We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool, Good Location, OK Hotel”
Review of North Star Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Star Lodge
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked at North Star Lodge last minute for MLK weekend at Killington. Booking less then a week in advance there were not too many choices in the area and decided on North Star due to location, price and the outdoors heated pool. The pool was great! Very relaxing after our drive up and after skiing. We have driven by the hotel many times, so knew the location was fairly convenient being right on the main drag of the access road. Easy drive to restaurants, bars and the mountain. The hotel itself is looking a bit dated, especially on the inside, and could use some freshening up. Although, we've found this to be the case with most hotels in the area. They definitely live off the draw of Killington Mountain. The room was satisfactory, and pretty clean. Beds are a bit stiff, but slept just fine, again everything is just a bit dated. I will say that the front desk staff was always available and very friendly and helpful when we needed anything, some reviews on here state the opposite, we did not find that to be the case, but maybe we just lucked out with good people while we were there. The gentleman who runs the bar was also very friendly. I had heard that they have exceptional wings, when we went to order some he informed us that unfortunately he was having an issue with his fryer. We ordered a pizza to be delivered which they kindly let us eat at the bar, even thought the food was not from them. In the meantime he got the fryer going, and gave us a complementary order of wings! They were excellent, slightly sweet and slightly spicy, very tender! Overall, we did enjoy our time at the North Star Lodge, and would stay again when the rates aren't quite so high as they were on a holiday weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, which means walking some stairs, but from other reviews it sounds like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgoodhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Polar Vortex Hercules did not deter us from our ski vacation especially that we booked the trip a month in advance and winter break was underway. It is our second Vermont ski vacation and the first time in Killington. The Mountain is clearly an empire of skiing fun, with 4 lodges and parking lots, suitable for every level and interest. The North Star Lodge leaves you with a notion that there is more to be desired. Location is great for both Pico and Killington Mountains, about 10 minutes’ drive to each. The setup is of a real old-timey lodge with huge fire place, sofas, wood paneling and even a bar/restaurant. But all of it including the rooms and bathrooms show signs of wear and usage. Maybe it was the fact we came mid-week that made the place feel lacking of energy and vitality. On the plus side we must list the HEATED POOL that is perfect after a long day on the mountain, and the fact that the place is on the main drag so there are shops, bars and restaurants all around you.
For the price of $125 plus tax per night this is an average local.
Here is a tip - if you are planning to drink while going out, many restaurants offer shuttle bus service to pick you up from your hotel and will drop you off later on. This is super important in the icy weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at North Star from 1/2 to 1/5/2014 to ski. We lucked out with great snow but freezing temps which is often the case with Eastern Skiing and even with five inches you would run into icy and bare spots due to the wind. After a look at all of the three star hotels (no four star in Kiilington and three star is an exaggeration) on Killington Road and ruling out the Grand which is apparently overpriced and only slightly better than the lower rated hotels we settled on North Star with low expectations that were clearly met, As noted extensively for most of the hotels including North Star, the walls were thin and two nights in a row we had to bang on the wall at midnight to advise the neighbors to keep it down. The bathroom was 60's era with a shower curtain that was old and had a stain on the upper right corner and the tub had seen better days as well. Stain on the lower right corner of the bathroom floor as well and the molding on the other corner was torn up. The staff was indifferent. There was no help with bags/ski equipment and we were put on the top floor though the lift only goes to the floor below which means we had to carry all of our equipment/bags up a flight of stairs with no help from the hotel. Unfortunately, as the walls/floors are so thin, this is probably the floor you want to stay on as you will hear people walking on you all night otherwise (this as told by other guestYou can't walk to the ski shuttle from here which appears the case with the other hotels. You have to drive everywhere to eat, ski, shop as there is no "town" center. The outdoor pool was the highlight despite it being 8 below. I spoke to several fellow skiiers and guests at the hotel who have come to Killington for several years and they confirmed that most of the hotels are of two star, if that quality, and therefore they have chosen North Star by default. Obviously the owners are either not making much money or just sucking it away like an absent landlord. Curiously, from the outside, the hotel looks nice. Inside, it is obviously worn with worn carpets in the hall. I could go on but you probably get the picture. Overall, it was fairly clean, just worn and run down especially if you are used to staying at a three star hotel at any ski resort in the West or even Europe. I booked the room through Expedia and left a review similar to this but they wouldn't accept it, I had this problem with them before, I assume, because they are partners with the hotel and misrepresent what you are getting and would like to hide that fact. If you can,, go skiing out West!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

- The heating system does not even function;
- Every single aspect of the room is dated!
- The televisions are from the Middle Ages!
- If you call the front desk, don't expect an answer.
- The kitchenware and appliances are absolutely filthy! They probably haven't been cleaned since the twentieth century!
- When you lay down on the sofa bed, you will be folded inside the divan.
- The entrance door does not have a door guard, and constantly slams closed.
- The toilet water is magenta for some reason...
- There is barely any water pressure here!
- Your extreme amounts of money will literally end up in the garbage can.
NOTE: YOU WILL ROBUSTLY REGRET COMING HERE!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Igor1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I went to Killington to ski and stayed one night (December 19th 2013) at the North Star Lodge. After reading previous reviews about the heated pool not being hot enough, and knowing we'd be skiing 2 days and would want to soak sore muscles, we upgraded our room to a jacuzzi suite (room 317). This is what we found...

Pro's: The room was rather spacious compared to other suites we've rented in the past. It looked recently painted and was very clean. No bed bugs or visible dirt/dust and the bathroom was spotless. The staff at the North Star were incredibly nice and helpful. We had dinner on the 3rd floor. The food was yummy. They have small, but nice selection of beer and the bartender was great!

Con's: Our room had 2 thermostats and no matter how low we dropped the temp on both, the suite stayed at 80+ degrees. We had the balcony door open periodically over night to cool off. The bed, while supposedly new, was hard as a brick. The headboard was not mounted to the wall and even walking by the bed made it rattle. Needless to say, we did not get a good night sleep. Coffee the next morning was horrible and the "breakfast" was prepackaged donuts. On a minor note, the decor was really outdated. The curtains, bedspread and sofa need to go!

This lodge has so much potential. Some better coffee/breakfast, fix the thermostats, new beds and decor and this place could be great!

PS: The Jacuzzi tub was worth the upgrade. Really helped my achy muscles after a long day skiing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Yet another Killington Hotel (?) that hasn't put any money into their property since the '80's. Been coming to VT for about 10 years to snowboard, ski, shop, etc., and thought we'd try this place while my husband and I were looking at properties in the area. Somewhat unfriendly check-in staff, hard mattress, crappy pillows, television from the early '90's awkardly placed on a table next to the bed that you'd trip on if you got up to go to the bathroom, cracks in the sink. What is wrong with these places that they can't invest in some upgrades to their properties? Now that we're no longer in a ski house we'd go back repeatedly to any hotel that we liked in Killington. Unfortunately there aren't any. Next time we'll stay in the Killington condos instead.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badkitty13x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have to echo recent reviews that point out that the North Star Lodge is terribly dated. I suppose if you're coming in the ski or hiking season that it wouldn't be so much of a problem, as you'll be spending much of your time away from the hotel. My husband and I, however, went off-season as part of a discount that we received and were disappointed. The television is very old and very small. The bed was uncomfortable, and we both woke up with pain in our backs. The look of the hotel is very 80s. While you'd hope that the splendor of the mountains would make up for it, we were instead put in a room with a view of a parking lot. I will say that the fireplace in the main lobby was very nice.

This could have been saved, but we were further unimpressed with the service. Check-in took a long time because the people working at the desk were unfamiliar with a new system. They were friendly and apologetic about it, though, so that's another good point. However, we hadn't been in our room thirty minutes when we heard someone with a key trying to get in. (Which, yes, to get back to how dated this hotel is: yes, A KEY!) My husband answered the door (which I imagine had to be quite a shock for that other guest trying to come in!), and found that the front desk had given another group two sets of keys to rooms that were already occupied, as the same scene was happening across the hall. I never heard what happened with that family, and hope that they did get rooms that they needed; it sounded like the staff were going door to door to see which rooms were available! I can't be sure this was happening, but they were making their way down the hall. How embarrassing for them, and it was frustrating to have our vacation interrupted with that inconvenience.

My husband and I loved Killington and had a great vacation, but we would not return to the North Star Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
95 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summit Lodge & Resort
Summit Lodge & Resort
#2 of 13 in Killington
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#3 of 14 in Killington
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Lodge

Address: 78 Weathervane Dr, Killington, VT 05751-9689
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Killington
Price Range: £82 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — North Star Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome...North Star Lodge is a Killington, Vermont tradition, nestled at the base of Killington Ski Resort, which stretches across six majestic mountains. With its beautiful lodge, full suites and rooms to suit every vacationer, North Star is a Killington tradition you will want to make your own. Discover the back roads of Vermont, ski Killington, go antique hunting or sit by the fire with a good book - it's all at your fingertips at North Star in Killington.Take a moment to look at our photo gallery and imagine yourself at North Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your North Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel Killington
North Star Killington
North Star Lodge Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing