We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meals and ambiance, excellent service”

Mr. Darcy's Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A hip, modern & clean environment. We serve high quality food for an affordable price. Serving to our local & non local clientele. Our menu has gluten free and vegetarian options as well as comfort foods. Enjoy our wine list, local beers, daily drink specials and our "Burgers".
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good meals and ambiance, excellent service”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I had a late lunch and were looking for light dinner in Ludlow around 7pm on a summer Thursday evening. The parking lot was crowded and we followed a party of six through the entrance into the crowded entry/lounge area. Regardless, we were seated in about three minutes and our waitress, Robin, was immediately at our table greeting us and taking our beverage order.
The menu is somewhat limited, but we were able to find a couple of options that appealed to us: chicken Caesar salad and the chicken quesadilla. We also ordered a side of parmesan truffle fries. The food was tasty and served promptly, my water glass was always full, and the ambience was light and upbeat.
We highly recommend Darcy's Bar & Grill. Be sure to ask for Robin.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodder52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    105
    50
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Vermont
Level Contributor
123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Good - for a burger”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Mr. Darcy's has taken over where others have failed. It has a solid customer base; second home owners and visitors appear to love it. If a great hamburger (with fries galore) is your cup of tea, then definitely try Mr. Darcy's in Ludlow (especially on Tueday when all the hamburger save their prime special are half price). The wait staff if terrific. You'll find it a bit noisy when the dining room is crowded but the atmosphere goes on you. However, if you want a real entree, be forewarned that the resulting food may or may not satisfy your palate. The bar scene is active, small but active and the parking is fine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RalphP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We needed a place to eat but it was only 4pm on a Saturday. We had eaten at Darcy';s last year and were not really impressed but they were opened so we gave it a shot. Everything from prompt seating, wait service and food were way above average for Vermont in the Summer.
This is our fourth summer in Ludlow so we eat out a lot.
We are going back because the pork with chutney was excellent the the primavera was super fresh.
Would give another half star if wine was more reasonable. It seems that this year the average price for a glass of wine in this and many restaurants has gone to 10 bucks for a bottle that retails for $16.
It seems that everyone was ordering water rather them spirits and we may go that route

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank POPA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Parmesan truffle fries”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stopped in for a drink after having dinner at another place. We had the parmesan truffle fries. I am a ketchup lover, but don't use any on these fries! They are worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masstraveler016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nys
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We enjoyed our meal here. Inventive burgers, and good vegetarian choices. My husband loved the pasta primavera. We enjoyed the Parmesan truffle fries. Our server was friendly, and provided excellent service. We will visit again on our next trip to Vermont. The food was reasonably priced with large portions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cedarvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Darcy's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Darcy's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing