We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're on a tight budget, it works....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Butternut Inn and Pancake House
Ranked #9 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you're on a tight budget, it works....”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Positives: Great location, cute lounge area with fireplace, awesome free a la carte breakfast, free shuttle, nice helpful owner.
Negatives: room seemed a bit dirty (spiderwebs, stinky), no hot water at night!! (This is not good coming back for a cold day on the mountain), portly maintained (door didn't work, holes in the bathroom door, rusty shower curtain), uncomfortable bed, thin halls and loud hallways.....overall, the rooms were the worst part. But, the nice thing was the flatscreen tv, the fridge, and large space to hang coats, etc.
overall: if you get a low rate and don't spend a lot of time in the room, it works.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the end of the hallway so you don't have to hear people walk by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakijackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights for about $90 a night. Jim who runs the place was a great host and answered all of my annoying questions. The rooms are newlys renovated and very spacious and clean. The bathrooms are a but older but still they are very clean. The hotel is located in a perfect position and the shuttle will pick you up every time within ten minutes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My party stayed only for one night but we want to return for a longer stay during ski season. The accommodations are basic but clean, comfortable, and affordable. The owner was so friendly and helpful - he really treated us like part of his family. The big pancake breakfast was fabulous and was included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJM0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Attached are photos showing the dismal lack of care and careless renovation of this joint. When we arrived, I went to wash up and discovered the dink had not been washed since the last guest, or guests. Soap scum you could scrape off with your fingernail. I have never seen that! Air conditioner did not get cool, it did blow air but you can see it has never been wiped off. The bathroom had just been redone with horribly careless and incompetent work with crude trim and the brand new linoleum was rippled up 1 1/2". Tacky 1x4 was used as crown moulding and then run across the hallway but only partially stained on the one side. The bed was OK and breakfast is good but whoever us running the place has no pride.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I had a wonderful breakfast with my friends. the pancakes were delicious. I lost my phone at the Pancake house. The owners found it and mailed it back to me really quickly. Good food and Great people!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stacey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I only stayed here for two days, but the two days were great. The rooms were nice and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was very good, it came with pancakes, eggs, bacon, home fries and toast! The service was great and personal, you felt as though someone was welcoming you into there home, unlike staying at a large chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollinsjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I was shocked that there was no mini fridge, I haven't not had one in a room in a while. But owner brought us ice we kept outside. And we had to keep some food out there too. New furniture. ! Beds very soft and comfie. Flat screen tv. Bathrooms need an upgrade..Bathtub was peeling apart, would flake off and clog drain. Fan/heater on wall doesnt work.
. Room could use a full length mirror as there's only had one over sink.
we couldn't lock door from outside. So had to lock from inside hall and walk around to outside. No biggie.
Breakfast that's included was good and it was one less meal to worry about.
Free or cheap transportation available.
Owner helpful and knowledgable about local places.
Nobody came n to clean our rooms while we skid leaving our tiny garbage can overflowing quickly. Couldn't sleep past 6, as you can hear everyone walking upstairs. Out front, etc. (hard to avoid when people are getting up to ski).
It'll be great if the hogue gets up and running!

Room Tip: Id stays upstairs as its loud on 1st in mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#11 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butternut Inn and Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butternut Inn and Pancake House

Property: Butternut Inn and Pancake House
Address: 63 Weathervane Dr, Killington, VT 05751-9816
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Butternut Inn and Pancake House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Butternut Inn and Pancake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butternut On The Mountain Hotel Killington
Butternut Inn And Pancake House Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing