We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and quite place with excellent view”
Review of Happy Bear Motel

Happy Bear Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Bear Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, clean and quite place with excellent view”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Very nice, clean and quite place. It has excellent view. Very friendly staff. VERY reasonably priced for being in a prime location. The location is excellent with ski slopes very near by and eating place right across the street. I went there with my wife and 7 month old son. We stayed there for 4 days and had a great time. HIGHLY recommend this one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhagatP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    16
    4
    12
See reviews for
8
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My Husband and I recently spent a week at the Happy Bear Motel and had a wonderful experience. It was our first time visiting Killington and it most definitely won't be our last! The town is beautiful, surrounded by mountains. Don’t mind the name Motel because this is nothing like a cheap motel. Our room was really clean and the bed was actually comfortable. We booked our trip directly by calling the motel and have found both their rates and service to be excellent. We would highly recommend Killington’s Happy Bear Motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Not a Happy Bear … this place is dirty and run down, the kind of place where you wipe your shoes off before leaving to keep the outside clean. Everything was gross ... the walls, floors, bedding, doors … every surface is covered in something. Before staying I checked out the reviews and found some positive and some negative, I believe this is a result of the new ownership. The current owners have only had the place for about a year so anything before that is not valid. The only positive is the location with night life and food across the street … so if you don’t mind sleeping in filth.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killington hotels

NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Room was dirty, stains everywhere, way overpriced for what you get, don't bother to try to get a decent night sleep as you can here everyting going on in other rooms. Stayed there a few years ago, it was alot cleaner! c

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Close to excellent restaurants and nightlife (walking distance). Clean, no frills, courteous staff. Great price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Booking: Their web site is outdated and old fashioned, but not a big deal as many inns are like that. However, if offering an online reservation form, it should be monitored. I submitted a reservation, but never heard anything. I had to phone a couple of days later to make the actual reservation. Perhaps they actually do utilize their online form, but it didn't work for me. Just FYI. The receptionist didn't sound overly warm, which concerned me a bit, and in other circumstances, would have made me choose elsewhere (management read first impressions count big time!).

Location: Awesome! Right on a main road and close to everything you need in the area. We stayed there solely for a show at the Pickle Barrel night club across the street. That place was a blast also, highly suggest a stop there and at the bar/restaurant called "Jax". We really enjoyed spending time there.

Rooms: Put it this way, I was waiting for Mr. Roper to come up and check on us. I think his tv was more modern ;-) Basically, rooms are dated circa 1970.

They have no smoking policy, and given its a ski resort area, and carpets often get wet, there was NOT a musty or smoky smell in the rooms. So although the room felt a bit dank, it didn't smell like it. There were benches and ash trays out side the rooms.

Rooms were clean, and relatively quiet considering the age of the building. TV worked. Room was quite large. Weird thing though, big closet, but NO hangars in the room. Maybe it was just our room. We only stayed one night, so didn't bother tracking any down.

Building: Its an older 2 storey motel, not atypical. Plenty of parking room, no charge. Not the Fort Knox however. The old fashioned key / doors could easily be broken into (in my opinion). So we left the TV and lights on while gone out.

Value: Price was reasonable (~$100) mid week given its location and demand. If you're a non-pretentious young snow boarder and want somewhere decent to crash with your buddies and have some fun, this place is for you.

Anyone looking for cute place to stay in a cozy Vermont get-away, may want to look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Outdated decor (suggest a ski/mountain theme!); outdated locks (add deadbolts!)
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bmancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

The Happy Bear is a quality lodging facility considering the price, It' isn't fancy or super-modern, but everything in our room was very clean. Would I stay here on a romantic getaway with my wife? No. But it was great for weekend getaway with one of the guys.

The owners, who work the front desk, are very nice also,

  • Liked — The low price
  • Disliked — It's a motel after all
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dactile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
1.3 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#8 of 13 in Killington
133 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#11 of 13 in Killington
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Bear Motel

Property: Happy Bear Motel
Address: 1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9729
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Happy Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Bear Hotel Killington
Happy Bear Motel Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing