We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Star Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North Star Lodge
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
265 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Wanted to do a short getaway from upstate NY so we spent a night at the North Star Lodge. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. The first room we got had one of those 19 inch TVs that look like a small college dorm fridge and the remote did not work, plus the A/C worked but made a lot of noise. A quick conversation with the nice man at the reception desk and we were moved to the room next door which was pretty good. The rooms are big and well appointed without luxury. They are functional and comfortable with good beds, good pillows, TV, plenty of towels and a split bathroom so that one can take a shower while your partner uses the sink. The property looks good and yes it could use some maintenance and better lighting but you can't beat it for less than $100. We used the picnic tables by the pond and the heated pool. Both were a welcomed plus. We would certainly consider going back to the North Star Lodge.

Room Tip: Check the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    65
    39
    23
    16
See reviews for
40
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This property is in urgent need of maintenance. The staff was very nice to us. The common areas are dingy, very poor lighting, the sauna doesn't work and is ancient with just a small rusted out timer that doesn't work at all. The rooms are not cleaned very well, we had to clean everything ourselves and the rags we used were black afterwards. The mattresses are all stained. The first room we had the mattress had vomit stains all over it. The housekeeper couldn't find any clean ones, she really tried. The dryers in the laundry room don't work even though they had a repairman come to work on them. They had to disconnect the coin vendor on them. The first room we had was below the ground level and we could see if it rained we would have problems because they were fixing an exterior wall that had been damaged by water. The third day it did pour all day long but we had moved to another room by then. The front desk clerk told us that he was there only for a short time time and he mentions the problems to the owner about keeping up the property but it doesn't help. We won't stay there again. We booked through the Armed Forces Vacation Club.

Room Tip: Avoid this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k4jdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killington hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

After a long winter, we decided we needed to get away for a couple of days. After looking around, we didn't want to spend a fortune to stay. North Star gave us a great rate. We were welcomed by Vince who is a sweet young man. After having problems with our internet, Trevor came to the room and helped (found out it was user error). Lindsey helped the next morning to plan out a day of site seeing. Just loved Woodstock, VT!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTraveler451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Let's face it, for whatever reason, ski lodges are not nice places to stay. If you bite the bullet and stay predetermined to stay at lodge awash in mediocrity, this is the place for you. The prices are quite erratic and I would wait until you see something below $100 then grab it! You aren't here for the fireplace, buy your own breakfast at the pancake house across the street. Spend your $$ at The Garlic or the Foundry. I don't do hottubs and the game room was effective enough for my 9 year old daughter. They even had some interesting book to lend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was expecting worse after reading the reviews ( a friend booked it). but its ok. its your basic motel, nothing fancy. Beds were a little hard so i slept on the air mattress 3rd night, it was three adult females and lets face it, double beds do not fit two people. They should upgrade to at least queens. There was a dirty tissue under sink upon arrival and a pair of socks under the bed! cleaning staff made the beds and replaced towels but didn't vacuum. coffee wasn't kept up but no biggie, went over and filled up of the pot vs canisters. Best part no doubt is the heated pool! a short walk in and it felt great! was not too cold, was nice and warm! cant imagine how much that cost to keep heated. a few obnoxious kids, w even worse parents who didn't do anything, , were jumping in doing cannonballs but hotel cant control that. Oh, theres also packaged donuts by coffee but id have to be starving to eat those. A nice worker did help me get my car started and all staff were very friendly! theres a 80's style bar w large dining area but only saw few people at it. id suggest they use that area to serve their coffee and offer a better breakfast even if only dry cereal and fruit and yogurt. the location is great right on killington access road. in front of hotel is great restuarant, the Foundry where you can get great food with entertainment at night on the other side.

Room Tip: apparently the suites are one part of hotel updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed there Saturday night. Was not impressed with the 217.00 price I was given for one night with the only amenity that was fully usable was the pool. We got there about 4pm and tried to check in. Immediately they were having problems because they couldnt find our reservation. We finally got to our room, outdated, nothing fancy ordered our dinner from iPie because that was who the front desk reccomended. Due to the lack of concern for ice , the delivery driver from iPie fell in the parking lot and had to go back and re-do our order because it was a mess. The kids went to go to the gym which was impossible to use because people were leaving their towels, clothes, shoes all over making it impossible to get a workout in. On the way back to the room, they noticed a strong strange smell and realized it was marijuana being smoked in one of the rooms and in the hallway. The kids got back to our room opened our door and the smell filled our room and we could not get rid of the smell. They went to tell people who were working the bar about the problem and their response was OK. Not we will take care of it nothing. My daughter was having breathing difficulties from the amount that filled our room. Upon check out, their system crashed leaving it so they could not run my credit card. They keep telling me its on my end when according to the bank it is the Lodges issue not theirs and the money is available. Today, she called yet again, very rude, basically called me a liar and then added 20.00 the amount that I was told. I will NEVER stay in this hotel again, the staff was rude, the advertised game room had most of the games with out of order signs (according to husband and kids I didnt see it), and everything else. If Im going to pay over 200 a night for something I expect it to at least be better than what we got there!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else. The only thing working for them is location to Killington and Pico along with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtibbals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here in Jan 2014 with 5 other friends. We got a 2 br full kitchen suite. The kitchen was great and the Master Suite was big with a King bed and a Jacuzzi. The 2nd BR had 2 Queens and was pretty big. There were two full baths which were great for 6 women! The furniture is very old but clean and there was nothing fancy about it but it was definitely decent. The pool outside it heated and a lot of fun. It was below zero and most of us went in the pool Friday night. The bar is ok, didn't try the restaurant. There is a nice sitting area off the lobby with a great fireplace which was going most of the time. There is free coffee and donuts in the lobby every morning.

Room Tip: There are free shuttles from a lot of the restaurants at the end of the night. 800-422-RIDE. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#8 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#13 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Lodge

Property: North Star Lodge
Address: 78 Weathervane Dr., Killington, VT 05751
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — North Star Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome...North Star Lodge is a Killington, Vermont tradition, nestled at the base of Killington Ski Resort, which stretches across six majestic mountains. With its beautiful lodge, full suites and rooms to suit every vacationer, North Star is a Killington tradition you will want to make your own. Discover the back roads of Vermont, ski Killington, go antique hunting or sit by the fire with a good book - it's all at your fingertips at North Star in Killington.Take a moment to look at our photo gallery and imagine yourself at North Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your North Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel Killington
North Star Killington
North Star Lodge Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing