We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Blue Gentian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Gentian Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Londonderry B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've been visiting the Blue Gentian Lodge several times a year since it was first reopened by the current owners many years back. After spending another wonderful long weekend there this past weekend I thought I'd share this spot with others. This area of Vermont truly does feel like home away from home to me and The Blue Gentian Lodge always welcomes me. It does depend on what you are looking for. The Blue Gentian is a spot where I can truly relax while enjoying the quiet and the mountain views. It is always pleasant to wake up early and take a walk up the mountain and around the loop surrounding the lodge. There are many attractions in the area, such as biking, antiquing, exploring local art galleries, and shopping for unique treasures. Lisa and Ken always make us aware of local events and point us in the right direction. I especially appreciate their commitment to things like recycling and conservation of water. It is a reminder that they love and respect the beautiful state of Vermont.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. Let the inn keepers know ahead of time who you are traveling with and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONTHEG024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We purchased a deal off of Amazon for a 2 night stay at Blue Gentian and 2 full day passes to TimberQuest Adventure Park. We had a perfect little getaway. The Blue Gentian was a clean and cozy place. It was nothing upscale- an antique feel inside. We did not expect too much, but were pleasantly surprised with the clean room, daily maid service, and filling homemade breakfast. There was a little rec room downstairs with a ping pong table as well as an outdoor pool. Smaller pond across the street-good scenery. We were able to walk right up to TimberQuest and had an awesome day! Not a very active town- but we had a good dinner at The New American Grill and spent an afternoon out in Manchester, VT. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room which was fine for us. Not sure how noisy it was for the people below us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Blue Gentian Lodge is truly a gem, located in the heart of southern Vermont, and within close proximity to most of the best outdoor recreational centers in the area. Located at the base of the Magic Mountain Ski Area in Londonderry, VT, it is an easy drive to the Stratton, Bromley, Okemo, and Mt. Snow ski areas, as well as the Viking and Wild Wings nordic ski centers (and the Catamount trail).

The VT Country Store is only about 8 miles north, and Manchester Center is about 15 miles west.

The Lodge is comfortable, clean, and well kept, and guests are made to feel welcome right away by owners Ken and Lisa. The rooms are nicely maintained, clean, and of a reasonable size with comfortable beds. Plenty of storage space too. There is a common area with HDTV, fireplace, and plenty of cozy furniture to relax after a long day of activities.

Breakfast is included, and Ken and Lisa serve up some delicious offerings, from omelettes to waffles, homemade jams, hot cereal, and plenty more. And the room rates are quite reasonable compared to most in the area. Check their website for current rates.

We typically visit the region several times throughout the year, and have found the Blue Gentian Lodge to strike the perfect balance between price and value, providing a friendly, welcoming atmosphere, cleanliness and comfort, delicious breakfast, and a central location to southern VTs various attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ski421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Over the years I have stayed at a number of hotels in the Manchester/Londonderry area and eventually happened upon the Blue Gentian Lodge. I wish I'd found it sooner! The Blue Gentian is now where I prefer to stay when in the area and I have been a guest there many times. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean and comfortable. The sitting and dining areas are homey and pleasant and the owners are very nice, friendly and helpful. The included breakfasts are varied and delicious. The lodge is convenient to skiing at Bromley, Stratton, Okemo and Magic, and to hiking on the Appalachian and Long trails.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed at the Blue Gentian Lodge for a weekend of snowboarding at Magic. The hosts were very friendly, the room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast and the outdoor hot tub were the icing on the cake! This is my new spot when riding at Magic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knuckledrager40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

A group of us rented rooms at this lodge for 2 nights and we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and clean. The lodge itself is comfortable and warm, especially with the fireplace. The hosts went out of their way to accommodate our needs - like searching for my wallet that I misplaced. They served our entire group two fantastic breakfasts and two dinners. And it was all incredibly affordable. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb4261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for one night as we travelled all of Vermont but will surely be back. The hosts were super nice, and so were the resident cats. Rooms and lodge were very clean and well kept. Great place for a nice authentic country feel, plus a homemade breakfast in the morning. Loved it, and wish I was there longer. The owner also makes very unique art pieces which are gorgeous. Be sure to stop in for a stay, whether you do the ski and stay like we did or just to get away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itmllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
13.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
87 reviews
4.2 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
56 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Weston
The Inn at Weston
#1 of 3 in Weston
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gentian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gentian Lodge

Property: Blue Gentian Lodge
Address: 289 Magic Mtn Access, Londonderry, VT 05148-9794
Region: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Londonderry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gentian Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking distance to Magic Mountain Ski area! This charming 13 room B&B has an outdoor pool and hot tub. Each room has a private bathroom. A hearty complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Nearby Bromley, Stratton, Okemo & Viking Ski areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Gentian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Gentian Lodge Londonderry, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing