We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee place and then some” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java Baba

Java Baba
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Deer Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Coffee place and then some”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great place for coffee in the morning, or a soup and sandwich for lunch. They never disappoint.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    52
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It could be so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is really the only sandwich place in Ludlow (other than Subway. Ew). The menu is quite extensive, but most sandwiches I have eaten do not taste fresh. The last time I got a turkey sandwich, they turkey seemed stale. My favorite sandwich was the saga bleu (turkey, honey mustard, blue cheese), but I don't get it anymore because of the turkey. They recently started serving pizza, which is actually decent. The coffee and coffee-based drinks are just allright. I feel like the decor needs an update and the restaurant could be better maintained. Often the floor is trashed, the trash bins are full, the carpet is dirty and stained. There aren't many places to choose from in Ludlow, so I end up going here a lot, but I am often disappointed in my experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lcny2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sandwiches to Go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Upon Suggestion of Michael from the Andrei Rose Inn in Ludlow, Vt we picked up sandwiches for our drive home. Delicious Vermont Turkey sandwich with stuffing and cranberry sauce and what could be wrong with a salami, provolone sandwich? Nothing. We'll be back next visit long before it's time to drive home.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jtontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Breakfast Blues”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went out for breakfast with high hopes - after all Ludlow is in Vermont and there should be plenty of good wholesome breakfast food.The name Java Baba sounded as if it might be the place for something good like freshly made oatmeal. It was well rated on Trip Advisor!!! What did they offer us - a prepackaged container to which milk could be added. I asked for a breakfast menu. The counter server, a surly unfriendly guy, who might be the owner, or should be fired if he isn't, pretended he was shocked. He never gave me one. I asked if they could do cooked breakfasts. Again, seeming to think the question ridiculous, he asked what I wanted. I said; " eggs," to which he replied: " fried or scrambled." I asked if he had vegetables and he replied: "what do you want? We settled on tomatoes.The coffee selections were on a board on the wall and could not be read because they did not have the lights on. When I finally got my double expresso, it was no bigger than a single - We won't be going there again. Poor food and expensive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheersfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Where winter locals head for good, quick coffee and sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

My sister owns a condo at Okemo and is a coffee fiend - this is where she goes. I love the sandwich selection and the fact that you can eat there or get it to go. Easy parking doesn't hurt either. I love the quaint feel of downtown (vs this little vt-style strip mall) but if your goal is "good, fast, go" then head here instead.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolinemasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Java Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing