We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey Vermont Inn”
Review of Grey Bonnet Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Bonnet Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
stamford ct
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Homey Vermont Inn”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at the Bonnet for a ski weekend and were pleasantly surprised. From the outside, it doesnt look like much but inside it is the quintessential Vermont County Inn with barn wood siding and all sorts of Vermonty country objects like sled tables, spinning wheels, snowshoes, and paintings/artwork nicely framed on the walls; very charming. It has a commodious "living room" with a fireplace, a nice bar and a large diining room, a pool, hot tub and sauna; also free wifi. Breakfast comes with the room price and was a delicious buffet: scrambled eggs, biscuits with sausage gravy, fluffy pancakes, potatoes and the most scrumptious cranberry spice bread. The rooms are not spectacular and the bathrooms are small but its very adequate and cozy, esp for the price.

Its a great place for friends to stay when skiing and we will def be back here again!
In fact its our new Killington ski house!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jibeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    32
    11
    11
    26
See reviews for
36
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

OK,

If you want a corporate hotel with all the standard generic features, look away now.....

We booked two rooms for a Sun - Friday stay on recommendation of someone who had stayed here before, however I was a bit worried after seeing some of the less than happy customers writing on trip advisor. I had no reason to be worried as we had a great stay, mainly down to the fact that Paul and his staff are genuinely passionate about keeping visitors happy.

To be realistic, you could spend a lot of money to bring this older property up to a more luxurious standard, but you'd then have to pay a lot more to stay. Paul is very engaging and I'd say he has a very British type dry wit which we found great, but maybe more serious guests don't get the right interpretation of Paul's manner. He's a nice, genuine guy trying to run a business in tough times. We met several repeat guests which just shows that this place resonates with some people and I can see why.

Rooms (we were on the first floor) are functional and clean, but be gentle with the fixtures and fittings.

Breakfast was included with our deal so we had food each morning before heading out to the slopes, with a choice of bacon/eggs/potatoes/toast or pancakes and another couple of choices but we stuck to the bacon & eggs and it was a good start to each day with a nice view of the outside conditions as the breakfast room is windows all around .

The dining room does not open every night, but on the Thursday night it did we had a great steak which was much nicer than some of the meals we'd had in the centre of town.

Bar is open each night and is nice and relaxed with games/cards to play if you want. Also there is a downstairs area with a pool table if you fancy hustling some cash off your mates. There's also another large room with a log fire if you just want to sit and relax.

We also used the indoor pool (pretty cold, but I'm a wuss) and the hot tub and sauna to relax after a hard day on the slopes.

If you come along with reasonable expectations, Paul will go out of his way to make you feel welcome and look after you. Hopefully people won't be put off by a few negative reviews and will give the Grey Bonnet a go, so that Paul can continue to do what he loves.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M4RK_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Four of us went over from the UK for a skiing holiday, Paul the owner was very helpful throughout the holiday. It is quite an old hotel, but I thought that added to the charm. There weren't many guests when we stayed as it was midweek (Sun to Fri). It felt like we were staying in somebody's very welcoming home, we were treated with respect and courtesy throughout our stay and Paul treated us like old friends.

It was really good chatting to him and a couple of other guests in the cosy bar. We used most of the facilities available - the pool, hot tub and sauna, they were put on ready for us, when we arrived back from the slopes. OK, so the water from the taps is sometimes a funny colour, but what you have to realise that the only water supply is from an Artesian Well 300 ft below where it is pumped up and filtered and stored in the tank. There is nothing wrong with it, it is just from a different source from what we are used to, as are most of the properties in that countryside area.

What we did find is that the bed linen and rooms were always clean and smelt fresh, the linen and towels were changed every day. So overall a great place to stay, you're not paying over inflated prices for something impersonal. It is outside the main town area, but there is plenty of free transport supplied by the local restaurants and bars, all it takes is a phone call. When they weren't available,because of ice on the roads, before it was gritted and salted, Paul gave us a lift to the town and offered to pick us up as well, that's what I call service! All I can say to everyone is try talking to Paul and his staff, get to know them and you will enjoy you're stay here. What more can you ask in winter - a roaring log fire in the lounge and staff who have got time for you. Would return there anytime.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest rooms, pay a little more, well worth it, splash out a bit! We had a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob11423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

clean and functional, but overpriced for what it is. Very threadbare. Has a pool - but it is NOT heated (are you kidding me?) so it is essentially unusable. Parking is a problem because they did not have it well plowed when it snowed. Breakfast was only mediocre and wasn't served until 7:30 when the mountain opened at 8, so we didn't use it after the first day. Overall, acceptable, but not a great deal. You can easily hear other rooms - TV's, showers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plhr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killington hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our group of 29 had an amazing dinner here on Xmas day.
Chef Damon prepared a menu for us that included three choices for main entree.
Choices were salmon, roast pork, and turkey dinner.
I totally loved the butternut squash bisque with cinnamon.
And dinner concluded with a fresh homemade apple pie.
The restaurant was huge and lovely, well decorated for the holidays.
Thank you Paul and Damon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

More a home than a hotel, it comes with some of the faults of age that you find in a home. We were received by the host who worked at all times of day in a variety of tasks from carrying luggage to serving food. He had a ready wit and a pleasing personality. There was lots of advice for the uninitiated and all of it was good.

We had a room on the main floor and it was very comfortable, clean and welcoming. The main reception dining room, lounge and bar were all nearby but not audible from the rooms. The building is very 'lived in' and full of character. I liked it the moment I walked inside although, from the outside it has a more austere appearance. We met two couples in the bar - one from Long Island, the other from New Jersey - who had been coming back to the hotel summer and winter for many years. The New Jersey couple were in their 25th year of return. The hotel definitely appeals.

We visited to see 'the fall' and just caught it before it blew away but we had wonderful days on the Green Mountain, on Lake Champlain, at the battlefield at Hubbardton, at Fort Ticonderoga and on the byways of Northern Vermont. Lots to see in the autumn but the place is transformed in the skiing season and we're thinking of going back to sample that next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
233 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This Inn is located in a ski village. We spend one night in September (Autumn), which was not the high season. We were one of the three rooms occupied that night.
The Inn is nice, located outside of Killington. We didn't use the swimming pool because of we didn't have time, I wish we had more time for that.
The rooms are big, but I believe they will be more pleasant if the owner will do some renovation especially to the bathroom.
Breakfast was OK - not more.
Overall - nice Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
2.6 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#7 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Trailside Inn
The Trailside Inn
#1 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenbrier Inn
Greenbrier Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Meadows Lodge
Mountain Meadows Lodge
#3 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Bonnet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Bonnet Inn

Property: Grey Bonnet Inn
Address: 831 Route 100, Killington, VT 05751-9586
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Bonnet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Grey Bonnet Hotel Killington
Grey Bonnet Inn Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing