We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so happy bear”
Review of Happy Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Bear Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Room was dirty, stains everywhere, way overpriced for what you get, don't bother to try to get a decent night sleep as you can here everyting going on in other rooms. Stayed there a few years ago, it was alot cleaner! c

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

Close to excellent restaurants and nightlife (walking distance). Clean, no frills, courteous staff. Great price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Booking: Their web site is outdated and old fashioned, but not a big deal as many inns are like that. However, if offering an online reservation form, it should be monitored. I submitted a reservation, but never heard anything. I had to phone a couple of days later to make the actual reservation. Perhaps they actually do utilize their online form, but it didn't work for me. Just FYI. The receptionist didn't sound overly warm, which concerned me a bit, and in other circumstances, would have made me choose elsewhere (management read first impressions count big time!).

Location: Awesome! Right on a main road and close to everything you need in the area. We stayed there solely for a show at the Pickle Barrel night club across the street. That place was a blast also, highly suggest a stop there and at the bar/restaurant called "Jax". We really enjoyed spending time there.

Rooms: Put it this way, I was waiting for Mr. Roper to come up and check on us. I think his tv was more modern ;-) Basically, rooms are dated circa 1970.

They have no smoking policy, and given its a ski resort area, and carpets often get wet, there was NOT a musty or smoky smell in the rooms. So although the room felt a bit dank, it didn't smell like it. There were benches and ash trays out side the rooms.

Rooms were clean, and relatively quiet considering the age of the building. TV worked. Room was quite large. Weird thing though, big closet, but NO hangars in the room. Maybe it was just our room. We only stayed one night, so didn't bother tracking any down.

Building: Its an older 2 storey motel, not atypical. Plenty of parking room, no charge. Not the Fort Knox however. The old fashioned key / doors could easily be broken into (in my opinion). So we left the TV and lights on while gone out.

Value: Price was reasonable (~$100) mid week given its location and demand. If you're a non-pretentious young snow boarder and want somewhere decent to crash with your buddies and have some fun, this place is for you.

Anyone looking for cute place to stay in a cozy Vermont get-away, may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bmancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

The Happy Bear is a quality lodging facility considering the price, It' isn't fancy or super-modern, but everything in our room was very clean. Would I stay here on a romantic getaway with my wife? No. But it was great for weekend getaway with one of the guys.

The owners, who work the front desk, are very nice also,

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dactile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2006

Pros: Great value, centrally located on Killington Rd, clean rooms, pet friendly, warm and friendly family owned and run. Walking distance to great nightspots and restaurants.

Cons: Don't supply shampoo, not many hangers, walls/ceilings are thin, shower head was hung really really low in the bathroom (had to crouch down to get hair wet).

Overall, if you're looking for a place to crash after a day of skiing, this is the best value in town.

Stayed: January 2006
2  Thank SnowDogVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
dracut, ma
110
Reviewed 9 August 2003

great location with helpful staff. warm and clean environment.
entertainment right across the street, provided you are able to walk in a straight line

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.3 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#5 of 13 in Killington
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#3 of 13 in Killington
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge & Resort
Summit Lodge & Resort
#2 of 13 in Killington
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Bear Motel

Address: 1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9729
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range: £53 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Happy Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Bear Hotel Killington
Happy Bear Motel Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing