We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SNOWBOARDS STOLEN HERE!!”
Review of Grey Bonnet Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Bonnet Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed at Gray Bonnet Inn this past weekend. I frequently travel to ski resorts and this place is the only resort that I have found that does not let you keep your equipment in your room. The owner makes you put your equipment in a room that is "locked" though he does not check in any equipment and when I asked if the equipment was unlocked and unattended at any point he said yes. (He needs to serve breakfast) I felt uneasy leaving my snowboard in that room so I locked it up on my car and in the morning my snowboard plus another guy's board was stolen. The owner completely disregarded our boards being stolen and said it wasn't his problem.It seems like it was an inside job if you ask me. My sister had called the owner later that day and he refused to speak to her and hung up the phone. Who hangs up the phone on someone especially an owner of a business? He probably hung up because he knows he does not own a reputable facility. The owner is a crook (which if you read other reviews is a common theme) and does not care if he pleases his customers. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY ANYWHERE ELSE BUT HERE!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CD576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyBonnetInn, Manager at Grey Bonnet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

The guest reported in the morning that his snowboard was stolen from his car, which was parked in a full parking lot 20' from the front entry door. Minutes later a board was reported stolen from the equipment storage room. The police were called & arrived to manage the theft of the reported missing boards. Obviously we are very upset & concerned about this; in 16 years we have not have had one theft of any kind in this Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

This place is extremely old and dirty, but cheap given its proximity to the Killington resort. And generally I have no problems staying in crummy places on the cheap while skiing as long as I know what I’m getting in to ahead of time. However, this place is one big lie and the owner is a crook. If you look at the website for this place you’ll see a ton of amenities listed, yet all of them are closed (there’s no Swedish sauna, not exercise room, no pool or hot tub). They’ll quote you one price when booking and then stick you with a bigger bill because of a mysterious 10% gratuity charge. Grauity for what?! Terrible service? I’m not sure why this place gets such glowing reviews, but don’t believe the hype, this is place is a dump! The night we stayed there, it snowed over a foot and the owner did not bother getting the parking lot or the driveway cleared. Instead, he gave customers a shovel to dig out their cars. For the same price you can find much better accommodations directly on access road and know what you’re getting into. Take a look at the "nice" photos on the website and notice how most of them are very 70’s looking – must’ve been the heyday of this place and unfortunately since then it just dilapidated. Buyer beware, all you get is a dirty old room at this place.

Room Tip: The weekend we stayed here, we were the only people in the place, so there's plenty of rooms ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was the last of three hotels we stayed for the autumn (fall) season this year - and what a good find!! Located just outside the more busy 'mountain road' area this was a VERY friendly and comfortable hotel.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful offering suggestions as to locations/walks etc - some of which can be accessed directly from the hotel.
The room was a reasonable size (without tea/coffee maker - but see my review of The Merrill Farm Inn, N. Conway) but the hot breakfast was made to order and very good with unlimited coffee!
We stayed towards the end of the season, so unfortunately the Restaurant did not open in the evenings (except on our last day - Saturday of the 'Columbus Weekend') which was a shame as the food on Saturday was hot buffet style with unlimited visits allowed - several choices offered. Food was excellent and was an unbelievable $14.95 each (plus drinks). What a bargain!!
Evening meals required a trip up the mountain road or into Rutland which had several restaurants in on route.
Lovely quiet and friendly hotel which made you feel 'at home' from first walking in the door.
We will return to this hotel as soon as we can!

Room Tip: No experience - we took what was allocated and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evad_M_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Grey Bonnet for just one night. We pulled in off the road weary travellers, worried about where we were going to stay. What a find, a warm welcome, a clean and spacious room with a host that really could not have made us more welcome. A lovely quaint Inn and a great hot breakfast too. Just a pity we could not have stayed longer. If we ever venture back to Vermont we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berycsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Gret bonnet is a nice place to stay with family during sky trip to killington. They have a good restaurant and serves a nice sirloin steak. I little far from the mountains but easy to get there. Be care at the breakfast you have to choose only one thing to eat or you going to be charge. At all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Four of us went up to that area to play golf. The Inn is close to two good golf courses. The rooms at the Inn were small but very clean. The free breakfast buffet was freshly cooked and much better than most franchise hotels we've stayed in. The restaurant was not open but the bar was. The bartender, part time cook, chief bottle washer, owner and the rest of his small staff went out of their to make suggestions to help us find places to have dinner. As we drove around the area we didn't see many places open which led us to believe Paul and his staff must be doing something right to be able to keep his Inn open and operating in this environment. Thanks to Paul and his staff we had a great time at the Inn and we will be back

Room Tip: Stay on the main floor or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Great staff- provided great suggestions
Buffet was good and filing.
The location of the Inn is easy to get to and inn is in the woods-great paths for hiking.
Also great golfing near by.
Will be back with family in the fall to see the changing of the season.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
2.6 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
215 reviews
3.7 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Bonnet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Bonnet Inn

Address: 831 Route 100, Killington, VT 05751-9586
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range: £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Bonnet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Grey Bonnet Hotel Killington
Grey Bonnet Inn Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing