We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location - Average Hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel was good, but nothing special, and definitely not "grand". The room was average, and looked dated. Service was ok, but was lacking at times (the staff appeared to be mainly teenagers who spent more time talking with each other, rather than helping customers). Considering that it is near one of the bases, the location is very good. If there is enough snow, you will be able to ski across the bridge and hop onto the lifts. The restaurant in the hotel was over priced, the food was decent, just not worth the asking price. There is a daily hot breakfast (including omelettes, sausage, etc) that is included with your stay. There are free shuttles that take you to various restaurants. Overall an average stay, and would only come back because of it's location to the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane H, Manager at Killington Grand Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Kenny Y, I appreciate the feedback about your visit and do apologize that you felt that we did not provide that "Grand" experience. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable guest experience, so I will be sure to share your comments with them, as we are continuously reviewing our guest and owner comments in order to provide a more well-rounded service. I am glad that you enjoyed the features of the Grand and hope during your next visit you will see that we can be more than just average.
Best Regards
Duane Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    182
    59
    30
    14
See reviews for
189
123
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Usually do day trips to Killington but decided to splurge and stay at the last minute. I have stayed at the Grand Hotels (not sure if they are related) out west and had good experiences so figured I would do it again. Bottom line is that for the money they charge i would expect a lot more. First and foremost the walls are paper thin. We could hear the guy in the next room do everything...even zip and unzip his luggage. He has a conference call late afternoon and had him on speaker phone and we heard both sides of the entire conversation....unbelievable and unacceptable from a resort of this caliber. Front desk was also a huge disappointment. Took them forever to check us in as the person was new but worse then that they didnt tell us about a lot of things they should have:
1. We bought 2 day passed but for $60 more we could have had season passes that covered the rest of the season. When we found about this and asked they told us it was our problem and we would have to go to guest services and figure ask but doubtful they could help. (why not just tell us this when we are buying the tickets through them??)
2. Went to get morning coffee and there was none unless we bought it at gift shop. Bought it there and were told we had free breakfast and should get it. When we got there they told us we were supposed to ask at the front desk to get it when we checked in??? Not sure how that works but either way another lack of info that didnt help
3. No room service...you have to come down and pick it up if you want it.
4. Minimal front desk coverage.....went to check out and 1 person was doing absolutely everything. She was nice but couldnt handle all of that plus try to find the bellman who was nowhere to be found.
I dont usually write these types of reviews but for the price i paid for 1 night, i would expect a lot more and could have stayed up the street for 1/3rd the price.....while it was nice to ski in and out, there should be a lot better service and quality of hotel if they want to charge top dollar, especially during the week.

Room Tip: Bring extra insulation of ear plugs as you are going to need them unless you really want to hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The was our first Vermont ski trip. We wanted a nice hotel close to the mountain and to be free from lugging gear to/from the car and lockers. Our three nights (January 15-16-17) at the Killington Grand Resort Hotel exceeded our expectations. On arrival, we were met by a courteous and knowledgeable valet that helped settle us in and took care of our ski equipment. Everyone (front desk, valets, dining room, restaurant, ski room, lift operators, gift shop) was fabulous -- friendly, courteous and competent. The hotel is beautifully appointed. Lovely fireplaces on the ground and first floors with comfortable seating. The buffet breakfast was out of sight; definitely "top-shelf." We stayed in a "Murphy Bed" Studio with Kitchenette. The room included an easy chair and couch and was clean and spacious. The kitchen was complete. It included a normal size refrigerator/freezer, stove, dishwasher, dishes, flatware, pots & pans, and even cleaning supplies. It had a table for six. Perfect set-up for a family. The ski room was right by the rear exit (at ground level) and made it convenient to store our skis and boots; a short walk to the bridge and the lifts. We are definitely planning on returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcr1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, NJ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our second visit the Killington Grand Resort the resort is the best of Vermont. The hotel provides excellent access to the mountain. Upon arrival to the resort we were greeted by friendly and competent valet and front desk. The lobby is beautiful with the multiple floor fireplace surrounded by cozy sofas and chairs. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds are very comfortable. Yes as noted in other reviews the walls in some units are a bit thin. We could hear conversations in the adjoining room, although we were never bothered by hallway noise. This was never a problem merely an observation. The Grand offers a very nice buffet breakfast. After breakfast you can stroll over to the ski storage room strap on your equipment and hit the slopes. The lift is located outside the backdoor of the resort. We like to hit the mountain as soon as the ropes drop in the morning until the last lift of the day. After a great day on the slopes we head to the amazing super warm outdoor pool. This is a great way to rejuvenate our muscles and relax while taking in the beautiful surroundings. After a shower we head out to one of the many local restaurants. My sons have more stamina than I on the slopes so sometimes I spend he day in the gym and the spa while they hit the terrain park. The hotel offers some entertainment too family movies and ping pong. But the real reason to stay is the easy access to the Beast. The mountain is great and the lift operators and ski patrol are excellent and friendly . Last year we had excellent weather deep powder and fresh corduroy every morning . This year the operations team had their hands full with an ice storm. They were diligent and worked thru the complications of he ice and quickly returned the slopes and lifts to great conditions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed a week at the Killington Grand Hotel during March break. The location was fantastic. Just had to walk across a bridge to get to the ski lifts of Killington Ski Resort. Hotel contained everything we needed. They offered shuttle buses to any restaurant on Killington Road - which was a big plus. The service was exceptional. The only drawback that we encountered was that a $157 cleaning charge was added to our bill at the end of the week. It would have been nice if they had informed us of this when we checked in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadabrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My first ski hol we travelled from the UK. After the flight the price was very reasonable for delicious breakfast, lovely, spacious room, spa facilities and the only hotel on the mountain. Incredible scenery and beautiful weather most days. Cant wait to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We just returned from an overall great stay at the Grand, a repeat visit from last year. Enjoyed- the condo with balcony overlooking mountains, the location (which is ski in and out by bridge) the fabulous, generous breakfast buffet, the great little gift shop/ food store and overall hospitality and service from the hotel staff. Minor irritations were: Noisy kids you can hear through the walls( I though he was outside my door, it was so loud) and the freezing breakfast room. As soon as food hits the plates it got cold. If they could fix the noise/ heat issues, it would be perfect. Bonus features of the Grand are the on site Ovations restaurant where we ate well one night and that gift shop which sells really good sandwiches and salads, so eat in one night if you want to.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from noisy families or groups if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
0.3 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#8 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Green Resort
Mountain Green Resort
#5 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killington Grand Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killington Grand Resort Hotel

Property: Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Address: 228 E Mountain Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Killington Grand Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Killington Grand Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killington Grand Hotel Killington
Killington Grand Resort Hotel Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing