We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm and cozy dinner spot for a cold winter's night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Tavern

The Mill Tavern
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Londonderry
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A warm and cozy dinner spot for a cold winter's night”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Mill Tavern is a great place to have a warm and cozy meal during ski season. It's the only time they're open. It's an old relic of a place (formerly a working mill, hence the name) profusely decorated with all sorts of antique tools and parephernalia collected by Ed, the owner, who personally presides over the dining room. Best best: big, juicy prime rib dinner served weekends only.
Some reviewers haven't liked this place and had complaints about service. It's Vermont, things move a little slower here. It's also very rustic, which may turn some people off. But it's definitely worth a try if you're looking for an authentic Vermont evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Farrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best steaks ever”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This place is a southern vermont gem if there ever was one. How many fine dining establishments can say they have been in business at the same location for over 45 years? If you like real man food (i.e. huge steaks with heaping portions of mashed potatoes and veggies) served up in a rustic setting in front of a roaring fire, then this is the place for you. If you want salad with tofu, look elsewhere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK ... But management are the spoilers!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Is it the long winter and cold. Maybe it's the invasion of us 'flat landers' from the big city. I know some local folks can get a little chippy. Whatever. But the bottom line is, I recommend proceeding with caution with this place!! ... I don't get it, I really don't.... Last winter my friends and I visited the Mill Tavern and experienced what I will charitably describe as questionable behavior from the owner (so identified). Upon arrival to a half-empty restaurant, we were informed - up front - that the waitstaff was 'tired' and 'overworked' and that we would need to wait at the bar for awhile. Huh? You're kidding, right? But, my friends, this propreitor was indeed completely serious. And refused to back down. Then, one member of our party became so incensed by the unwelcome overture that he immediately insisted we all leave. Now. But cooler heads prevailed. We then spent the next 25 painful minutes making scurrilous eye contact with the aforementioned owner until he finally seated us. There was no apology. It could have been handled better. But, frankly, it ruined the entire dinning experience and the evening for us ... Perhaps I'm not being objective here? So, fast forward to this winter. We visit the Mill Tavern yet again. OK, we thought, last winter was just an aberration. Surely we picked a bad night - bad timing - and things would and should be different this time around. Wrong. The grizzled looking propreitor , in need of a good shave this time, was as agitated and dismissive as if we just questioned the gastronomic integrity of his chef. The attitude again was: "You'll be seated when I say so. If it's the least bit unpleasant, well too bad". So much for that "customer comes first" experience! We finally sat down and after perusing the menu received a volley of "We're out of that... Just sold the last one of those... Sorry they're not available now!" from the waitress. Mercifully, food FINALLY arrived. And it was OK, nothing to scream about. Frankly, it's hard to screw-up a steak. The bill was more than expected, I guess. .... But, my final recommendation, after two patient visits over two years is: Until they get a more benevolent owner why endure the hassle?

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Roughouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very pricey”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

this place needs a good cleaning. We found it to be quite dirty and the food overpriced. The portions were small, the best part of our meal was the bread!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bhonoreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Open 4 months a year, so grab it while you can!”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Ok, we thought this place was closed forever. But it turns out they're only open for ski season. From the first step in the door, we were back in time. The old mill is bedecked with more antique implements than you can shake a stick at. Old signs and bottles and paintings by the owner. The lighting is warm and the fireplaces are warmer.
Very good french onion soup. Crab cake...meh. Scallops and garlic mash with roasted veggies, very good. Done just right.
Wish they had a burger and a few lighter, lower priced things on the menu that would invite more regular visits. It's such a good hang. It's a bit pricey (like most things are in this area) but at least they throw in a salad and nice bread.
At the very least, stop in for a drink and enjoy this place during the few months they're open. It's an ambient treasure.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deliciousworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Mill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing