We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Happy Bear Motel

Happy Bear Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Bear Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Reviewed 27 December 2011

very nice motel, great value for money,clean rooms, good location

Room Tip: The gentelman who owned it. I spoke with and was very pleasant. Theroom was clean and sold me right...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinceat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Happy Bear Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

The reviews of this place are hilarious, and most of them are spot-on. I’m a 46 year-old business owner, and I’ve been coming to the Bear for about 7 years for an annual ski weekend with a college buddy of mine. The ONLY reason we stay here is for the location – the key bars are within walking distance. If you don’t care about walking to bars and/or have a designated driver in your group, then you have NO reason to stay here, period.

The room itself is basically sanitary, but as others have commented, it is far from updated, and there are many drawbacks. It does smell, the heat takes forever to work, it’s fairly loud, and the beds are so-so. The bathroom is no better – fluctuating water temperature, very old décor that doesn’t exactly look too clean, and this has to be the only hotel in the country that doesn’t provide shampoo and related products.

One reviewer commented on the Continental Breakfast, saying he had seen a “better spread at a homeless shelter”.. Clearly this was not a “spread”.. In prior years there was cold cereal. Now there is just coffee in the office, and a card table (for 2 people), where the owner stares at you while you drink your coffee.

Bottom line – if the proximity to the bars and the mountain are your priority, then stay here. Expect the worst, and at least you were warned, and won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a "good room" then stay somewhere else. If you want a good location for the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just visit Happy Bear Motel during Columbus Day weekend. I must say the new owner is keeping the place in real good condition as it looked freshly painted inside out. As always had a great experience with our stay. The location and the price of this hotel has always been the selling points for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This no frills motel is a good place to stay on a budget. Keep in mind it is an older hotel and it does show. We needed a place to stay when we cancelled our room with Best Western and the Happy Bear Motel was great about last minute reservations. The area is quaint and comfortable with a number of restaurants to choose from. The bed was very hard and was difficult for my back, but did not bother my husband and he slept well. Would recommend this motel if you are not fussy about needing the most up to date conveniences.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor and away from the stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniece P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I`m an avid skier and spend much time at Killington. I`ve stayed at many of the hotels there. I choose the Happy Bear as my regular place. Comfortable and close to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petrerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The only good thing about the happy bear motel is the location. the rooms are small and outdated, the breakfast is just cereal milk fruit and juice, and the front desk guy is not very friendly. he yelled at me when I opened the fridge to get milk for the cereal, and when asked if the heat was turned off at night (because I set it on max and the room was cold in the morning) he said "how do you know?". the walls and ceilings are really thin and there is no way to sleep when you hear every word the neighbors say and hear them walking around above you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kammmli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

What used to be a nice kept place by the previous owners is now a hole in the wall. Now indian owned. they said continental breakfast.. I have seen a better spread at a homeless shelter. no really it was awful they could just as well say bad coffe and stale cereal. we had a room that was like a $10.00 a night stab and stay. the bed hurt my back so bad I couldnt sleep. kids were partying untill 3:00am when we had to be up by 7:00 to get out on the mountain eairly. NO HOT WATER!!!! NONE!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dexter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
4.2 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
1.3 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#8 of 13 in Killington
133 reviews
10.0 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#11 of 13 in Killington
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Bear Motel

Address: 1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9729
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range: £47 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Happy Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Bear Hotel Killington
Happy Bear Motel Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing