We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay at Jackson Gore Inn” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackson Gore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jackson Gore Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
New York Mills, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay at Jackson Gore Inn”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had the worst experience at the Jackson Gore Inn by the horrible staff. Our room was not ready by check in time (5 pm). We were traveling with three young children and instead on being apologetic and trying to accommodate us, they were rude and surly. Many of the guests who had arrived by the check in time were being told that their rooms were not ready and there was a line out the door. There were kids running around like crazy and people eating off the floors. It was a total nightmare and looked like a squatter hotel. The place was a mess. This place is so horribly managed. When we complained to the manager Charlie Dickerman, instead of being sympathetic he was also as incompetent as his staff. The entire staff needs to be trained on how to handle customer service as well as to properly run a hotel. We have been to many resorts and I have never seen such incompetence. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place. It is a total nightmare. We finally had to find another place to stay, which was not easy late at night with three young tired kids. Really dirty, poorly run and horrible staff! Jaimie and Diane at the front desk are surly and should not be customer facing because they are rude and incompetent.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank Skifamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okemomountain, Manager at Jackson Gore Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We certainly regret when circumstances prevent us from delivering our rooms on time. In this case…it was Christmas vacation week, with previous occupants very slow to vacate, so we could clean. Equally regrettable are those circumstances when tensions get so high that courtesy suffers…on both sides of the desk. We are sorry for your difficult experience and hope that the rest of your ski trip was enjoyable. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    89
    47
    17
    19
See reviews for
141
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We travelled with a 4 and an 8 year old. Excellent choice with a1 bedroom. There are 2 bath and two large rooms. One is a masterbedroom and the othe one with a queen size bed and bathroom. Super space with many closets. Very clean. We stayed at the 4 th floor with a view toward the mountain. Super nice.
The Inn is nicely position in an U Shape at the bottom of the slope. there is actually only one lift that takes you half way and than you have to take another lift to get it the top. They are high speed so it take about 10 min. The bunny slope is long enough and there is another carpet slightly higher. enough for someone like my son who is learning first moves.
Staff I'd very friendly. Everybody seemed to care to make you feel good.
There are 2 restaurants inside the Inn.
There are 2 pools and a gym.
A roller coaster.
Small arcade room.
Basically enough to make you stay there and not have to leave the Inn for anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me74126500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Adams house on the 2nd floor. Family above liked to run around all night and stomp around the room. Walls are paper thin, had to call security twice to get them to take it easy. On the good side, hot tub is right out the door and used that every day after skiing. If you don't have kids in your group, you might want to stay somewhere else on the mountain or request a top floor unit.
Housekeeping staff was excellent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

If you are ok with having been snapped at and spoken t o in a negative tone then this hotel is ok. The rooms are clean. But if you need help with your luggage you are out of luck. Steps to get into the building (Adams Building), and the bell boy was very nasty and unwilling to help. Our room was not ready till 5. They were not willing to watch our luggage. We had to take our things out of the car, put on our ski gear and then put our luggage back I the car ourselves.
Once our room was ready, we wanted to use the hot tub. Well, good luck with that. There are no signs and whatever hotel employees we bumped into had no clue where it is.
Was hoping to get late checkout being our room was only ready very late. I called the front desk at 8am, and before I could finish my sentence, the girl at the front desk says no late checkout!
No minibar, no safe in the room. Every answer from the front desk is a no. The only plus is that the room is on the large size and fairly new. I guess Okemo is desperate and there are no other hotels to stay at. Nothing here but a decent room and nasty staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shelly5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okemomountain, Manager at Jackson Gore Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I wish I had learned of this while you were on property, I’m very sorry for the poor response you apparently received from our staff. When we are alerted that people are going to arrive to ski earlier than their accommodations will be ready, we advise them to pack a small bag with those items they will need. We do this so that all their luggage need not be dragged out in order to reach those items necessary for the afternoon. We hope to come up with a better solution for individuals, like you, who arrive to ski before their accommodations are available and will continue to work on this. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I really wish that I could have given Jackson Gore a better rating, but in the end, location couldn't make up for everything. And the location is spectacular, the Inn itself as beautiful as the mountains surrounding it. Perhaps I expected a bit too much based on that beautiful picture (and previous reviews).
I booked at Jackson Gore as I was able to get it for a special rate, which was still at the $200 mark. It was a studio room, and while a queen bed was requested, we received a Murphy bed instead. The size of the room was great, very accommodating for the most part and clean (although we had a problem with flies and the dishwasher had never been previously emptied). A full kitchen, fully stocked with kitchenware, etc. Our room was overlooking the outdoor pool, which if it had been summer, would have been a very loud location indeed, but in our case, it wasn't a problem. The most disappointing part of the room was the shower. In this day and age, and considering the finishings in the rest of the Inn, a water conserving shower head can be better than a slow trickle. It took twice as long just to get the shampoo out of your hair, nevermind the soap off the rest of your body, which sort of negates the purpose of said shower head to begin with. The shower also had a mysterious leak, no matter how you closed the shower curtain. As to the fitness room - for a newer property, the exercise equipment was cheap, not to mention this area is located outside of and away from the main resort (the indoor pool is also housed in this building).
The outside area to the Inn is well kept up and the Adventure Zone is a fun place to hang out. We also were able to enjoy the firepit, which warmed up the chilly fall evenings. Only 1 restaurant was open, however (review on that separate), and you were on your own for breakfast.
I can say I've been to Jackson Gore, but in the future will most likely go back to the great family owned properties that are also available around the area. I've been to Vermont more times than I can count, have stayed at numerous places throughout the years, and wish this particular visit at this particular property had lived up to the hype...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kookoosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you have a chance, stay at this resort. We must've been there in the off, off season because it was as if we were the only customers. The unit (suite) was ample, the staff friendly. The kitchen was a disappointment, much too small for 2 people at the same time and the dishes, glasses, cookware and utensils were very dirty. Apparently the staff didn't check them after the last visitors left. We put everything in the dishwasher and cured the problem. We were there for a whole week and because there were plenty of linens and towels, asked for no housekeeping. Typically, the staff comes every day to clean and change towels. This is truly a ski resort and we were there in September/October so, that mostly explains the lack of guests and it also explains the beauty of the area... think mountains, think fall color. Spectacular!

Room Tip: You can buy a room (suite) if you want...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were fortunate to book a room for this past weekend at this lovely resort with nice views. Our room was very clean, roomy and comfortable. The grounds were well kept with a nice outdoor heated pool and firepit for those chilly nights. Staff were all very helpful and welcoming. We unfortunately had to move to another hotel since they were sold out for the other night we needed to stay but we were glad we able to stay at least one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linglingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
4.4 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
1.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
2.1 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
2.1 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.7 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Gore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Gore Inn

Property: Jackson Gore Inn
Address: 111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackson Gore Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Gore Village includes a variety of beautiful, classic and luxurious residences. In addition to the original Jackson Gore Inn, the adjacent Adams House and Bixby House offer larger, more spacious units with the newest furnishings in an ideal setting. Options include standard and executive rooms, studios, one and two-bedroom suites (some with lofts), up to 3-bedroom penthouses. Most units have a jetted tub and all have entertainment centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jackson Gore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Gore Hotel Ludlow
Jackson Gore Inn Ludlow, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing