We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vince (general manager) Makes This Place on Magic Access Rd. Magical!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upper Pass Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Londonderry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Vince is soooooooooo helpful and nice. Your wish is Vince's command. The snow was minimal so we did the tourist thing. We had no idea where to go and Vince advised and we had a super day. The inn is fine and the region has lots to offer. Manchester was super as was President Lincoln's son's estate. We look forward to returning one day and visiting the inn in order to see Vince!

Room Tip: If the place will be full get a room at the far end of the hall just in case there are kids around w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

I just spent 5 days at the Upper Pass Lodge and it was absolutely fantastic! It has the personal touch of a B&B with the perks of a larger hotel including a gourmet restaurant & friendly, comfortable bar. The rooms are great, well kept, clean, comfy beds and free Wi-Fi too!

At the Restaurant, the food is FANTASTIC! Gourmet all the way but at good prices. On top of that they make a point to use locally sourced food, in fact even the cheese was made at a farm just a few miles up the road, a true localvore's delight and quite delicious as the meals are top notch. On top of that one in our party had a special request for dinner that wasn't on the menu, they were happy to make it for him!

The Bar is great as well, cozy, friendly...prepare to meet new friends! The drinks were great and I loved the fact that they serve Vermont made beer, wine & liquor, again keeping it local and it couldn't be better. One of their specialty drinks called the "Moosetipper" was absolutely phenomenal and their version of the classic whiskey sour. It's a must-try!

Rest of the lodge is great, adjacent to the bar is a warm, comfy lounge with sofa's that are most comfortable after a long day skiing in front of a warm fire and plenty of books available to read if you like.

The area is awesome as well, it's a 4 season area for sure. Winter when I stayed the skiing was great. It is just steps from Magic Mountain's base lodge and Bromley and Stratton are within 15 minutes. Of course there's plenty of summer activities as well from canoeing, whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, shopping, alpine slides, zip lines... it goes on, there's a lot to do and this place is perfect in the heart of all the action.

The staff is awesome as well. The place is big enough to have a lot of amenities, but small enough that they know your name. Vince was awesome, quite possibly the best hotel manager I've ever met. They truly care about your stay and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teleskier97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our planned accommodations had to be changed at the last minute, frozen water pipes. Luckily the lodge had room for a large group, on a Friday night, with an event going on at Stratton. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and went out of their way to help.

The room I was in, we had 3, had 2 double beds and a set of bunk beds. The room was average. It was clean but could use some sprucing up. The bunk bed mattresses were very thin, only a few inches think. Might be ok for a child but questionable for an adult. I did sleep on one and it wasn't too bad. No fridge in the room or safe if those are things you look for.

The restaurant was good although service was hit or miss. The manager waited tables as well and was wonderful. Small menu but something for everyone and it was reasonable and tasty.

Can't say enough about the management and how much they helped us out. Wonderful people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had an extra day during our vacation to fill and we decided to travel to the Stratton Mountain area to ensure our daughter could enjoy some snow. We found this hotel on Expedia for a very reasonable rate. For the most part, we planned on just sleeping there. We could not have been more wrong! We were greeted upon arrival by Vince, the General Manager. We was extremely courteous and even did a quick check to insure our room was ready. They have a restaurant on site which had an attractive menu but not really what i would have looked for with our 3 1/2 year old. He suggested The New American Grill in Londonderry as it was more family friendly. That was an excellent suggestion and fit our family perfectly. I would highly recommend that restaurant as well. Upon returning from dinner, there was a great fire in the lounge to relax by and it was agreat gathering point for the guests. We made several friends that night and also discovered that the hotel is pet friendly. Several well behaved canine guests were present and were really a joy to be around. In the morning, at Vince's suggestion, we walked the 100 or so yards to the Magic Mountain Ski Area which was also VERY accommodating when we aked if we could do a little sledding there. We had limited time so lift tickets and lessons were not going to work with our schedule this time. They were very nice and the mountain looked well cared for and popular with families but, no crowded. Definitely a place I would return to to have my daughter learn to ski. Upon returning to the hotel, we were given the time to take a shower and warm up before heading down to the dining room for an Excellent breakfast. So good infact that we almost regretted going to the Grill for dinner. All in all, this was perhaps one of the most pleasant stays we have ever had, and we have been to over 300 cities in 29 countries. The hotel and its amenities are nice and clean but not fancy. What really made this stay was the quality service and management we experienced. In this day and age, it was a joy to get service of that level and the staff truely worked to help us have the vacation of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham33037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a small lodge at magic mountain ski area. We stayed here for two nights in a jaqussi room and traveled in central Vermont. You are only six miles from the Old Vermont country store and a short distance from many home made cheese places. The room was great and the Red Slate restaurant food was excellent. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We will definitely stay again in New Londonderry area and the upper pass lodge will be our choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denandsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Upper Pass Lodge during the areas pre-season and had a wonderful time. It was a great landing spot for exploring the area around Magic Mountain, Bromley Mountain and Lowell Lake. Accommodations were comfortable, and Vince the manager was extremely helpful and generous. Beds are comfy, rooms are clean and adequately spacious. We had a nice deck off of our room and there was a separate small room within our room that our one-year-old slept in that allowed us to hang out after he was down for the night.

The on-site restaurant wasn't open for dinner since we stayed during the week (they plan to be open seven days a week in the near future), but the included breakfast was great -- we really appreciated the local ingredients. Occupancy was low, so the bar wasn't open either, but Vince was more than happy to serve us drinks at our request. They offer only Vermont-made beer, wine and spirits, and it's all awesome. We also really enjoyed hanging out in the lounge -- the sofas and chairs are really cozy and it's the perfect spot to chat up everyone else staying at the lodge.

A picnic lunch was included in our package, which as others have mentioned, was delicious. Portion sizes were quite generous -- what is pictured here was what we got for two people and a young toddler!

We cannot wait to return during ski season or even in the summer! Thanks, Vince!

Room Tip: If you have kids, book a family suite -- they have a separate room with door and bunk bed, and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayneaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. This may not be the Ritz or the upscale ski lodge but what made up for it was the customer service. Vinny was the manager and he just made our trip special. He makes you feel at home and like your family. He goes out of his way to make your trip nice and man foes the guy work hard. I thought he never slept the 3 days we were there. Rooms are a little outdated but clean and fine for a few days. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent. Great omelets and pancakes with real maple syrup and good coffee. Definitely recommend. Ordered room service one night for dinner and waited a while but wow what a delicious burger. If looking for a nice place to stay and enjoy Vermont stay here and say hi to Vinny!!!!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank 3sons314416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
8.6 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
343 reviews
13.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
661 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
38 reviews
4.3 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper Pass Lodge

Address: 420 Magic Mountain Access Road, Londonderry, VT 05148 (Formerly The Lodge Vermont)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Londonderry
Price Range: £36 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Upper Pass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AFFORDABLE & PET-FRIENDLY! Year Round Lodging with onsite Restaurant and Bar at the base of Magic Mountain in Southern Vermont. The Upper Pass Lodge returns slope side affordable lodging and outstanding customer service to one of Southern Vermont's founding ski areas. Whether business, pleasure, or family get-aways bring you here, we know your stay will be perfect. Budget-conscious travelers love our darn comfortable places to hang your hat after the day's big adventures. For those traveling with a crew in tow, we're also a great place for you; where kids can be kids, pets can be well-behaved pets, and everyone is welcome. The Lodge is conveniently located at the base of the Magic Mountain Ski Area. There is nothing like the convenience of staying with us and walking to the lifts (and all year-round things Magic has to offer) at Magic Mountain Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Upper Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Vermont Hotel Londonderry
The Upper Pass Lodge Londonderry, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing