We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place - Some Minor Irritations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place - Some Minor Irritations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from a week at Smuggs, and we basically had a wonderful time. It is easy to see why they call them the Green Mountains. The ride up through Smugglers Notch down towards Stowe should not be missed. This is the route the bootleggers used to smuggle in booze from Canada during Prohibition. Smuggs is a beautiful resort, with a lot to do on-site for kids -different "camps" for different age groups. We are timeshare owners, and have been for over 20 years, but...you really get the high pressure sales pitch here - if you choose to go. We had a beautiful, large 2 bedroom unit in the Oaks building. But you can't sit outside on your deck when it is raining (and we had a couple rainy days), even if it is a nice gentle rain. This is because the rain come through the boards of the third level deck (which, at least at Oaks, does not have a roof over it), down through the boards on the second deck and down to the deck on the first floor. A roof over the top deck would have eliminated all of this. Also, as has been previously noted by others here, the pot holes in the dirt roads of the complex are atrocious. I am from Pennsylvania, the pot hole capital of the U.S., and even I was really challenged to navigate some of them. The resort needs to get them filled in or graded or something. Also, when we checked in to our unit we informed the staff of two deficiencies: one was a burnt out spotlight over the dining room table and the other was a 4 slice toaster that was broken on one side making it a 2 slice toaster. Our request to have these deficiencies corrected was never fulfilled. Perhaps we should have brought it to their attention again - but one expects a different level of service and attention to detail from an RCI Gold Crown resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful, when you asked them about what to do and where to eat. But I would have liked to have seen a general open to all briefing early in our week given by the staff on the sites and events in the area - like we have experienced at other resorts. It was up to us to find out everything on our own. Would we come back to Smuggs? Probably ....but not in the near future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ZeroTTZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello - We very much appreciate your comprehensive review of your June stay. We definitely agree with your assessment that the drive through the Notch is not to be missed - the rugged landscape the road passes through is spectacular.

We're glad that you enjoyed your lodging in the Oaks. Please accept our apologies that the issues related to the toaster and spotlight were not addressed during your stay. Your observations will be shared with appropriate departments here for consideration as future improvements.

Thank you for the suggestion of hosting a general informational meeting early in the week. We do so in the fall and spring seasons when our visitors tend to explore the area more. We appreciate your input that such a meeting might be useful at other times of the year.

Thanks for choosing Smugglers' for your stay; we're very glad that you would consider a return visit.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    304
    120
    56
    38
See reviews for
593
129
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was my first visit to the resort. This actually was our first trip to northern Vermont. The accommodations were very clean and warm and cozy. All of the beds were comfortable in the space was more than adequate. If you plan on taking part in outdoor activities such as hiking at smugglers notch or participating in the Arbor trek activities do keep in mind you will spend quite a bit of time and money on driving and finding gas.
Don't go during mud season which is spring up thru mid June unless you enjoy cold rain and wind all day and nite.

Room Tip: Willows are good locations for skiing trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello - Thank you for sharing a review of your June visit to Smugglers'. We're honored that you chose Smugglers' as your destination for your first visit to northern Vermont, and very glad that you found your stay with us to be positive in terms of value, location, cleanliness, service and sleep quality. We hope you'll return for a future stay!

You mentioned the spring weather, which indeed can be changeable during April and May. It's best to pack accordingly with clothing that can be layered to provide comfort during any changes in temperature.

You also mentioned the availability of gas stations. Other travelers reading this review may like to know that there are indeed gas stations on both sides of the mountain. If approaching Smugglers' from the east, gas stations are located just off the interstate in Waterbury and further up route 100 as you approach Stowe. If approaching Smugglers' from the west, there are gas stations in Jeffersonville at the base of the mountain. Our website has a directions & travel info tab under "Plan your vacation" that identifies strategic stops, many of which offer fuel, dining and other amenities. Hopefully this information will help other travelers as they plan.

Thank you again for posting a review.

Very best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A resort in transition is what I'd call Smuggs. Trying to span the big gap between skiing seasons is tough. Most of the restaurants were closed but the one that was open was decent enough. The unity we stayed in was fantastic and the best part of the entire resort was the outdoor saline/heated pool. My kids just about lived there.
The staff was nice and helpful although not very knowledgeable about the local "Stuff To Do".
The timeshare people drove us nuts with calls and messages to attend a owners update.....
All in I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello - Thank you very much for selecting Smugglers' as your school break destination. We very much appreciate the feedback you shared about your stay. We're so glad that your family enjoyed your condominium and plenty of pool time during your stay!

Please accept our apologies that our staff was not able to respond to your satisfaction about attractions to enjoy locally; we'll work on improving in that area in the future.

Thank you again for choosing Smugglers' for your getaway and for sharing a review.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We traveled to Smuggler's Notch over Memorial Day weekend. Check-in was easy, although the pressure to attend an Owner's update is getting a little old.....every time we go somewhere it seems like we are asked over and over to attend, doesn't matter how many times/ways we say no. They even followed up with a phone call the next two days to see if we wanted to attend. It seemed like there were quite a few people at the resort, but as others have stated, many of the resort's restaurants are closed or have limited hours. The family above us let their kids run & jump until late at night. We called the front desk and were told that quiet hour starts at 9:00 p.m. Fine - but that didn't stop them! Maybe a suggestion to put families with small children on the ground floors. Overall, our trip was nice - we saw some beautiful scenery and traveled through the "Notch" - quite an experience! Not sure we would stay again as it was quite a drive, but am glad we stayed once.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Smugglers'. We appreciate your feedback, which will be shared with the appropriate managers here at the resort. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here and the opportunity to take in Vermont's beautiful scenery. The drive through the Notch is indeed, as you say, an experience, with great views of the rugged terrain surrounding the pass. Our thanks to you for choosing Smugglers' as your Memorial Day weekend destination.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The resort is located in a beautiful part of Vermont, and ideal if you are planning to do some hiking (we recommend the Long Trail to Mount Mansfield, a 5 hour hike). We arrived at the resort, and it was very quiet around this time (end of May). The gentleman who assisted us was nice enough but other staff in the registration area did not make us feel welcomed, not friendly at all when we tried to make small talk. We left as quickly as possible to our rooms, which luckily was ready for us before 5 pm. We booked a 1 bedroom unit in the West Hill area through our timeshare. It was nice, a little dated but served as a good home base. Based on the reception received, and the quality of the unit itself, I don't think we will be coming back. The location is very good however with only 35 mins drive to Waterbuty for a choice of restaurants and grocery stores.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at Smugglers'.

We're glad that you identified us as an ideal site for hikers; we are located a short distance from several trail heads and hiking is a favorite pastime of our guests, particularly in summer and fall. Traveling the Long Trail to the Mount Mansfield summit is a very popular hike. I hope you thoroughly enjoyed the rewarding view from the summit.

We are disappointed that you did not feel welcomed by all the staff present during your check in. It was also disappointing to learn that you found your condominium in our West Hill neighborhood to be a bit dated. Your comments will be shared with appropriate departments to help guide future improvements.

We would welcome the opportunity to exceed your expectations for service and lodging if you choose to return to Smugglers' in the future.

Sincerely,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We made the reservations through our time share and didn't realize April was easy to get because it was "mud season". This is off season so almost all the restaurants on the property were closed as was many surrounding the area. Check in was at 6pm. We got there at 7:30, were told to rush to the only open restaurant that closed at 8pm, but mind you, since its time share, we had to listen to them trying to get us to make an appointment to sit through their stuff. We did make it to get food, as they were closing, but the staff was nice and kept the kitchen open for us.
The room was amazing, spacious, clean. We had aprivate balcony and two fire places, kitchen was functional with a decent supply of utensils. Laundry in the room. We had a 2 bedroom that could easily and comfortably sleep 6 in beds, 8 if u use the couch which was comfortable. The 6 units in the building we were in have a shared hot tub.
The only thing that needed help was the road. They are dirt roads with huge holes that are filled with rocks. Not so good on our car.
The resort has hiking trails and pools, as well as a convenience store on site. I didnt see much of the hiking trails due to rain, snow, and mud (last week of april). We chose the hot tub over the pool because we would have to drive to the pool. The convenince store had a small selection of items, and did have movies to rent( a little pricy). There is a dvd player, so pack a movie or two to watch. Down the road is a general store and a few towns over a Hanafords grocery store.
Note: the main road to Stowe is closed until memorial day, so to get to places there (15 miles away) you have to drive around the mountain, about 45 min. Burlington is about 1 hour away as well.
There wasnt much to do. We mainly visited 22 breweries, 3 wineries, some famous places like ben and jerrys and vermont teddy bear company. you can do a lot of relaxing and site seeing if you plan your trip accordingly. Also save a lot of $ by cooking in when you can.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your April stay with us. Typically in early April we are still in our winter programming season, and then we transition to our spring services. It appears that you visited during our spring season, and we are sorry that the availability of some of the programs and services were not clear when you made your timeshare arrangements. We recommend that travelers planning a visit refer to the seasonal pages of our website or call our vacation planners with any questions. We are happy to provide details on programs and services so that visitors are well prepared.

We're glad that you found your lodging spacious and comfortable and that our staff was able to provide some assistance with dining when you arrived.

You mentioned some difficulties with the resort roads. Please accept our apologies that conditions were not satisfactory during your stay. Maintaining our resort roads is a challenge in spring as our regular maintenance schedule can be impacted by the changeable weather Mother Nature sends our way. Rest assured that our goal is to provide a good experience for our guests in every aspect of their stay.

Regarding Route 108 between Smugglers' and Stowe, the opening of the pass occurs when this stretch of road has cleared of snow. Typically this happens in early May. Until the reopening, visitors do indeed have a scenic drive around the mountain through farmland and towns that offer shops and dining to enjoy.

I hope you had fun during your visits to some of the local attractions such as Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream and Vermont Teddy Bear.

Thank you again for sharing a review of your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Smugglers' in the future.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent one weekend in the fall in Smugglers Notch. We used our vacation timeshare and we booked thru Wyndham. We had a 2 bedroom condo and it was very spacious and clean. Everything was working perfectly inside our unit. We enjoyed the beautiful autumn leaves of Vermont!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cole1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello - Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your fall getaway. We appreciate your feedback describing your experience and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lodging and the beautiful fall colors. We hope that you were able to enjoy our seasonal programs that offer a unique perspective on Vermont's renowned foliage season. Thank you again for making Smugglers' your destination.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
21.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Smuggler's Notch Inn
#2 of 3 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Property: Smugglers' Notch Resort
Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing