We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned!”
Review of Snowed Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Snowed Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We booked a six night stay from 20th – 26th December in a standard room at the Snowed Inn. On arrival we were greeted presently enough by Jim the manager, give a tour of the communal area and all seemed ok. Then we were shown the room, which apparently was the largest std room (as we were staying there for a reasonably long stay). It was grim! A combination of dark brown / mustard decoration in a fairly bare room. To make matters worse the std rooms are situated on a corridor right in between the reception (could here every word that was said) and the ski room which had a large fridge in which we could hear working all the time. Whilst I couldn’t say that the place was dirty or anything like that – we took an instant dislike to the place – to the extent that we were prepared to for go all the money paid to Killington resort (who we booked accommodation and lift passes through) and go to what was our second choice (Inn of the Six Mountains) who would have been more than happy to do us a deal.

What stopped us was some persuasion by the manager to try a different room and give it a chance, which we did. And we did see out the full six nights in the end.

So my advice is:
1: Do not book a standard room here – it is noisy and very dreary – Only go for a suite, but…..
2: Booking a suite makes it too expensive compared to other places around (for example Inn of the Six Mountains – we were put off by the reviews on here, but the two rooms they showed us around which they were prepared to give us for under $700 for the six nights – were much much better value)
3: Don’t expect a hearty breakfast – a coffee and some (very nice) muffins were literally the full extent of it
4: Don’t expect to be that warm – we ended up in a room with a fireplace which was all that kept us from freezing. One night they ran out of oil and we had no heating or hot water – great when it’s like 10F outside! The manager blamed the oil company as they were on auto delivery – which I found odd – I run a car, I think it’s my responsibility to make sure it doesn’t run out of petrol and not the oil companies!

The only good thing about the place, is that it’s probably one of the few places in the ‘resort’ that you can actually walk to a couple of restaurants rather than having to drive up and down the road.

Last but not least – the skiing – 3 perfect powder days made up for everything – not the biggest of resorts, but the skiing was great and there was no one there – lost count of how many times we went down a run and were virtually the only people on it – make sure you go to Pico mountain as well – it was even quieter! Brilliant!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aMid-aSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2008

We found the Snowed Inn via it's website and decided it looked the most modern and well kept of all the inns in Killington, and so we booked it for $200 a night for a queen room with fireplace...

The place is OK, but badly furnished with garage sale castoffs...even in the lobby and dining room. Not a nice atmosphere as compared to the website. The room was small, no closet door. Not even a chair in it to sit in. If you spent any time in the room, you had to sit on the bed.

That could be lived with BUT...

The walls and ceilings are as thin as cardboard and you hear EVERTHING! And the worst, a common fridge and microwave are provided for guests, but these are not in the dining area...no, the innkeeper felt it best to put them in the hallway between several of the rooms. We kept hearing people get beer bottles out of the fridge, and much worse, using the microwave several times an hour up until about 9:30 or so. Thank goodness no one popped popcorn or it would have smelled awful in our room. Put those items in the dining area PLEASE! (Perhaps they are not there because the dining room is by the innkeepers' suite, and it kept HIM up?) Either way, it was like staying in a $200 a night dorm...we even had our own dorm room mini-fridge in the closet that froze everything in it!

The water pressure was very bad. And our bed was barely made. I'm not sure the person doing that knows how to make a bed? It was just kind of thrown together. The towels are tiny and thin. One bar of soap, on small bottle of shampoo...(there is a 10% "service charge" for this service?)

I'm not a complainer, but for the money, you are better off staying a few hundred yards up the road at the Comfort Inn Suites chain. It will be cheaper and clean. The only thing you will miss is the cookies at night.

The innkeeper was friendly. We had no problems there. There was always parking for us. The breakfast was dismal at best. They could at least try to put out something that looks nice, like it took a bit of effort for the rates they charge, rather than a pan-made bread/cake, bagels and cereal. And the same brown bananas...We skipped it both days.

Bottom line, would not stay again. For the money, they need to invest just a little bit more in the place to get me to stay there again...

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Melissa_in_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Me and my husband stayed at this Bed and Breakfast for three nights. We did not feel like it was a real Bed and Breakfast it felt more like a regular hotel. There was no personal touch and the manager was friendly only when the owner was around.
When we arrived, the manager wanted us to sign our bill very fast was unfriendly and we were not shown to our room. Our room had fireplace and jacuzzi it was nice and clean the first night but the bed was not changed since the first night, and jacuzzi tub was not cleaned well. Breakfast was mainly of bagels and self served.
I would not stay at this hotel twice. There are many other nicer places for this price.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weknowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Snowed Inn was exactly what we were looking for. My girlfriend and I stayed in the Studio Suite which is separate from the main lodging and is above a small workout area in what looks like a small, unused garage behind the main building.

The breakfast was nothing spectacular but was more or less what you would expect: cereals, bagels, english muffins, fruit, juices, etc. The outdoor hottub was great, though a bit small and would be a little tight for more than 4 or 5 people.

The manager is very friendly and spent a great deal of time digging out my car after getting stuck in the upper parking lot. The place was very clean and very comfortable. The in-room gas fireplace worked perfectly. I think the only real problem with the room would be that the jets in the large "jacuzzi-style" bathtub weren't working. It's very close to area restaurants and the ski slopes (though not walking distance).

Overall, it was exactly what we were looking for...nothing terribly fancy or upscale (it's a small ski-town afterall) but rather perfectly comfortable and at a proper price.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webberac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

The Snowed Inn is my new favorite of places to stay in Killington. It's clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated (for that rustic cabin feel that doesn't seem outdated and worn), and staffed with friendly faces. They were very accommodating for our late night check-in. The continental breakfast is served at 8 am on the weekdays, 7:30 am on weekends. Expect bagels, English muffins, cereal, bananas, Danish, and assorted fresh-baked goods. On Saturday afternoon, just-baked chocolate chip cookies and cider were served--a nice touch. Best of all, Snowed Inn is just a few minutes' drive from Snowshed and Ramshead and five minutes by foot to the Wobbly. All in all, this would be my first choice when I return to Killington (hopefully soon!)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SommerWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

The Breen Family, N Ireland. We stayed in the Inn over New Year in the 2 bedroomed suite . There were 8 of us altogether- 4 adults and 4 teenagers and we had ample room in the very spacious suite. Jim was most hospitable and his home made cookies and spiced cider after a hard day on the slopes went down a treat. The outdoor tub also went down well and Jim was always on hand to advise. We ate out at Caseys Caboose which is just a short walk at the bottom of our road and had very good food. If you have to wait for a table, the bar is also great. and they give you popcorn while waiting We also ate at the Woobly barn , which is walkable and it was also great but you need to go hungry as the portions are big and the price includes soup & salads . We had excellent chinese and pizza takeaways which was delivered right up to our suite. There is also a very well organised launderette Scrub a dub pub- and yes it does have a pub upstairs so you can have a drink while waiting on your washing/ tumble drying. Jim organised our ski package and got this at a reduced rate. All in all- an exceptional holiday and excellent accomodation. We will be back

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huggybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

My wife and I were looking for a week long getaway somewhere other than a typical cruise or tropical vacation. I had not been on ski's for seven years and my wife had not ever been on ski's. We booked our lodging at the Snowed Inn through the Killington website. The Snowed Inn exceeded our expectations!

We were warmly greeted by thier staff and resident guard dog upon arrival. I have read some complainats about the breakfasts's. Expect continental, (waffles, danish, cereal, muffins, coffee cake, juice, coffee, etc.) and if you want more, go elsewhere. It was very satisfying for the both of us for our stay.

Our room was cozy and decorated tastefully. The cleanliness was second to none. The wi-fi was tempermental on the first day but was resolved by the second. I would eat at Casey's Caboose, a short walk from the Inn, I had simply the best steak ever!

Simply put, the resort and the Inn, exceeded our expectations. We are both looking forward to planning our next trip to Killington.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mdmoore76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
1 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#5 of 13 in Killington
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Greenbrier Inn
Greenbrier Inn
#7 of 14 in Killington
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Summit Lodge & Resort
Summit Lodge & Resort
#2 of 13 in Killington
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowed Inn

Address: 104 Miller Brook Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9603
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range: £87 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snowed Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Snowed Inn in Killington, Vermont, is a family-owned and operated small hotel-style inn with a AAA 3-Diamond rating, located only 1.5 miles from the base of Vermont's largest ski and summer resort, Killington Resort. We are tucked away from, but within walking distance of Killington's famous Killington Road and its restaurants, shops and nightlife. [VIEW GOOGLE MAP] We offer: • A variety of updated room types and suites, all with private bath • Two-sided fireplace with living room on one side, breakfast and gathering room on other side • Free wireless throughout the inn • Year-round outdoor hot tub on expansive deck with gazebo (Open 4-9 p.m.) • Complimentary afternoon cookies and beverage • Centrally located refrigerator, microwave, ice machine • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast including delicious homemade baked breads, coffee cakes and muffins, a "make your own" Belgian waffle station with toppings, fresh yogurt with fruit and granola toppings, hard boiled eggs, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Snowed Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowed Hotel Killington
Snowed Inn Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing