We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn to inn walking tour in Vermont first stop”
Review of Combes Family Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Combes Family Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Ruth and Bill Combes are gracious and fun hosts at this inn inLudlow Vermont. The inn itself is very outdated in style but the hospitality is first rate. The rooms are very large and would be perfect for family groups. The inn to inn tour includes dinner as well as breakfast and a snack for the road. The food was delicious, hot, and well presented. The inn is out of town, but it is a good first stop for the walking tour.

Room Tip: There is one room on the ground floor and the rest are upstairs. Because the inn is isolated, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

I am part of a group of friends who started hunting this area over 40 years ago. Every November we return to the Combes family Inn, although none hunt anymore. The friendly atmosphere and accommdations is the reason that we return each year. Ruth and Bill are the greatest host putting up with tall tales of former hunters. The quality and quantity of the delicious food are truly outstanding and Bill's breakfast is a wholesome way to start the day. The kitchen dinning area is the place to share good food and drink with friends. If you are looking for a place to step back from the hustle and bustle of the electronic age, the Combes Family Inn is that placefor you and your family.

Room Tip: For an old New England feeling choose the rooms in the main Inn. Each room is decorated differently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed here on the second night of a one-week solo road trip through New England. Ruth and Bill are awesome! I stayed in the main house and opted for the family-style dinner which was so yummy! (I really needed some good home cooking after a week in the city.) The grounds are just lovely, and the Inn is a bit off the beaten path, but well worth the trip. I would definitely recommend this spot to anyone traveling in central Vermont. Bill's breakfast was great, too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Combes Family Inn for 2 nights. The inn was welcoming, clean and well located. Breakfast was quite good and Bill, the chef was accomodating. Rooms are nicely kept and have a country feel. Ruth and Bill were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: WE stayed in Room 10. Nice space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hildaandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in the main house and found it to be very homey and comfortable. Ruth and Bill were excellent, sharing their knowledge with us. No complaints and we would stay there again if in the area. If you are reading this, here's a tip...while in the area, be sure to see a Broadway play at the Weston Theater. It's nearby and should not be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beach82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at Combes as part of a four day walking tour - thoroughly enoyed our one night stay. Ruth and Bill are great hosts - very interesting to talk to as they have been there for years. Bill makes an awesome breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good sized bathroom, if possible. Ours was very tiny and we found it a bit cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyM876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I am a youth leader at a church in CT and we have brought our youth group kids here at least once a year for a ski trip since 2007. Bill and Ruth are incredibly accommodating, very patient with large groups of middle and high school kids...and they cook the best meals! We have never been dissatisfied with our stay, and strongly recommend this place for both small and large groups. We always feel like we're coming to someone's home rather than a hotel or inn. Very warm and inviting. We will certainly be back again next year! Thank you Ruth and Bill!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abby Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
276 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
3.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
121 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Pettigrew Inn
The Pettigrew Inn
#2 of 7 in Ludlow
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combes Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combes Family Inn

Address: 953 E Lake Rd, Ludlow, VT 05149-9532
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range: £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Combes Family Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Combes Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combes Family Inn Ludlow, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing