We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for breakfast or lunch”
Review of Stoddard's Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stoddard's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ludlow, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great choice for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This place has the best fries in the area- hand cut, delicious. I had the hot turkey sandwich on my first visit, loved it. Came for breakfast several times after that- French toast is great, and they have a bunch of different choices- blueberry, cinnamon raisin, etc. Omelets are good, biscuits and gravy just so-so. It's solid diner style food with friendly service. I know they get local foods when they can, bacon and burger comes from local folks. Try it out, you'll enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a stop for us!”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I are up here often and we always make Stoddards our breakfast stop of choice! Love that it's a local staple! Friendly and down home! The omelettes are fantastic as are the pancakes. The portions are quite large, so go there hungry. A great way to start the day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Islip, New York
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast in July”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stopped here twice in July 2012, Both times for breakfast. Try the Kilebasa and eggs. Great service . Good food. Great price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank wconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“If you're not in a rush, grab basic meal here”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Ate breakfast here. We were not in a hurry to get anywhere, and that's good, because it took 40 minutes for our food to arrive. We sat at the counter in this small, friendly diner. Eggs were fine, pancakes were huge but lacking in flavor (real maple syrup masked the blandness!) Thin coffee, but poured freely. Nice folks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dctrip96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Greasy spoon diner”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Very nice ladies at the grill serving up some greasy grilled foods. The pancake stack was huge and included, of course, real VT maple syrup! Eggs, grilled cheese and such looked very good. Get the hand cut french fries. Stick with the basics and you will be pleased. I mistakenly ordered soup (which was Campbells from a can) and the sweet potato fries (which were frozen from a bag) and the soup was warmed in the microwave. I think you just need to order the right stuff that they do well - like, eggs and fries! Very friendly small inexpensive place. Would go back and order those fries again!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnpotluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stoddard's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing