We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Very Disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Green Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing.”
Reviewed 31 July 2008

This place is billed as a "resort." and their web site brags about the amenities. I can't comment on the winter here, but as a summer destination we feel defrauded. Apparently "resort" and "amenities" do not include a hotel restaurant, maid service, or towel changes each day. Our two-bed room turned out to be a decent-sized suite, but the beds are single beds. Not even typical size for a business travel hotel.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveler78701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    51
    20
    18
    30
See reviews for
57
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Killington VT is the snowboarder's dream - we brought a few of our teenagers there and being from PA - the kids were thrilled when they saw Bear Mountain! The trails were awesome! We stayed at the Mountain Green. The hotel was great. After boarding all day, the kids enjoyed the pool, the sauna and steam room - and the hot tubs! It was very clean and the accommodations were more than adequate. The condo had 3 bedrooms a fireplace and the lodge had a small store so I did'nt have to run out to get milk, bread and staples to cook dinner! We had a blast! We recommend it highly and plan to return next year. Another perk, the bus to take you to the lift comes right to the door. It is very convenient. The kids were on the lifts right at 8 AM and did'nt have to wait at all. The pro snowboarders were also there to watch as the olympic trials were held at Bear Mountain. We realized that we were at the hub of all of the action and we didn't know that when we booked the place. You must check this out if you have a daring group of kids in your family - also very romantic for the couple!

Helpful?
Thank LoveSnowInPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

My wife and I stayed here with another couple over the new years weekend for some skiing and fun. The condo we stayed in was nice, all the units have a wood burning fireplace, and a full kitchen. The unit we got was clean, and well maintained. Overall the stay was great, and my only gripes were with the pool and spa being in a seperate building, which meant you have to go outside in the VT winter to get to the hot tub after a long day on the slopes. The pool area was in need of a good water change, and cleaning, but that could be due to the large number of people at the resort over the holiday. Also the firewood is outside and is perpetually a bit wet, so if you stay here, bring starter logs, otherwise it's pretty difficult to start a fire. The resort has a convenience store, deli, ski shop, and great little restaurant/sports bar. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and may do so on our next trip to VT.

  • Liked — The proximity to the mountain, only one stop on the free shuttle
  • Disliked — The pool and hot tubs are in a different building that our room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dive2deep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

Stayed there for a weekend and it wasn't bad. Loved the location, it was only a 2 minute bus ride to the slopes. We stayed in Building III on the D level. The rooms were spacious enough for our group of 10+, we had a 3 bedroom, 2 bath and a pullout sofa bed. The price was great for the amount of space we had plus a kitchen, microwave, refrigerator which we didn't use though. The Skybox located in the resort was good; our waitress provided great service for us. The food was ok though. The only cons I have to say about the resort was the showerhead didn't work too well which was pretty bad when you want to take a nice shower after a day on the slopes. The free WiFi was unavailable most of the time due to many people using it in the hotel. Definitely needs more towels and part of the carpet was wet near the fireplace. Otherwise it was a pretty good experience, I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Room needs some updating
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fireball50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2007

I really don't have anything good to say about Mountain Green Resort, except that it is in a great location… It’s about a 2 min shuttle ride from the base or about a 10 minute walk. The condos themselves are in need of some serious renovations. We stayed in 3F12, which was in the main building; it was a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom unit. The walls were paper thin and the carpet was always wet. The drains in the showers were green (I don’t think the showers were ever cleaned.) The elevators take about 10 minutes to go up one floor and the hallways smell of mold...gross! Aside from location I really don’t have anything positive to say about this resort. It’s definitely not worth the money! We do alot of skiing and the best place we have ever stayed is at The Seasons of Attitash in Bartlett NH, alot nicer and alot cheaper!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The unit
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KEMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killington hotels

New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

The hotel was nice enough -- very cute, cozy and well-decorated with personal touches -- but the service really ruined the quality of the experience. Although this is not advertised, this place is really a condo, not a hotel, and hence does not provide the normal amenities that one is used to in a hotel.

For example, there is NO MAID SERVICE and NO TOWEL SERVICE. Even when we requested new towels at the front desk, our request was refused. But since we didn't know in advance that towels would not be changed on a daily basis, we had mixed up our towels & put many on the floor of the bathroom. You also have to put your trash down the trash chute in the hallway, etc. unlike anything in a normal hotel,

The front desk was also quite rude when we asked for directions, nearby activities, check-out time etc. It's really too bad because the place is otherwise okay. But I would never stay here again because of the way we were treated.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank schutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2007

Just came back from a weekend stay here and Mountain Green Resort met or exceeded all my expectations. Made the reservation on the MGR website two weeks beforehand, and called to change from a studio to a one bedroom a week before our trip, when we called the night before they had upgraded us to a two bedroom for the same price, which was comparable to the weekday rate for a unit that size. My group of 4 stayed in Building 3F10 which is a 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath. The unit is a spacious and cozy two floors, with a pullout couch, fireplace, balcony, full kitchen, and table for 6. This unit could have fit 6 very comfortably and 8 if you want to stretch it. Its on the Top Floor at the end of the hallway, our balcony was right below the Clock on the face of the building which was good cause we could see the mountain and I could make sure my car was still there. The room is nicely decorated although a bit dated, but then again, I'm not expecting to stay at a new luxurious condo, we were looking for a good price, close to the mountain, with enough room to hold our group and gear and this room was perfect. It had cable and a DVD/VCR player, with a small TV (didn't come to watch TV either), and WiFi Internet available. In the morning we found out that the lock on the balcony didn't close properly, and they came up and fixed it right away.

We brought our own food and drinks, and didn't have to spend on anything other than the lift ticket( though eventually we did for the convenience). The kitchen has a big fridge, cooking knives, oven, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, glasses, utensils and plates. We did not have a frying pan which I'll make sure to bring next time, though I'm sure we could have asked and they would have got us one.

They provided a ski locker that easily fit the two snowboards and the pair of skis we brought. The lockers are right next to the bus stop which is right outside the main entrance. The bus drives you literally a minute down a hill to the Snowshed Lodge at Killington. I believe from there the bus continues to the other base areas, but if your skiing or snowboarding its best to just go up the lifts and ski to those areas. We laughed because we were so suprised how close MGR is to the lifts, and we walked back at the end of the day. Even with all your gear, its less than a 10 minute walk (that is if you stay in Building III), shorter than the one I make from the parking garage to work everyday.

We did check out the Skybox bar and it was alright, big screens to watch sports, and not crowded, but we had more fun just lounging in our room with our group and another group of friends who also staying there. Most people tend to head out for the Access Road. Black Dog Sports is open early and closes late so if you forgot anything they got it plus they offer rentals. Had no problems with noise that other people are saying in their reviews, if anything we were the loudest people there, so just request a corner room away from the bar before you go if you want quiet. The slopes up the mountain were busy but not overly crowded. We didn't wait more than 10 minutes to get on any of the lifts or gondolas.

Pros: The MGR staff, they answered all our questions, and pointed us in the right direction when we needed to find things. There's an arcade, and hot tubs for after the slopes. Each bedroom had its own thermostat, so I was happy since I can't sleep if the heater is oppressively hot.

Cons: You have to get your own firewood outside. The flue of our fireplace was clogged, and the smoke from the fire was entering the room even though the vent was open, so we skipped the fireplace and opted for the thermostat and that kept us toasty. In need of some renovations.

I'll definitely be coming back here on my next trip up to Killington, you can't beat the location unless your staying in a ski on/ski off place and even then those places can't beat the price. Don't forget to pack food, drinks, cooking oils and sauces, paper towels, playing cards, and comfy slippers for the bathroom and lounging around. Overall a great resort and I recommend if your headed up to Killington for the weekend.

  • Liked — Location and Value for the Price
  • Disliked — Room in need of some renovations, Small TV but overall still cozy
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ejv207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
0.1 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#8 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Green Resort

Property: Mountain Green Resort
Address: 135 E Mountain Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9615 (Formerly Mountain Green Ski & Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Green Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of Killington, the best skiing in the East, Mountain Green Ski & Golf Resort is Killington's most complete resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Green Ski And Golf Resort
Mountain Green Ski & Golf Hotel Killington
Mountain Green Hotel
Mountain Green Killington
Green Mountain Resort
Mountain Green Resort Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing