We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We went to Smuggler's Notch for a long weekend using an exchange week for our time share, so we didn't pay for our unit, and I'm not sure how it impacted which unit we got. We had a three bedroom condo for the four of us and we were shocked at how huge it was. It must have been 1400 square feet of do and we could have slept 8 plus a few in couches! The kitchen was well stocked, and everything was very clean and updated. Our furniture was new, with a couch, coffee table, and a couple of chairs by a gas fireplace. The resort itself had really good skiing, especially for the first week of December! We honestly weren't even sure this was going to be a skiing vacation. I will say though, that we were so surprised there weren't night trails because that is something we are used to...so wrapping up for the day at 5 - or was it 4??- was a bummer. The food at the resort is so-so and pricey, but it's typical ski lodge food. The activity fee was annoying to pay, but when we saw how much the kids actually enjoyed the kids zone (swimming, bounce houses, rope ladders, dancing, mini golf, and we played a bit of shuffle board ourselves), we didn't mind paying it. And the staff working in there were nice kids and were actually engaged in playing with the kids and teaching them how to play the different games. The town has some food choices, and there's quite an outlet mall no far away plus a movie theater. Overall, we had a memorable ski weekend at Smuggler's Notch and we have recommended it to others.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenRed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello from Smugglers' - Thank you for posting a review of your winter vacation here. We value your feedback and are pleased that your family enjoyed your lodging and that the FunZone was a highlight. We're glad also to hear that you found the ski conditions good early in the season; we have invested quite a bit in snowmaking over the last few seasons to augment what Mother Nature delivers. Although we do not have night skiing, we do offer a Night School for Boarding on our learning hill under the lights on selected evenings. Night School is a 2 1/2 hour beginner learning experience for snowboarding for ages 6 to adult; a great family experience.

Thank you for the mention of the outlet shopping and movie theater, which is likely to be of interest to other travelers. The Essex Outlets and cinema is located about 40 minutes from the resort, an easy drive for anyone seeking to enjoy shopping or a movie.

Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your timeshare vacation exchange. We hope you'll be back!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    314
    124
    58
    40
See reviews for
633
135
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fairfield county, ct
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Ours was a summer stay in the Mountain Laurels section of the resort. Our one bedroom unit was spacious and could sleep five. We loved the fireplace! This section has a small pool for the use of the 16 units which was great for a quick early morning or late day dip. Hiking trails abound and there are eight pools and four water slides. The reservoir at Rum Runners' Hideaway is great fun for strong swimmers, but it is quite a hike to get there. There is certainly plenty to keep families occupied without signing up for one of the multitude of additional activities, but if you do, be prepared to pay - a lot. Even a beginners Geocaching trip would have cost my family of three $60, ridiculous when you can go Geocaching anywhere for free. When you go to Smuggler's, and I recommend that you do, make sure you bring any non-perishable groceries you might need with you. The nearest supermarket is a 40 minute drive away and a gallon of milk at the Village Country Store will set you back $6.Wi-fi is $30 per week.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltradealum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Smugglers' based on your recent vacation with us. We very much appreciate your recommendation of the resort to other travelers.

To address your comments related to fees for additional activities, our vacation packages do feature a number of inclusions generally enjoyed by families, such as our pools and waterslides, mini golf, guided hikes & walks, to name a few. In addition, we offer a number of programs that are fee-based, and these fees generally relate to gear or equipment needed or guide/program leader services. Our visitors are welcome to enjoy their package inclusions or choose additional activities on an a la carte basis. Active families who want to do it all may find our Adventure Connection package their best value because of the many activities it includes.

We appreciate that you took the time to share a review. Thank you for making Smugglers' your family's summer destination. We hope to see you again on a future stay.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here and rented a condo. The condo was very nice, very clean and great sized. There was lots of confusion on how things worked in the condo and they gave you very little support. Also if your children want to play tennis you must rent the racquets and balls. For the price they charge which is quite high, one would expect some amenities. I will think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello from Smugglers': We appreciate that you took the time to post a review related to your family's recent stay with us. Thank you for the positive observations on your condominium.

We're disappointed to hear that you found some of the features of the condo confusing. Our maintenance staff is available for help and it's unfortunate if you were not able to connect with them to resolve any issues.

In terms of inclusions, typically our vendor-operated programs and certain activities that require equipment, like tennis, do have a fee. Smugglers' vacation packages include use of our mini golf and use of our basketball and shuffleboard courts and related equipment. Packages also include access to the pools and waterslides, Rumrunners' Hideaway, the FunZone, family and adult entertainment, and guided hikes and family walks. Our website describes our activities and notes any fees.

Hearing our guests' perspective is very helpful to us; again, thank you for posting a review.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room/suite was great as we're the pools, waterslides and activities. The food options were lacking and over priced. Buildings were old, carpet smelled, food was lacking. The only restaurant to rave about was the Hearth and Candle...worth every penny. For the cost of the trip you would figure Wifi would be free...not so much. The Fun Zone when it rains the bubble it is housed in leaks and the floor gets extremely wet. No shoes allowed in the play area so you leave with soggy socks. Very crowded in the Fun Zone (space not well planned out with all the bounce houses and game tables), there is an odor in there too and not well supervised.

Kids had a good time which is what really matters but I am not sure I want to spend that kind of money again to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GM-JDsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello - Thank you for posting a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your condo lodging as well as the pools and activities, and that your meal at the Hearth & Candle was excellent. Our other dining options offer a range of choices for our guests - from a deli to the Mountain Grille, a full service family restaurant. It's disappointing to us that you felt the food options were lacking.

The FunZone did experience water drainage issues during a period of heavy rain in July. We are currently looking into how best to prevent a recurrence, and we certainly apologize for your family's soggy socks.

We're happy that your kids had a good time, and hope you'll visit Smugglers' again on a future vacation.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our Smugglers Notch Vacation was a blast. The week was beautiful, cool in the mornings and warm in the daytime. The staff are extremely helpful and seem to have a personal mission to help you in any way they can.

From the moment you arrive, you are quickly, cheerfully and efficiently processed into the resort. One of the best things you will be given at check in is an event of that weeks schedules. It is a small book. There are tons of events that are laid out in date time order. Looks this over and plan your week. In addition to the organized events, there is plenty of time to spend at the pools, play shuffleboard, take hikes in the local area, etc. If you want to do something, there are any number of choices to keep you engaged.

The lodging units, while clean, spacious and comfortable, are not really what I have come to expect from a Wyndham resort. They were dated and rather nondescript. This aspect of the vacation is the only thing that kept this rating from being five star.

I would highly recommend Smugglers notch to any family with children. Always something going on, always something fun to do. The on site shuttle service is among the most efficient I have experienced in any resort. You call and they are there.

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily living while still staying connected to civilization, I can't think of a better place than Smugglers Notch.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello from Smugglers' Notch - Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent vacation with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found lots to do, and we appreciate your kind words about our staff, activities and shuttle service. Your mention of our Resort Information Guide is likely to be a helpful tip for others planning a Smugglers' vacation; the RIG is indeed "a small book" and a great tool to refer to upon arrival in order not to miss any adventures. It is also available on our website. Thank you for sharing the photos - it looks like your children had fun in the lily pad pool at Notchville Park!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Smugglers Notch Tamarack resort was beautifully funished, comfortable and clean. There was a ton of room in the 2 bedroom unit for a family of 4. The kitchen looked like it has been recently re-stocked, everything was new and everything worked. The unit itself was fantastic, the downside is that it is not within walking distance of the core of the resort. There are shuttles that take you down there, and to the ski lifts, but it is not as convenient as the slopeside accomodations elsewhere at Smuggs.
The skiing is good and bad. The trails are great, and there is lots of variety for all levels. But the lifts are really old slow double lifts, which create long lift lines and when it is cold, the 15 minutes to the top of the mountain can be painful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2ski11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello - Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your family's winter vacation. We're glad that you were happy with our location, lodging and service and we appreciate your positive comments related to your lodging. All of our vacation homes have full kitchens that are stocked with most everything our guests might need in terms of appliances, cookware and more.

We're also glad you enjoyed the variety represented by our trail system spread over three interconnected mountains. As you point out, trails are served by double lifts (and conveyors in learning areas). On the positive side, the doubles help disperse the skier and rider traffic, leading to less crowding on the trails and a better experience overall on the great terrain offered by our mountains.

We hope to be able to welcome you and your family on a return stay. Thank you for taking the time to share a review.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stopped by the resort on a spontaneous trip through northern Vermont. I did not have a chance to look through the reviews before hand and really wish I had. The picture's on the trip advisor site are not the average room, I wish I had something close to those pictures!!!!! We were given a room that was suppose to be newer but was far from that, it was in the lift side portion that is owned by smugglers versus being individually owned. It resembles a dorm room set up, the furniture was stained, everything about the unit is out dated.

I was willing to put up with it for one night until I was giving my 3 year old a bath and the tub would not drain. I had to pull a big hair ball out of the tub and for $370.00 a night I think that should be avoided. We were moved across the way to a family owned studio and thankfully it was better but still on the older side. Unless you own a unit and are aware of what you are getting do not go.

The staff seems to be there only to sell wyndham units. There are 3 pools on the properties, one has slides and looks like a children's dream. Well, you aren't even able to get to that portion of the resort unless you take the resort shuttle which is fine I just don't understand why you aren't informed about anything! You are given a large packet at check in that is suppose to inform you of the resort, it is completely confusing and an incredible waste of paper.

My suggestion is go up mountain and stay at the Stowe mountain lodge, it is less expensive, the staff actually cares about you and the views are gorgeous!

Room Tip: It is impossible for an individual to choose a good room. It seems as if they give out the sub par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello - We are sorry that your recent stay was not satisfactory. Thank you for conveying your dissatisfaction while on site so that we could offer alternative lodging that was acceptable to your family. We try very hard to address our guests' needs directly during their stay.

The resort is responsible for quality assurance with our condominium lodging and in your case, the system failed. The failure is unacceptable to our management team and we are reviewing the details so that we may make every effort to avoid a recurrence.

We were interested to read your comments about the check-in packet that arriving guests receive. Among other informational pieces, this packet contains our Resort Information Guide that conveys details about our facilities and programs. We intend to conduct a review as a result of your comment about the arrival information being confusing.

Thank you for helping us to improve.

Regards,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,265 reviews
21.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
6.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
191 reviews
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Property: Smugglers' Notch Resort
Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing