We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad to see the reviews were right!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenbrier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenbrier Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glad to see the reviews were right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I read very good reviews for this hotel. We usually stay at the Best Western down the street because of the discounts, but booked to late to stay with them. So the Greenbrier was within our price range and had excellent reviews. I'll defiantly stay here again. The drive is much closer to the mountain, and the "home feel" was wonderful. I traveled with my husband and some friends. Our rooms ended up right next to each other. The rooms were very spacious. Breakfast was good, especially the coffee. Some things were outdated but everything was comfortable and the staff made up for the rest. We all really enjoyed it here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jxa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    40
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
60
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Greenbrier Inn is nice place to stay, and very close to the Killington access road. If you can get a reasonable price near the peak season, it's worth a look. While I felt the room was just average and maybe a bit outdated, it was definitely clean. I am very picky on beds as I prefer a soft mattress and not too springy and I was pretty happy. We had a bummer of a weekend for weather with POURING rain in the 40's and I opted not to take my new wife skiing for the 2nd time in her life as I don't want her to dislike skiing - and Otto (hotel staff) recommended we go to a glass blowing factory (Simon Pearce in nearby Woodstock, VT) with a quaint gift shop and a great dining area restaurant that overlooks a waterfall - pretty clutch for a blown weather ski trip. The Staff was EXCELLENT, really cares and is just so nice to chat with - they make the place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GOBIlls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here over Christmas. Their strength is family ownership and they looked after us extremely well. Nothing was too much trouble. The common areas (lobby/ breakfast area) were snug and cosy. The rooms themselves will be in need of a revamp soon- they are a bit dated. Breakfast was basic, and uninspired, but served in such a friendly atmosphere, that could be overlooked. For other meals, one had to drive to killington itself- closest place about 5km away. This became a bit tedious after a week. On the whole a nice stay, but apart from the lovely "staff", unremarkable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

A very nice family owned hotel that makes sure you are enjoying your stay at all times. You are greeted to the main area in the morning with asking if you would like a cup of coffee, tea etc. Just a very, very friendly, family like stay that you won't get in a franchised hotel. I am in hotels 300 days a year. It was refreshing to be in a nice atmosphere and more than helpful staff. Thank you. Ken G.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I selected Greenbrier Inn based upon my familiarity with the retail store (which is adjacent to the hotel) and the positive reviews here. Perhaps, context is important here since we stayed here during high season (Friday, December 27, 2013) and hence the rate was not favorable ($201 for one night). Initially, we wanted to stay two nights but there was no availability. In the end, this worked to our advantage. My husband has spinal damage. I know, I know why did we choose to come to Killington at all, but we always come to Killington for our anniversary. We occupied room #25 lovely view and the room was nice. Our biggest complaint was the bed, which spoiled my husband's sleep. The mattress was terrible - all springs very little mattress! It would have been great to get some extra pillows to compensate for the bad mattress but we just had two pillows. Wi-FI was terrible and very intermittent. It took HOURS to post photos on facebook. Connectivity lasted a few seconds/minutes at best. The thermostat in the room didn't work so it was a bit chilly. Continental breakfast was also unimpressive. The staff and the inn itself are lovely but that does not compensate for all the other short comings - especially given the cost. We were happy to check out after our one night stay and return to our favorite spot: The Inn at Long Trail.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We loved the place. It's small and very cozy. The owners were very friendly and supportive. Before leaving we asked about some interesting places to visit around and we got the perfect plan! We loved the ambience here, decoration, nice family breakfasts. If you don't expect modern luxury you will enjoy a simple country style.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Greenbrier Inn is a fine place to stay near Killington, especially for the reasonable price. While I felt the room was just average and maybe a bit outdated, it was definitely clean. The common area was charming and at night it is very well-lit and inviting. We experienced very friendly and welcoming service as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
2.6 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.9 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Inn

Property: Greenbrier Inn
Address: 2057 Rte. 4, Killington, VT 05751
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenbrier Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel with Vermont country inn charm. Conveniently located just off the Killington Road. Attractively decorated with beautiful mountain and valley views. Our second generation family-run Inn affords a true commitment to customer service. Common area lounge with fireplace, free Wi-Fi, television and games. Continental breakfast served each morning in the lounge. Non-smoking property with 21 spacious guest rooms all with private bath, refrigerator, hairdryer, cable television, telephone and patio or balcony. On site 7,000 square-foot gift shop full of unique gifts and home decor. The gift shop is a year round destination for travelers throughout the world. Guests enjoy complimentary use of snowshoes to explore on premises nature trails that follow our brook. In the spring, summer and fall try your hand at fly-fishing with beautiful gardens and sitting area. Enjoy the warmth, casual elegance and friendly service of the Greenbrier Inn. Amenities: Lounge with Fireplace & Wi-Fi, Continental Breakfast, In-room refrigerator, balcony or patio attached to rooms, Non-Smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Greenbrier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Killington
Greenbrier Inn Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing