We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenbrier Gift shop”
Review of Greenbrier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenbrier Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Greenbrier Gift shop”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stopped in to shop at the gift shop at approximately 5:10 and were "welcomed" by a woman at the door who promptly informed us that they were closing at 5:30, we browsed around briefly and while coming around the corner I was approached by another woman who basically said " o.k., so you're all set ? We are closing at 5:30" I told her we were told this as we walked in .... It was 5:15 ! I was with friends who had gifts to buy and wanted to pick up items for a lake house, well.... No sale and we likely will simply shop online.

The store is overflowing with stuff , from floor to ceiling so I guess that's why the saleswomen were concerned we wouldn't be able to quickly browse through .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    42
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
60
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Booked a Ski and Stay trip without knowing the Inn and were pleasantly surprised. Owned by Steve and Jennifer, whose father Otto still helps at the Inn and mother Kathy runs the gift shop. Tom is resident manager and only non-family employee.The rooms are spacious and super clean; housekeeper hardworker. Classical music plays in the common area, TV and games are available near the fireplace, décor is very European and cozy. Continental breakfast was adequate with plenty of fruit, healthy cereals, yogurt and endless coffee. Guests gravitate to the common area, drawn by Steve, Otto and Tom's friendly personalities. Everyone is quick to suggest ski trails,sightseeing or restaurants. NO RESTAURANTS or chain stores in Killington, Mountain Road restaurants were pricey but Rutland is only 10 miles away. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Easier to bring luggage into first floor/no elevator/ some steps into lounge/breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

After a long journey, we arrived to be greeted by Tom. Very welcoming and we soon settled in. The location is good. It is a bit of a drive to the slopes,5-10 mins, but don't be put off. Unless you are on the mountain itself you have to drive! The car park for the slopes is so easy and 2 min walk to nearest lifts. After a decent breakfast that was served by Steve we were waved off with, 'see you when you get home'. And, it felt sincere and very homey. I have to say, Steve, Otto and Tom couldn't do enough. Nothing was too much trouble. In the evening, restaurants aren't too far away, 5 mins in car! There are plenty of take outs, and a convenience store right across the road. Very handy. You can quite easily sit in the lounge with food and open a bottle of wine. We would definitely stay here again. As some other reviews state. It is a bit dated but don't be put off. The service and quaintness of this hotel more than make up for this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V-Connolly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for MLK weekend with a few friends to go skiing/snowboarding at Killington and Pico. We were pleasantly surprised with the Greenbrier; what a find! Even though we arrived late (close to midnight), they waited up for us to check in. The room was comfortable and pretty spacious for the 4 of us. It was a bit outdated, but still somewhat modern, and the bed was good after a long day on the slopes. The continental breakfast was good- cereal, pastries/bread, yogurt and fruit. Steve was there every morning (ready with coffee!!) to give us tips for dinner/drinks around the area. Even though we weren't completely new to Killington, his tips were really helpful- we hit up Garlic on the Saturday night and had a fantastic dinner. They leave the cereal and fruit out all day, so you can grab a snack if you come back from the mountain early and hungry! Overall, the staff was super friendly and accommodating, the rooms were comfortable and the location was perfect (5-10 min drive to Pico or Killington). We had a great time and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I read very good reviews for this hotel. We usually stay at the Best Western down the street because of the discounts, but booked to late to stay with them. So the Greenbrier was within our price range and had excellent reviews. I'll defiantly stay here again. The drive is much closer to the mountain, and the "home feel" was wonderful. I traveled with my husband and some friends. Our rooms ended up right next to each other. The rooms were very spacious. Breakfast was good, especially the coffee. Some things were outdated but everything was comfortable and the staff made up for the rest. We all really enjoyed it here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jxa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Greenbrier Inn is nice place to stay, and very close to the Killington access road. If you can get a reasonable price near the peak season, it's worth a look. While I felt the room was just average and maybe a bit outdated, it was definitely clean. I am very picky on beds as I prefer a soft mattress and not too springy and I was pretty happy. We had a bummer of a weekend for weather with POURING rain in the 40's and I opted not to take my new wife skiing for the 2nd time in her life as I don't want her to dislike skiing - and Otto (hotel staff) recommended we go to a glass blowing factory (Simon Pearce in nearby Woodstock, VT) with a quaint gift shop and a great dining area restaurant that overlooks a waterfall - pretty clutch for a blown weather ski trip. The Staff was EXCELLENT, really cares and is just so nice to chat with - they make the place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GOBIlls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here over Christmas. Their strength is family ownership and they looked after us extremely well. Nothing was too much trouble. The common areas (lobby/ breakfast area) were snug and cosy. The rooms themselves will be in need of a revamp soon- they are a bit dated. Breakfast was basic, and uninspired, but served in such a friendly atmosphere, that could be overlooked. For other meals, one had to drive to killington itself- closest place about 5km away. This became a bit tedious after a week. On the whole a nice stay, but apart from the lovely "staff", unremarkable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
3.2 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
1.9 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
200 reviews
2.9 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
239 reviews
2.4 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
132 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Trailside Inn
The Trailside Inn
#1 of 14 in Killington
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Inn

Property: Greenbrier Inn
Address: 2057 Rte. 4, Killington, VT 05751
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenbrier Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel with Vermont country inn charm. Conveniently located just off the Killington Road. Attractively decorated with beautiful mountain and valley views. Our second generation family-run Inn affords a true commitment to customer service. Common area lounge with fireplace, free Wi-Fi, television and games. Continental breakfast served each morning in the lounge. Non-smoking property with 21 spacious guest rooms all with private bath, refrigerator, hairdryer, cable television, telephone and patio or balcony. On site 7,000 square-foot gift shop full of unique gifts and home decor. The gift shop is a year round destination for travelers throughout the world. Guests enjoy complimentary use of snowshoes to explore on premises nature trails that follow our brook. In the spring, summer and fall try your hand at fly-fishing with beautiful gardens and sitting area. Enjoy the warmth, casual elegance and friendly service of the Greenbrier Inn. Amenities: Lounge with Fireplace & Wi-Fi, Continental Breakfast, In-room refrigerator, balcony or patio attached to rooms, Non-Smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenbrier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Killington
Greenbrier Inn Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing