We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, rustic and close to the slopes”
Review of The Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mountain Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
plymouth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No complaints, rustic and close to the slopes”
Reviewed 8 March 2008

We stayed at the Mountain Inn which was booked through Virgin holidays in the UK. We arrived during a snow storm and believe me, driving a van with 8 of us travelling in it, we were relieved to arrive at all! On first inspection the reception was very rustic (just what we wanted - not modern charmless accommodation). The hotel staff were fine. Reception is manned by young girls who were very friendly (even though we locked ourselves out 3 times!) The manager was great, sorted out a few shuttles in the evening for us and even asked how we enjoyed our evenings when we returned. The bartender (lady in her 40's/50's) was really cool and made our stay very welcoming and recommended lots of things to do and see in Killington and Boston.
The rooms were a little dated but as we only slept there, it was clean and tidy so it was no big deal. We were on the ground floor and as we had 4 children in our party it was great that there was a games room, pool and a fantastic pool/hot tub outside to entertain them after skiing.
The inn is ideally located near the slopes and the shuttle driver throughout the day was very friendly and helpful. The skiing was fantastic, especially as we had some great snowfalls whilst we were there.
Food was great, especially Sushi Yoshi and Outback pizza.
This hotel has had some dreadful reviews which is a shame as
we had a great holiday, met some great Americans and the skiing was fab. If I was to return to Killington, would I stay here? Yes I would, I look forward to seeing you all again one day!

  • Liked — Rustic charm, location, hot pool
  • Disliked — would have liked to have been able to buy essentials at the hotel ie; toiletries/feminine items, shampoo, toothpaste etc
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
35
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

We booked our room directly with the inn. They failed to mention that the $425 room was located directly above the piano bar.

Additionally, the room was dirty with rings and the toilet, body hair in the bathroom, and stains on the bedding.

When we asked to move to a different room, the staff was completely rude and told us if we wanted quiet we should have gone to Stowe. I am sorry, but we had just spent 5 hours driving in a blizzard and wanted to get up and ski the next morning!

They moved us to a smaller room but when we asked repeatedly what the cost of the new room would be, they would not give us an answer. The new room was also extremely loud, so the next morning we asked to move to a third room, which was even smaller. Again, the staff was completely rude and would not provide any answers when we asked about price.

Through out our stay we asked to speak with a manager, and were repeatedly told that one was not available.

We were treated like we were trying to scam them out of paying for the room, when all we wanted were answers.

Not one staff member ever empathized with our dissatisfaction or apologized for our inconveniences.

When we checked out, we still had no answers regarding our rates. We were assured we would not be charged anything additional. We were assured that someone would call us back. That never happened. When we checked our credit card, there was in fact an additional $350 charge.

No one ever called us. We had to call them to ask for break down of the charges. When we finally got the answers we were asking for all weekend, the woman on the phone was still rude to us.

I don't know how an inn or hotel can operate with such poor customer service. I do not recommend that anyone stay here.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The rude staff and unclean rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeghanKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killington hotels

california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

we stayed here for 2 nights over a very busy weekend.the snow was great,this inn is really close to the lifts and you see the slopes and skiers from your window,really amazing.Although the inn needs a little updating,you can`t beat the location,it`s the best in the ski resort.you couild walk to the ski lifts if you wanted ,but no need as there is a free shuttle.Our room faced away from the slopes but still comfortable, huge bed and nice room,bathroom needs updating,but hot water,great gas fire place,all round very nice.we`ll be back for sure,so very cosy .Great restaurant, awsome steak!!!!!!.
We are a family of 4 and we all enjoyed our stay, especially the children. there is entertainment on site in the piano bar , with several snug lounges. a really warm atmosphere and a good night sleep.The best for skiers.

  • Liked — it was rustic and although a little dated,it had character
  • Disliked — could do with some newer antique style furnityue
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank salinastown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis,MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

I want to preface this review by saying that I'm not a high maintenance type of person. I've traveled extensively and when I say this was one of the worst holidays believe me it was. My boyfriend and I decided to take a last minute ski trip right after Christmas. We looked everywhere (out West, Europe etc..). The least expensive was Killington for a grand total of $2,486. This price included 5 nights at the Mountain Inn and 4 lift tickets. We were very much looking forward to a wonderful romantic get away with our promised "deluxe" fire place room and outside pool/hot tub. Well...needless to say we were completely disappointed. The hotel itself is run down and looks like an old summer camp. The staff were basically non existent. When we checked in a young lady handed us a key and that was that. The out side pool was so pathetic and unappealing that we never went in. The carpet in the room looked like inside/outside carpet. The bathroom was so small only 1 person could be in there at a time. The 1 shampoo that was in the room was 1/2 full. The bed was lumpy and the cover was the old fashion stiff abrasive feeling kind that always slipped off the bed. Not too mention that we could hear EVERYTHING in the hallway. We were terribly disappointed and left a day early. We booked through Skikillington.com. They told us this was a luxury hotel. We called and complained to which the manager just said.."it's out of my hands". He did not even apologize. SHAME on them!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else...for $400 per-night we still had to purchase computer access.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katchinadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

This is not a great hotel for the money. The rooms are small, but clean. We paid $179/night for a king bed room with a tiny bathroom (see pics). The rooms are very dated, and the bathroom shower had been redone by slapping a fake tile board on top of the old tile, making the shower very narrow. This hotel is by no means walkable to the ski slope (300 yards is to the beginning of the parking lot), but there is a free shuttle every 20 minutes which was fine. The hotel restaurant was decent for dinner. For your continental breakfast (included) you get cereal, small bagels and waffles for toasting, some fruit salad, and coffee and tea. This was fine for us, but not exactly luxurious. The TV was tiny, the fridge was large but very loud which made sleeping difficult, and there are no closets, just a small wardrobe. This an extremely noisy hotel, with loud doors banging all the time, and kids running around. Seemed like a great place for people with families though, but forget it for light sleepers. Expected much more for the $$$.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Room size, amenities, location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfneuralnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2007

Our room had a view of the mountain, which was beautiful! The hotel is very quaint and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank California2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2007

Stayed at this Inn once before but recieved such poor service this time that we will never go back. The rooms are small and generally clean and the location of the Inn is good for skiing. That's as good as it gets. The bar service was slow and the staff among the rudiest we've encountered.
Last time we came the lounge was packed because of a fantastic band. Now they have a piano player that butchers the classics. The bar was half full(on a saturday night) and this place is small. We do not recommend this place but if you go, bring your own breakfast because theirs is lousy.
At night, avoid their bar or bring some ear plugs and yell to get your drink. Better yet, bring your own liquor and CD's and chill out in your room. Let the classics remain classics

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitelanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
0.1 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Green Resort
Mountain Green Resort
#5 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Inn

Property: The Mountain Inn
Address: 47 Old Mill Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9622
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Hotel Killington
Mountain Hotel Killington
The Mountain Inn Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing