We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great secret spot”
Review of Snowdon Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snowdon Chalet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a find. Thanks to raving reviews from TA, my son and I stayed Friday night before heading off to ski. Does it look like it's from the 60's? Yup. But. It's well kept, clean, and the owner is wonderful. Light breakfast was provided which was a perfect start. Will not hesitate to stay here again. Oh, and my son said the beds were the most comfortable he has ever slept in at a hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Goldiefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Snowdon Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband likes to take impromptu trips. So, last weekend we drove to the Vermont Country Store; it's a 4-5 hour car trip. We had no idea what was in the area and had no hotel reservations. The Snowdon Motel was recommended to us by a local restaurant owner; he had heard good reviews from his customers.

The first thing we look for is cleanliness. This place was very clean! The motel is a little bit older, but this in no way affected our stay. Shower was great and the bed was comfortable.

There is a continental breakfast in the office. They serve: coffee,hard boiled eggs, cereal, English muffins, juice, milk, etc.

The owner is very personable and so interesting to talk with. He told us of his hydroponic gardening. We are considering a return trip in the summer just to see the gardens in full bloom and to try some of the vegetables.

If you ski, this seems like a perfect place to stay. According to the GPS, there were at least 6 ski areas within just a few miles.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank OccasionalTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were worried when we pulled up to this location. Dirt drive and parking lot. Motel looked straight from the 1960's.
Upon closer inspection, everything was newly painted and clean. The motel has obviously been taken care of. Just because something is old doesn't mean its bad.
The motel room was also from the 60's, with old furniture, odd colors, etc. But, again, CLEAN!
The heat didn't regulate, you had to manually turn it off/on. The linens were clean, crisp and white.
We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m98cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We chose this motel as it was close to Lowell Lake State Park and Bromley, where we had some summer adventures planned. The owner was friendly, personable, and obviously takes pride in his establishment, as well as the lovely traditional and hydroponic gardens he and his wife are cultivating on the property. We appreciated the fridge and microwave in room, and the non-sugary cold cereals available for breakfast. Little did we realize that after a theft of some of our property from the lake, the owner's kindness would be so helpful, as he let us overstay checkout time (and even offered us a free night we did not end up needing) to deal with the issue, and his friend who is visiting even lent us a car as our keys were taken. Our family was so grateful for the hospitality. You can choose to interact or not with the owner, as he respects your privacy, but please know that he is a very generous human being and interested in guests enjoying their stays and being well taken care of. We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are nonsmoking and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

This place was the closest to where we needed to stay. My husband found this hotel on orbitz and we were impressed by all the glowing reviews. We also had a little interaction with the owner and found him to be very nice.
I'm going to agree with one of the other reviewers when I say the hotel was very dated. It wasn't a "retro" look. It was just old. The bathroom area was very clean and so were the sheets. Nothing was out of place, but the area rug was clearly stained, they cut off the bottom half of the curtains and covered a chair with the fabric, but didn't hem the curtains! One of the tiles at the inside entrance was loose and the light fixtures and shelf in the bathroom were rusted. I'm not sure what view other people were talking about, we had trash stacked outside our window.
The price was very reasonable, so in some ways I don't want to sound like I'm being negative. Just wanted people to know the price will certainly be commensurate with the amenities and interior.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lips31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were able to check-in at 3am. The owner is extremely personable and friendly. The room was a little old-fashioned, but clean and had every commodity we needed: TV, fridge, air conditioner. The yard outside is vast and has chairs which are perfect for sipping your morning cup of coffee! We came for Wanderlust Festival and so did most of the hotel visitors. It was just a perfect retreat from the noise and calamity of city life!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaK41707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed for a ski weekend to take advantage of the motel's excellent location relative to Magic, Bromley and Stratton, and it certainly didn't disappoint there. Just a five-minute drive to Magic, and about 15-20 minutes for the other two is more than enough to lure me back.

But, aside from the location, there was nothing outside of your standard motel offerings. The bed was fine, shower was sufficient, the heat worked nicely and the place was clean. There's also a little spread of coffee, donuts, etc. each morning. But there was nothing about the accommodations that jumped out and "wowed" me.

I've stayed in cheaper motels near New England/New York ski areas and had similar experiences to this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceberg174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
9.2 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
337 reviews
15.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
270 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
12.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowdon Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowdon Chalet

Address: 4071 VT Rte 11, Londonderry, VT 05148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Price Range: £71 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Snowdon Chalet 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowdon Chalet offers affordable retro lodging in the heart of the "Golden Triangle" of southern Vermont's ski areas including Magic, Bromley and Stratton and Okemo. This Alpine Chalet style motel offers simple accommodations in 12 guest rooms, each with private baths and large windows overlooking Vermont woodlands. Located off Route 11 in Londonderry, means easy access to all your year-round Vermont adventures! Snowdon Chalet located in Londonderry, Vermont, has panoramic views of Glebe Mountain AKA Magic Mountain as our backdrop in the middle of the Taconic Mountains and the Green Mountains. Guests eager to get close to nature will appreciate Snowdon Chalet's park-like setting on 5 acres, with several lakes nearby including Lowell Lake State Park. Snowdon Chalet Features: Air Conditioning, an Energy Star 32 inch Flatscreen Cable TV, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave, an ensuite bathroom with eco-friendly toiletries, recycling bin, along with retro charm and large windows overlooking the Vermont woodlands. *The Budget Room (#9) is a small guest room without a/c or large windows, no view. Complimentary Continental Breakfast from 7am - 9am in the office/breakfast nook area. A light breakfast, consisting of coffee, tea and baked goods with butter and jam. BBQ Grill and picnic tables (in the summer & fall months) Covered terrace area with seating area Upstairs rooms have a large shared balcony to enjoy. Things to Do nearby: Magic Mountain Ski Area, Stratton Ski Resort, Bromley Ski Resort, Okemo Ski Resort, (each ski resort has tons of activities all summer long) Mountain CommUnity Yoga, Lasser Ceramics, The Weston Playhouse, The Vermont Country Store, The Weston Priory, Waterwheel House Quilt Shop, Lowell Lake State Park, Jamaica Cottage Shop (they build tiny homes and more), local Farmer's Markets, Taylor Farm, horseback riding, Tater Hill Golf Course, Green Mountain National Forest, Hapgood Pond and Emerald Lake (swimming summer months) and Mount Equinox Skyline Drive. Viking Nordic Center is one of the oldest cross-country ski centers in North America which is just down the road from us. Wild Wings Ski Touring Center located in Peru. Nearby restaurants: The Garden Cafe & Gallery, The New American Grill, Jake’s Restaurant and Tavern, The Maple Leaf Diner (breakfast & lunch), Grandma Miller’s Pies, The Mill (winter only) The Red Slate Restaurant, SoLo Farm to Table, JJ Hapgood General Store and Eatery and Bromley Market a full-Service Gourmet Deli with BBQ Smoker/Wood Fried Pizzas and amazing Maple Creemees in the summer! Towns Nearby: Weston, Windham, Jamaica, Peru, Manchester, Ludlow , Chester and Grafton. The village of Londonderry is 2 miles away with a small grocery store, pharmacy store, liquor store and 2 gas stations. Along with a few restaurants listed above. Please keep in mind this is rural Vermont and they close by 9pm usually. Gas stations are earlier. Please plan accordingly. Cell phone service is spotty at best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Snowdon Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowdon Chalet Londonderry, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing