We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Home”
Review of Combes Family Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Combes Family Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Like Home”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed here on the second night of a one-week solo road trip through New England. Ruth and Bill are awesome! I stayed in the main house and opted for the family-style dinner which was so yummy! (I really needed some good home cooking after a week in the city.) The grounds are just lovely, and the Inn is a bit off the beaten path, but well worth the trip. I would definitely recommend this spot to anyone traveling in central Vermont. Bill's breakfast was great, too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Combes Family Inn for 2 nights. The inn was welcoming, clean and well located. Breakfast was quite good and Bill, the chef was accomodating. Rooms are nicely kept and have a country feel. Ruth and Bill were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: WE stayed in Room 10. Nice space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hildaandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in the main house and found it to be very homey and comfortable. Ruth and Bill were excellent, sharing their knowledge with us. No complaints and we would stay there again if in the area. If you are reading this, here's a tip...while in the area, be sure to see a Broadway play at the Weston Theater. It's nearby and should not be missed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beach82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at Combes as part of a four day walking tour - thoroughly enoyed our one night stay. Ruth and Bill are great hosts - very interesting to talk to as they have been there for years. Bill makes an awesome breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good sized bathroom, if possible. Ours was very tiny and we found it a bit cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyM876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I am a youth leader at a church in CT and we have brought our youth group kids here at least once a year for a ski trip since 2007. Bill and Ruth are incredibly accommodating, very patient with large groups of middle and high school kids...and they cook the best meals! We have never been dissatisfied with our stay, and strongly recommend this place for both small and large groups. We always feel like we're coming to someone's home rather than a hotel or inn. Very warm and inviting. We will certainly be back again next year! Thank you Ruth and Bill!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Nothing is better than returning from a tiring day of skiiing on the ice, I mean snow, and coming "home" to a warm fire and savory aromas emanating from the kitchen. There's just enough time to have a nice glass of wine with some cheese and conversation before Ruth rings the dinner bell at 7:00 PM. Ahhhh!

We've come here with family and friends for 10 years and have never been disappointed. Colmbes Family Inn is the best place to stay in Ludlow!

It's BYO. There's a refrigerator for guest's use in the living room. Fixings for hot chocolate and tea are always available in the dining room and there's a closet full of board games for the little ones.

The food is great! I love this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towaco, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

A group of 8 of us have been coming to the Combes Family Inn for about 6 years. We had previously lodged at another nearby inn for 15 years until a contract with a bike tour company took precedence and we lost our happy home. The Combes Family Inn welcomed our group with open arms. We alway come on Columbus day weekend and have totally enjoyed our experience here. Ruth & Bill are great hosts and the hospitality is first rate. This is an inn where you feel that you are coming home for a get together in contrast to an inn with a lot of pomp & circumstance. The meals are delicious and are truly examples of great home cooking. There are 10 rooms available with 5 five rooms in the main inn and 5 rooms inn a motel style outbuilding. The 5 rooms in the outbuilding are pet friendly and easier no stair access. The The location is great with easy access to Rt. 100 and Rt. 4. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgalinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
271 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
19.9 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#2 of 7 in Ludlow
118 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Pettigrew Inn
The Pettigrew Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combes Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combes Family Inn

Property: Combes Family Inn
Address: 953 E Lake Rd, Ludlow, VT 05149-9532
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Combes Family Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Combes Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combes Family Inn Ludlow, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing