We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going strong second time around.”
Review of Chalet Killington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet Killington
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were able to book a room due to a cancellation March 7th. We considered ourselves lucky for winging accommodations on the drive up from DC...9 hours in good traffic. We called and landed the 3rd floor room with a view...a nice view of the mountains I might add...great while sipping a beer after a day of skiing (a small fridge is provided).

You know what you get when you stay at the Chalet. Yes, it is older and dated...but basic and clean...beds were made and fresh towels supplied...not a bad price including a hot breakfast to order...including fresh coffee, bagels, muffins and toast. The staff were courteous, informative and helpful.

For those that just want a place to stay while skiing...the Chalet offers great access to the slopes and parking...also walking distance to two bar type pizza restaurants.

I could go on and list some shortcomings but knowing what the Chalet has to offer for the price...it is hard to pass up.

Room Tip: Chalet Killington offers accommodations for people with pets...I am not sure if select rooms are set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceancrest67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with two teenagers for a week both kids had their own queen bed and a king in our own room minus a door for us. Very comfortable with heated pool and indoor hot tub. Great breakfasts included. This is an older lodge not brand new. If you want the 5 star look and feel don't come here. If you want to have fun and feel country living then this is the place. Our room also had two flat screen tv's Will return again

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were lucky to find this place at the last minute on our recent stay at Killington. I booked over the phone and paid in full for one night, and we checked in at midnight the same day and our keys and receipt were left on the check in counter for us. We had our small dog with us so this pet-friendly place was one of our only options. Room had 1 queen bed and 2 singles, plenty of room. Furnishings and linens were old and questionable looking. But of course there was a flat screen TV. My bed was terribly uncomfortable and squeaked all night long, I really could not sleep. Breakfast was included and it was very good. Other than that, I could not wait to get out of there. For $150 on a Wed night it really was no great bargain.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SunNFunNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were back at Chalet Killington three years after our last visit and couldn't be happier!!

Let's face it, you aren't going to the mountains to spend time in your room, you are going to hit the mountain and get in some great runs. This place isn't fancy, it isn't supposed to be. I give it 5 stars because it is 100% of what it should be, a friendly, clean place that is great for dogs and close to the mountain. If it was supposed to be the Ritz in London it would get 1 star.

The staff are friendly and will walk your dog while you hit the slopes. The whole place has a casual and welcoming feel to it. The drive to the base of the mountain is less than five minutes, but they also have a free shuttle. The attached restaurant serves good Mexican food at decent prices. The included hot breakfast was made to order, fresh, hot and delicious!! A big plate of eggs, sausage and pancakes washed down with hot coffee is perfect before you go shred the mountain.

Be warned, this place isn't fancy. Things are a little rough around the edges and no frills. Bring your own shampoo and hair dryer. You didn't really want to use hotel toiletries anyway did you?

What you will find is a place that is clean, run by friendly people that is minutes away from the Beast of the East. Your dog will be welcome and taken good care of while you ski. In the evening, don't be surprised to find dogs, kids and adults around the fireplace having fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelnScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We visited Killington without a place to stay. As we drove past many accommodation choices and searched for pricing information online, Chalet Killington looked appealing from the street and had a great price. We were already past those accommodations and walked into different lodgings where we got an aggressive sales pitch, a high quoted rate, and some anger at walking away.

It was a breath of fresh air to walk into Chalet Killington, be greeted with a smile, gather some helpful tips, and enjoy a great deal for the area. Yes, the rooms aren't super-modern and there is definitely a "roadside motel" vibe to the accommodations, but the beds are comfortable, the showers hot, the hot tub a nice place to unwind and chat with others, etc. As someone who would prefer to be out in the community/in nature, I'm not looking for accommodations that I won't want to leave.

And the breakfast (which is included!) is hot and delicious. We had blueberry pancakes both days and they were whipped up especially for us. Others were eating eggs and french toast, plus there was a selection of bagels, muffins and juices.

With a great location, a fantastic breakfast, charming staff... I highly recommend Chalet Killington!

Room Tip: Our room was at the far end from the bar/restaurant which I can imagine on a busy weekend could get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelrenee_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have been going to the Chalet every year for the last 5 years. My friend highly recommended that we stay there for our group trip since he enjoyed it so much the previous year. The last couple of years I started to do two trips a year to Chalet Killington. One trip with my girlfriend and then another trip with some friends of mine for a guys weekend. The owner Dave is so friendly and very helpful while you are there. Dave's son works in the restaurant in the morning and is very nice while providing the complimentary breakfast. The complementary breakfast is awesome no matter what you get (pancakes, eggs, and etc). Baja Burrito is the restaurant inside the Chalet and its our favorite place to hangout and relax after a long day of snowboarding. I didn't see Norm this year, but Norm and Brandon are great bartenders and they are very friendly as well. You have to try the Goombay -- they're amazing. The food is great at Baja and reasonably priced. If you decide to order a burrito during happy hour they are half off which is a great deal. I met Wishbone for the first time this year when we checked in after getting there late at night. He was very friendly and helpful. The place just makes you feel like you're at home, whether you are hanging out in Baja Burrito, relaxing in the living room area with the couches and fireplace watching tv, or enjoying the hot tub/pool area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We recently stayed for a few days for a ski trip to Killington mountain. I read the reviews here and thought it would be a great place to book. I made sure to look at the pictures people posted, and it seemed clean. The room I had received was so run down, the mini fridge was gross with stains all over it, the ceiling had brown spots everywhere. Breakfast was good, just like everyone else said. The beds were so old, that even after a long day of skiing, it was hard to sleep. Place also smells strange. People who worked there were extremely friendly. Would never return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
0.5 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#5 of 13 in Killington
136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Greenbrier Inn
Greenbrier Inn
#7 of 14 in Killington
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
215 reviews
2 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Killington

Address: 2685 Killington Rd, P.O. Box 144, Killington, VT 05751-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Killington
Price Range: £64 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chalet Killington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Killington is located on the Killington road about 1 mile from the lifts. Each room includes a private bath, cable tv, wireless internet and daily housekeeping. Also enjoy our lounge, restaurant, hot tub, sauna, outdoor heated pool and game room. We offer free slope-side shuttle from December to April. Be sure to bring your dog along, we are Pet Friendly!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chalet Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Killington Hotel Killington
Chalet Killington Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing