well stocked the store is and how competitively it's priced. We stopped at a couple of supermarkets on our way to the resort and wished we hadn't wasted our time. They had everything we needed and most items were priced the same.

We ate at the Morse Mountain Grille and kept went back three more times because it was just that good! We had the pizza, the burgers, the salmon, sandwiches, chili, and chicken. All of it was delicious.

We also ate at the Hearth and Candle and after the great food and excellent service at the Grille, were disappointed with respect to both the service - very slow, especially when you consider that they weren't at all busy, and the food. Three seafood dishes, and everyone of them was fishy tasting so clearly it wasn't fresh. Food was over salted. Also, the menu was not that remarkable. Finally, this restaurant is a little on the pricey side. Save your money and eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms mean you don't have to listen to kids clomping about in the suite above you. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lislar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello - Thank you for sharing a review of your family's experience at Smugglers'. We're honored by the high marks you gave us and happy that in addition to appreciating the level of service provided by our staff, you fully enjoyed so many of our amenities, such as our lodging, on-call shuttle, and country store. Your comments on your experience as well as the room tips you shared will be very useful to Trip Advisor readers considering a Smugglers' vacation.

Please accept our apologies that your meal at the Hearth & Candle was not up to the restaurant's usual standards for quality and service. We hope that you will give it another chance if you return.

Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your winter vacation and for sharing your feedback.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

took the whole family to Smugglers Notch, if you have a family this is the place to take them for winter sports.. Activities more than you can even think of, every thing affordable (compared to CO) Spring Break snowboarding with no lift lines- fresh powder and we pretty much had the mountain to ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello - Thank you for sharing a review of your family's winter vacation at Smugglers'. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our family friendly atmosphere and snowboarding the mountain, and that the vacation provided good value. We hope you'll be back on a future stay!

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were invited for a 'party weekend' by the property operators and were interested in a quick and inexpensive getaway. After driving up from MA via GPS we were confronted by a drive partially up the mountain on Rte 108 only to find out the notch was closed. No signs heading in, nothing on GPS and nothing from the hotel pkg about the notch being closed all winter until mid-May. 45 min later and a trip through Stowe (again), and then Johnson, Morrisville and Jeffersonville, we finally got back on 108 towards the Notch from the opposite direction where there was a sign indicating the Notch was closed. Seemingly none of this is Smuggler's Notch's Resorts fault, but they did invite us and others arriving for this fun weekend had similar problems. I must say that the operators were all great people who kept all of us occupied with a great reception at one of the open restaurants (10 Church St) with a reception and dinner Friday night and a 7-hr tour that Saturday, and breakfast the following morning. I would consider this average for such an operation trying to sell you on buying a share of a vacation location. STOP. I will not discuss the 'sell.'. But about the timing of the weekend, it's the MUDDY season, it rained most of the time, there was 0.5+ inch of snow on the car Sunday AM, the roads inside the property are terrible unless you need your springs and joints loosened. Nothing to do on the property and this may have changed our feelings about the place. One open restaurant, rusty lettuce, overcooked chicken, tasteless garlic bread, not much to do except visit Ben & Jerry's, Cabot cheese...... again. I would advise staying far away in the Spring. And personally, we would not go back under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drdblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to Smugglers'. Your feedback is valued and helps us to address potential improvements. A resort manager will be contacting you directly for further discussion of your experience. We do apologize for the lack of communication on the road closure, as it sounds like we failed to provide an alert on that situation. GPS services do not reflect the road closure that typically runs from November through May (it reopened last week).

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,393 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
7 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
974 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Smuggler's Notch Inn
#2 of 3 in Jeffersonville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range: £171 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch, the #1 ranked mountain resort in the east for 2017/2018! Smuggs offers acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing