We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definately be back”
Review of Snowed Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Snowed Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
N Ireland
1 review
“We will definately be back”
Reviewed 29 January 2008

The Breen Family, N Ireland. We stayed in the Inn over New Year in the 2 bedroomed suite . There were 8 of us altogether- 4 adults and 4 teenagers and we had ample room in the very spacious suite. Jim was most hospitable and his home made cookies and spiced cider after a hard day on the slopes went down a treat. The outdoor tub also went down well and Jim was always on hand to advise. We ate out at Caseys Caboose which is just a short walk at the bottom of our road and had very good food. If you have to wait for a table, the bar is also great. and they give you popcorn while waiting We also ate at the Woobly barn , which is walkable and it was also great but you need to go hungry as the portions are big and the price includes soup & salads . We had excellent chinese and pizza takeaways which was delivered right up to our suite. There is also a very well organised launderette Scrub a dub pub- and yes it does have a pub upstairs so you can have a drink while waiting on your washing/ tumble drying. Jim organised our ski package and got this at a reduced rate. All in all- an exceptional holiday and excellent accomodation. We will be back

  • Liked — The wood burning stove, and relaxed friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    48
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
47
93
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

My wife and I were looking for a week long getaway somewhere other than a typical cruise or tropical vacation. I had not been on ski's for seven years and my wife had not ever been on ski's. We booked our lodging at the Snowed Inn through the Killington website. The Snowed Inn exceeded our expectations!

We were warmly greeted by thier staff and resident guard dog upon arrival. I have read some complainats about the breakfasts's. Expect continental, (waffles, danish, cereal, muffins, coffee cake, juice, coffee, etc.) and if you want more, go elsewhere. It was very satisfying for the both of us for our stay.

Our room was cozy and decorated tastefully. The cleanliness was second to none. The wi-fi was tempermental on the first day but was resolved by the second. I would eat at Casey's Caboose, a short walk from the Inn, I had simply the best steak ever!

Simply put, the resort and the Inn, exceeded our expectations. We are both looking forward to planning our next trip to Killington.

  • Liked — Cozyness
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmoore76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

The outside of the Inn is beautiful, but as for the inside, what you see on the web is much better than what we saw in person. It felt more like a hotel than a B&B. When we arrived, we were not shown to our room and had a hard time finding it. We thought the hallway to our room was an exit, and it could have been. The room was freezing and had No character. We felt like we were staying in a bad apartment. As for breakfast, there were some muffins and dole fruit. Again, not what I would expect from a B&B. The only good part about the experience was the dog that greeted us at breakfast. Thankfully we did not pay a lot for the stay but in the future I would rather pay more and get a better experince.

  • Liked — the dog and the price.
  • Disliked — the room, breakfast and hospitality
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HLCChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell,ma.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

The Snowed Inn was very beautiful. The room we stayed in had a fireplace and a jaquzzi bathtub. It was very clean and looked newly refurbished. Jim was our host and he was very accomadating,he let us know of a few places to go.The breakfast side of the B&B was like something they would serve in a hospital cafeteria vending machine. If all you are serving is basic continental breakfast try fresh, not dole brand canned fruit . Maybe have some fresh pastry, english muffins, bagels etc. There is a amazing bakery just up the road that could supply you. Trust me for all the money a customer is paying to stay there cutting cost on the food you offer will not help you in the long road against your competition. Let's also mention that a much needed
improvement in the quality of coffee would be appriciated,might
I suggest Green Mountain since you are in Vermont . If these
improvements are made my wife and I will return . Chef Bill from Boston.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank breil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2007

My wife and I decided to take our summer break in Vermont to get away from the usual beach crowds. We had been recommended to try the Snowed Inn by friends who had stayed here in the winter. We were very glad that we found out about this place because our experience was excellent. Even with the lack of snow, the inn is in a beautiful location completely surrounded by trees. Our room was perfect, very comfortable and clean, plus the jacuzzi was an added bonus. We met both owners who were very welcoming and really made us feel very appreciated, they even gave us some great tips about things to do nearby (hiking at Pico, kayaking on Kent Pond etc.). Overall I'd definitely recommend a visit here during any season, my wife and I are even planning on returning here in fall. This is the ideal place for people looking for a relaxing and comfortable stay away from the crowded hotels typical of mountain resotrs AND at a great price!

  • Liked — Location, Amenities and Owners!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank THiggins75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Snowed Inn this past January and we loved everything about it. We came in very late as we had to drive in from NYC, but the manager left our key at the front desk and we had no problems checking in the next morning. This was my first time skiing and staying in a beautiful New England town whereas my boyfriend is an outstanding skier. The Snowed Inn fit us both perfectly. We stayed in the room with the fireplace and queen bed and it was just perfect. We woke up to snow falling outside our window and we even took a dip in the hot tub outside even though it was below freezing. Once you were in the hot tub, you could not tell. The hot apple cider and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies were just icing on the cake! We are absolutely going to stay here again and I would recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliej13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Our party of 8 turned up late evening from an international flight, and felt as though we were inconveniening the owners/manager. It took an age to get some service at the front desk, and although we cleary stated on the form that we had children with us (2 kids aged 6 & 8), it was fairly obvious that this was not their preferred type of client. We were very quickly advised that an upgrade to a suite away from the main rooms nearer reception would be a good idea, and although this turned out better for us, we couldn't help feel as though it was being done to move us away from the main hotel area (and to charge us a lot more for the room).

Once we did move, I must say that the suite was very nice .. open fireplace, plenty of room, separate bedroom for the kids. But at over $300 per night, it needs to be.

In the hotel, the jacuzzi in deep snow was a real treat after a hard day on the slope, but again the children were made to feel unwelcome.

Breakfast was "average".

A nice place, good boot room, but the Snowed Inn could not work out whether it was a "quaint Inn" or a "small hotel". In the end, it fell between the two. It promotes itself as quaint and homely, but has the impersonal approach of a hotel business that in the end, made us feel like unwelcome guests rather than paying customers.

By all means go there as a couple for a romantic time away, but do not go with kids.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi in the Snow
  • Disliked — Unfriendly welcome and uncaring staff
  • Stayed March 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank secret_Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.0 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#8 of 13 in Killington
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birch Ridge Inn
Birch Ridge Inn
#2 of 14 in Killington
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowed Inn

Property: Snowed Inn
Address: 104 Miller Brook Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9603
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snowed Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Snowed Inn in Killington, Vermont, is a family-owned and operated small hotel-style inn with a AAA 3-Diamond rating, located only 1.5 miles from the base of Vermont's largest ski and summer resort, Killington Resort. We are tucked away from, but within walking distance of Killington's famous Killington Road and its restaurants, shops and nightlife. [VIEW GOOGLE MAP] We offer: • A variety of updated room types and suites, all with private bath • Two-sided fireplace with living room on one side, breakfast and gathering room on other side • Free wireless throughout the inn • Year-round outdoor hot tub on expansive deck with gazebo (Open 4-9 p.m.) • Complimentary afternoon cookies and beverage • Centrally located refrigerator, microwave, ice machine • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast including delicious homemade baked breads, coffee cakes and muffins, a "make your own" Belgian waffle station with toppings, fresh yogurt with fruit and granola toppings, hard boiled eggs, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Snowed Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowed Hotel Killington
Snowed Inn Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing