We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An 'okay' stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cascades Lodge Killington
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend wedding event being held at a different venue. Upgraded to a suite to get a/c which we didn't really need other than to air out the room a bit. After a hot summer, the weather had turned cool.

On the plus side, the room was large and very clean. Appreciated having a small refrigerator so we could keep some sodas in the room. The hot breakfast was okay but nothing to write home about. The hallways had new carpeting but there was an underlying odor that my husband attributed to moth balls.

On the negative side, we had looked forward to using the pool and hot tub but when my husband checked out the pool he said it was not useable. He said the water was not clear and you couldn't see the bottom. As a former lifeguard he felt this was not only unsanitary but a safety issue.

The staff varied, with most being helpful but not necessarily all that outgoing. Overall it was an 'okay' stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you are looking for nice ,clean rooms,good breakfast ,sparkling pool,convience to slopes, free shuttle, this is your place!Yes, the hotel is a litle dated, but who cares? Staff is friendly ,fireplace is warm, and BIG TV in lounge is a plus. Would really like the restaurant to be open at night ,but you can get pub food at the bar. Call up the mountain shuttle if you want to go out to eat at night. Did I mention the skiing was wonderful despite there being NO snow anywhere other then at the resort ! We did not move the car for 3 days! Now that's a convenience! On a down note, the only one I really need to mention, bring your own drinking water or juice to mix with anything you may want to add, a salty issue going on with the water.This is our second trip to Killington and the Cascade, and you know where we will be next year. Yup!

Room Tip: I like the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosegarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at the Cascade Lodge during our New Year’s ski weekend in Killington. The hotel is close enough to walk (approx 10 minutes) to the Snowshed ski area at Killington, though the bus is super convenient and will pick up you and your skis right outside the hotel. The hotel and room were clean and comfortable. The décor is somewhat dated (anyone looking for the 80’s?) but my understanding is that it’s pretty typical of Killington lodging. Again, after a day of skiing, as long as the room is clean and the bed is comfortable…

The “pub” is more like a rec room, with a fireplace, tv, pool table, and bar, and VERY family friendly. The menu is limited, both in standard choices and availability, but what we ate was satisfying. The bar had plenty of choices and the bartender was very friendly. A nice breakfast is included—hits the spot before heading to the slopes! Parking was convenient and free.

A note about the Killington Resort Service: We bought our “ski and stay” package through the resort line. The service agent really stretched what we thought we were getting (in terms of hotel). His descriptions of the hotel/amenities were exaggerated. He also did not reserve the type of room I had requested—the hotel was full by the time we checked in and the issue could not be resolved. My advice—do NOT go through this service line. Yes, their goal is to sell packages. Just go through the hotel directly and they’ll give you the best price. The owner seemed genuinely disappointed that our expectations did not match what we found. The folks at the hotel were very nice and made our stay very lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTraveler113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My group and I have just returned from another trip to Killington and Cascades, it was our 5th year at Killington and 4th year staying at Cascades, we typically mange to visit about 3 times a season.

Cascades has a great location about a 5min walk from the Snowshed lodge but if you don't have a car then you can easily get the shuttle bus aswell.

The staff are all very friendly from Pia & Amy at the front desk to Tim everywhere else. The accommodation is always very clean and warm and it's great to have the bar onsite if you want to have a few drinks après ski. It's also very nice to have a pool onsite and really surprising considering how reasonable the cost is.

I have stayed at Cascades when it's just my wife and I, to bigger groups of up to 10 people (including small children) which i organize and the only complaint i have ever gotten from the group is the taste of the water which can take a little getting used to.

Everything considered i wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when travelling to Killington.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muppet111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My ski buddy and I had a great stay at Cascades. It's clean, comfortable, and in walking distance of Snowshed. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but the price was right and the staff is warm and friendly. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doubleplay362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here with two friends over New Year's weekend 2011/2012. The highlight of the Cascades Lodge is its location - across from the base of Killington mountain (it's walking distance but shuttles are available), and most of the popular restaurants are down the road about a mile. Everything else about the Cascades Lodge is mediocre, especially given the considerable cost. The decor and furnishings are incredibly dull and dated (there were two bowls of fake flowers at the reception area that were covered with dust), and although our room was spacious and clean, the linens were thread bare and the beds were rock hard. The free breakfast was a significant let down - the hot items were mostly inedible, so we stuck to cereal and toast. Note: This place seemed very geared towards families with young kids.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bri99su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

It is our fourth year of staying at Cascases Lodge. From the very first time we stayed here we were made to feel very welcome by Pia and her team.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi, swimming pool and hot tub. A nice bar area and lounge with comfy sofas!

Great location - walking distance to Snowshed, or there is a regular shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairLady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
0.1 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#5 of 13 in Killington
135 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
261 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
1.8 mi away
Summit Lodge & Resort
Summit Lodge & Resort
#3 of 13 in Killington
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades Lodge Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Lodge Killington

Address: 58 Old Mill Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9623
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range: £108 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascades Lodge Killington 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views from every room. Fireside lounge, pub, walk to ski lifts and golf course. Indoor pool, sundeck, sauna and hot tub. Groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cascades Lodge Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Lodge Killington Hotel Killington
Cascades Hotel Killington
Killington Cascades Hotel
Cascades Lodge Killington Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing