We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This mini Vermont Country Store is worth the stop.”

Green Mountain Sugar House
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Ludlow
Attraction details
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This mini Vermont Country Store is worth the stop.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Real local Vermont maple syrup , made on the premises. Try a Maple Creamie ice cream. These are rated the best in Vermont by Vermonters. So many great finds. Store is spotless, products are all high quality and the woman owner makes you feel like family.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    11
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Mass
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Soft Serve Maple Ice Cream -- betcha can't eat just one”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Plenty of places in Vermont have regular maple ice cream--but soft serve? I usually don't like soft-serve but the maple flavor complements the soft-serve texture quite well. I ended up having it 3 times in 2 days. (Don't worry--you can work off the calories by swimming in the lake right in back of the store). I'm not sure what "Peter_Gill" is referring to, but the maple syrup prices are quite competitive. I bought a gallon for literally what 3 pints would have cost at Whole Foods...and it's the dark amber, which is what aficionados prefer

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Avoid at all costs. The Maple Syrup is twice the cost of syrup anywhere else in Vermont. Everything is overpriced. There is nothing there that will make me go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marge & Friends”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were treated very nice and the tour was educational. My group loved the shop. and the free ce cream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of my favorite soft serve ice cream stops”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When ever I am bicycling Route 100, kayaking Lake Pauline or just passing by in the car I never fail to stop and get an maple ice cream cone (sometimes other maple stuff as well). I am impressed by their good taste in what they offer in local Vermont products.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vermontwoodchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Mountain Sugar House also viewed

 

Been to Green Mountain Sugar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing