We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tips, and need to know” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackson Gore Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jackson Gore Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“tips, and need to know”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

We were a family with 3 adults a 6 yr old and 8 month old and we stayed at Jackson Gore Inn in a 1 bedroom loft. Here is what we encountered with some good and bad and some tips for consideration.

First, when you talk to someone at reservations have them confirm in email. We are a military family and called to verify military discount where on the phone were told the discount would apply to spouse and upon arrival were told the lift ticket discount only applied to the active military person. Two other items told on phone were also NOT acknowledged upon arrival, so get it in writing.

Accommodations were nice and the kitchen was stocked well with the necessary items and included paper towels, garbage bags, and cleaning supplies as well as hair dryers. The room does not come with dryers or a lock box for valuables, but can be checked in at a safety box in lobby and dryers were down the hall on our floor at a cost of $1.50. The rooms could have supplied extra pillows and blankets, and as other review mentions the thermostat is hard to figure out. The other big issue we had was the actual process with check in at 5pm. We arrived at 4:15pm and had called earlier in the day and stated we might arrive between 2 and 3 and asked if we might be able to check in early and here again the lady said it should not be a problem, however they were not letting anyone check in before 5pm as we could see, because as soon as 5pm hit a bunch of people jumped into the line. Accommodations 4 Stars

The lobby area is nice and cozy a found it to be a popular place with people sitting around reading and talking etc around the fire with little mini smore kits to make smores, however the bar had one person working it and hard to get a drink.

My 6 yr old is first time skier and put her in the snow stars program and upon arrival the place was disorganized even for check-in people were waiting and filling the necessary papers. I left my daughter at 8:50 and came back to the building at 10:00am because I had not seen her on the bunny slope and they were still trying to get all the kids ready to go out with a ratio of 1:8, so I pulled my daughter out and very glad I did. The actual ½ day program for training is 10 am to 12 for slope time. We headed to the bunny slope and the good is they have a conveyer that allows the kids just to step on and it carries them a little way up and drops them at a very small slope to the bottom, however the young man working the conveyer apparently hated his job, he kept his hands in his pockets and watched as kids struggled and fell trying to get on the conveyer. His attitude was terrible and could not be more disappointed by what I saw for when the snow stars finally arrived on the slope I witnessed one little girl who had fallen and since the person working the conveyer was not interested did not stop the conveyer and the instructor struggling to help the girl, I did not feel she was in danger, as she was just down, but it was a little disheartening to know he was not paying attention and did not understand why they would have someone working the bunny slope conveyer who did not enjoy working with children. Snow stars program 1 star, would not recommend.

We were fortunate and had a good snow right before our arrival so the conditions were pretty good, however having skied in Colorado and by no means an expert, but would pick Colorado snow hands down as we found the conditions with an icy feel at a lot of places on the mountain. This area is absolutely beautiful and enjoyed the little town of Ludlow, but did not like enough to say I would go back to the Okemo Mountain, unless it was a distance decision. Another tip, if you want to ensure you get a family photo, call the photo people as we went to the photo spots 3 different times without any luck and missed a family photo.

I would like to add we arrived on Jan-2 and probably considered a very busy time and maybe the reason for some of our experiences.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    89
    47
    17
    19
See reviews for
141
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

Luxury missing some important details...at the Jackson Gore Inn
Okemo is a pretty mountain in a pretty little town with all the resort amenties. For hardy skiiers the Mountain is not as big or challenging as White Face in Lake Placid but the resort atmosphere makes it a more luxurious vacation. Actually, the price of everything matches that luxury standard. We rented a Junior one bedroom suite for our family,two college age children and ourselves. We wanted a very comfortable holiday trip that our kids would enjoy and remember.The design of the suite was perfect for us . Each of our children had a queen size bed and we shared a very comfortable Murphy bed. A roll out couch was also available. There were, however, quite a few minor problems the management overlooked even after I had politely and quickly brought them to their attention .

The heat was set very high and the thermostat was impossible to figure out. It was at least 80 the whole time.
We could not enjoy the fireplace as the room was so hot.
The phone did not work.
The lights were missing from the murphy bed.
The main lamp on the side board did not work .
The light over the kitchen table did not work
The garbage disposal did not work.
There were no pillows for the main bedroom.
We had to pull out the refrigerator and plug it in.

None of these issues were addressed for us.We enjoyed the skiing, the skating , the health club. There were many great restaurants in town and the ski shops were very helpful and fun to visit. But I am very disappointed in the Jackson Gore Inn. These problems were simple ones that could have been fixed quickly and I would have become a frequent year round visitor.I had hoped to make this trip an annual family tradition but I am looking for another spot for next year.


Okemo is a pretty mountain in a pretty little town with all the resort amenties. For hardy skiiers the Mountain is not as big or challenging as White Face in Lake Placid but the resort atmoshere makes it a more luxurious vacation. Actually, the price of everything matches that luxury standard. We rented a Junior one bedroom suite for our family,two college age children and ourselves. We wanted a very comfortable holiday trip that our kids would enjoy and remember.The design of the suite was perfect for us . Each of our children had a queen size bed and we shared a very comfortable Murphy bed. A roll out couch was also available. There were, however, quite a few minor problems the management overlooked even after I had politely and quickly brought them to their attention .

The heat was set very high and the thermostat was impossible to figure out. It was at least 80 the whole time.
We could not enjoy the fireplace as the room was so hot.
The phone did not work.
The lights were missing from the murphy bed.
The main lamp on the side board did not work .
The light over the kitchen table did not work
The garbage disposal did not work.
There were no pillows for the main bedroom.
We had to pull out the refrigerator and plug it in.

None of these issues were addressed for us.We enjoyed the skiing, the skating , the health club. There were many great restaurants in town and the ski shops were very helpful and fun to visit. But I am very disappointed in the Jackson Gore Inn. These problems were simple ones that could have been fixed quickly and I would have become a frequent year round visitor.I had hoped to make this trip an annual family tradition but I am looking for another spot for next year.

  • Liked — resort atmosphere
  • Disliked — unfinished details in the suite
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stylematters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2007

we stayed for two nights, returning 12/23. Although the property is newish, 2003, it is showing signs of wear. I think they could do a lot more to improve on this hotel. Easy things like make the outdoor pool hotter, provide bigger pool towels, connect the Spring House to Jackson Gore so you don't have to walk outside. Still for location it is great. Coleman Brook Tavern was just ok. For those going gluten free, there is almost nothing to eat on the menu and the supermarket closest to okemo has nothing gluten free.

  • Liked — location to ski mountain
  • Disliked — bad food, cold pools
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctoradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2007

Stayed at Jackson Gore Inn the first week of January 2007. The Jackson Gore Inn was all that was advertised. Very nice property with very nice accomodations. The fact that it is directly next to the Jackson Gore high speed quad lift makes it very convenient. When we go back to Okemo, we will definitely stay at Jackson Gore Inn again.

Pros:

Very nice property that includes:

Ski in/ski out
Ski check to store skis and poles
Fitness building with indoor pool
Outdoor heated pool
Two outdoor hot tubs
Sauna
Steam Room
Ice skating rink


Cons:

Make sure if you drive into town......drive the posted speed....the local police force is known for pulling over out of staters for only a couple of miles an hour over the speed limit..........and if you go out at night for some drinks.....have designated driver ready.....they park right outside the local hangouts....just looking for somebody to get...........

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UTPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2007

We stayed at Jackson Gore on Columbus Day weekend. As much as we love going there, the service we received wasn't up to par. Examples include: only one bartender was on duty Saturday night with tons of people waiting for drinks. Maid service never showed up one day. The restaurant didn't have enough staff, so diners were pouring their own orange juice for breakfast. It took 25 minutes just to get our check. That being said, everything else about the place is great. However, I think they need to plan accordingly when it comes to 3 day weekends.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2007

My husband and I have just come back from a 4 day stay at Jackson Gore Inn. The hotel was perfect and the room (a suite - with cooker, microwave, pots, pans, frridge/freezer etc) was lovely (ours looked out onto the ski slopes). The facilities were excellent (sitting in the outside hot tub at the end of a day's skiing when the air temperature was -15 looking out onto the mountains was fab). It was more expensive than some of the other options but it was well worth it for the convenience and the quality. We'll definitely be going back!

  • Liked — Convenience to the ski slopes
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2007

My family (2 Adults + 3 Children) just returned from a fantastic stay at the Jackson Gore Inn at Okemo. The resort is ideally located, right on the slopes adjacent to the lifts of the new Jackson Gore area of Okemo. "Walk 200 feet and jump on a chair" close to the slops, no kidding. The resort has everything for a family ski vacation - on-site ski school drop off, day care center, several restaurants, indoor/outdoor heated pool, hot tubs, ice skating rink, you name it they have it.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit which was fine for a family of five since my husband and I stayed in the living room on a pull-down murphy bed (it has a real mattress) and gave our three kids the bedroom which had two queen beds. There were also two full bathrooms so we could shower an army after hitting the slopes. The staff are tremedously friendly, and the valet parking and luggage handling make the arriving and leaving process a real dream.

If you are looking for on-site, no hassel ski vacation for the family, you cannot beat the JacksonGore Inn at Okemo.

  • Liked — Great location and excellent staff and service
  • Disliked — It's not cheap, but you certainly get quality service for the $$$'s
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BonConseil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
4.4 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
1.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
2.1 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
2.1 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.7 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Gore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Gore Inn

Property: Jackson Gore Inn
Address: 111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackson Gore Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Gore Village includes a variety of beautiful, classic and luxurious residences. In addition to the original Jackson Gore Inn, the adjacent Adams House and Bixby House offer larger, more spacious units with the newest furnishings in an ideal setting. Options include standard and executive rooms, studios, one and two-bedroom suites (some with lofts), up to 3-bedroom penthouses. Most units have a jetted tub and all have entertainment centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jackson Gore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Gore Hotel Ludlow
Jackson Gore Inn Ludlow, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing