We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Worst?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Star Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North Star Lodge
Philadelphia
1 review
“Best of the Worst?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at North Star from 1/2 to 1/5/2014 to ski. We lucked out with great snow but freezing temps which is often the case with Eastern Skiing and even with five inches you would run into icy and bare spots due to the wind. After a look at all of the three star hotels (no four star in Kiilington and three star is an exaggeration) on Killington Road and ruling out the Grand which is apparently overpriced and only slightly better than the lower rated hotels we settled on North Star with low expectations that were clearly met, As noted extensively for most of the hotels including North Star, the walls were thin and two nights in a row we had to bang on the wall at midnight to advise the neighbors to keep it down. The bathroom was 60's era with a shower curtain that was old and had a stain on the upper right corner and the tub had seen better days as well. Stain on the lower right corner of the bathroom floor as well and the molding on the other corner was torn up. The staff was indifferent. There was no help with bags/ski equipment and we were put on the top floor though the lift only goes to the floor below which means we had to carry all of our equipment/bags up a flight of stairs with no help from the hotel. Unfortunately, as the walls/floors are so thin, this is probably the floor you want to stay on as you will hear people walking on you all night otherwise (this as told by other guestYou can't walk to the ski shuttle from here which appears the case with the other hotels. You have to drive everywhere to eat, ski, shop as there is no "town" center. The outdoor pool was the highlight despite it being 8 below. I spoke to several fellow skiiers and guests at the hotel who have come to Killington for several years and they confirmed that most of the hotels are of two star, if that quality, and therefore they have chosen North Star by default. Obviously the owners are either not making much money or just sucking it away like an absent landlord. Curiously, from the outside, the hotel looks nice. Inside, it is obviously worn with worn carpets in the hall. I could go on but you probably get the picture. Overall, it was fairly clean, just worn and run down especially if you are used to staying at a three star hotel at any ski resort in the West or even Europe. I booked the room through Expedia and left a review similar to this but they wouldn't accept it, I had this problem with them before, I assume, because they are partners with the hotel and misrepresent what you are getting and would like to hide that fact. If you can,, go skiing out West!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    65
    39
    23
    16
See reviews for
40
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

- The heating system does not even function;
- Every single aspect of the room is dated!
- The televisions are from the Middle Ages!
- If you call the front desk, don't expect an answer.
- The kitchenware and appliances are absolutely filthy! They probably haven't been cleaned since the twentieth century!
- When you lay down on the sofa bed, you will be folded inside the divan.
- The entrance door does not have a door guard, and constantly slams closed.
- The toilet water is magenta for some reason...
- There is barely any water pressure here!
- Your extreme amounts of money will literally end up in the garbage can.
NOTE: YOU WILL ROBUSTLY REGRET COMING HERE!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igor1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killington hotels

Wynantskill, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I went to Killington to ski and stayed one night (December 19th 2013) at the North Star Lodge. After reading previous reviews about the heated pool not being hot enough, and knowing we'd be skiing 2 days and would want to soak sore muscles, we upgraded our room to a jacuzzi suite (room 317). This is what we found...

Pro's: The room was rather spacious compared to other suites we've rented in the past. It looked recently painted and was very clean. No bed bugs or visible dirt/dust and the bathroom was spotless. The staff at the North Star were incredibly nice and helpful. We had dinner on the 3rd floor. The food was yummy. They have small, but nice selection of beer and the bartender was great!

Con's: Our room had 2 thermostats and no matter how low we dropped the temp on both, the suite stayed at 80+ degrees. We had the balcony door open periodically over night to cool off. The bed, while supposedly new, was hard as a brick. The headboard was not mounted to the wall and even walking by the bed made it rattle. Needless to say, we did not get a good night sleep. Coffee the next morning was horrible and the "breakfast" was prepackaged donuts. On a minor note, the decor was really outdated. The curtains, bedspread and sofa need to go!

This lodge has so much potential. Some better coffee/breakfast, fix the thermostats, new beds and decor and this place could be great!

PS: The Jacuzzi tub was worth the upgrade. Really helped my achy muscles after a long day skiing!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Yet another Killington Hotel (?) that hasn't put any money into their property since the '80's. Been coming to VT for about 10 years to snowboard, ski, shop, etc., and thought we'd try this place while my husband and I were looking at properties in the area. Somewhat unfriendly check-in staff, hard mattress, crappy pillows, television from the early '90's awkardly placed on a table next to the bed that you'd trip on if you got up to go to the bathroom, cracks in the sink. What is wrong with these places that they can't invest in some upgrades to their properties? Now that we're no longer in a ski house we'd go back repeatedly to any hotel that we liked in Killington. Unfortunately there aren't any. Next time we'll stay in the Killington condos instead.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badkitty13x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have to echo recent reviews that point out that the North Star Lodge is terribly dated. I suppose if you're coming in the ski or hiking season that it wouldn't be so much of a problem, as you'll be spending much of your time away from the hotel. My husband and I, however, went off-season as part of a discount that we received and were disappointed. The television is very old and very small. The bed was uncomfortable, and we both woke up with pain in our backs. The look of the hotel is very 80s. While you'd hope that the splendor of the mountains would make up for it, we were instead put in a room with a view of a parking lot. I will say that the fireplace in the main lobby was very nice.

This could have been saved, but we were further unimpressed with the service. Check-in took a long time because the people working at the desk were unfamiliar with a new system. They were friendly and apologetic about it, though, so that's another good point. However, we hadn't been in our room thirty minutes when we heard someone with a key trying to get in. (Which, yes, to get back to how dated this hotel is: yes, A KEY!) My husband answered the door (which I imagine had to be quite a shock for that other guest trying to come in!), and found that the front desk had given another group two sets of keys to rooms that were already occupied, as the same scene was happening across the hall. I never heard what happened with that family, and hope that they did get rooms that they needed; it sounded like the staff were going door to door to see which rooms were available! I can't be sure this was happening, but they were making their way down the hall. How embarrassing for them, and it was frustrating to have our vacation interrupted with that inconvenience.

My husband and I loved Killington and had a great vacation, but we would not return to the North Star Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stittsville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My daughter and I visited Killington as part of a girl's holiday. While the area is lovely with great hiking, this lodge is in need of updating and repair. The carpeting was stained and filthy. The living room sofa was in need of stuffing to go with the springs. The bed was uncomfortable with almost see-through sheets. We shortened our stay to 2 nights and moved on to proper accommodations. We would not recommend this spot to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I visited Killington with my son in the off-season to do some hiking on the AT. I booked this hotel using a third-party website. Facilities were dated, but sufficient. If I had gone with my wife or with the intention of spending more time in the hotel, I probably would have been disappointed. Pool was unexceptional, no breakfast, tiny television, view of the parking lot, and slow internet. However, the room was clean.

Interesting, I asked the desk workers for advice on the area, but they didn't know, as they don't come from that area of Vermont. Seems like knowledge of the area should be a prerequisite for desk workers at a hotel with this price!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view; don't assume that you'll get one automatically
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timoteyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#8 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#13 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Lodge

Property: North Star Lodge
Address: 78 Weathervane Dr., Killington, VT 05751
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — North Star Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome...North Star Lodge is a Killington, Vermont tradition, nestled at the base of Killington Ski Resort, which stretches across six majestic mountains. With its beautiful lodge, full suites and rooms to suit every vacationer, North Star is a Killington tradition you will want to make your own. Discover the back roads of Vermont, ski Killington, go antique hunting or sit by the fire with a good book - it's all at your fingertips at North Star in Killington.Take a moment to look at our photo gallery and imagine yourself at North Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your North Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel Killington
North Star Killington
North Star Lodge Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing