We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modest Priced Hotel in Ludlow” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Trails Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Trails Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Modest Priced Hotel in Ludlow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

The good - Rooms are spacious and clean with refrigerators but no micro waves. Wifi and about 20 channels of cable are provided. There is a hot tub that is open from 4 to 8 in the afternoon. Ski and stay packages are available for Okemo.

The not so good is that there is absolutly no breakfast or coffee available at the front office. Only a little in room coffee machine had to ride into town every morning to get a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ynapa456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    7
    12
    19
See reviews for
13
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

we had made reservations through orbitz a week in advance and reserved a 3rd bed (folding roll-away). we got there and first said they were booked full and had no reservations made with orbitz.com. then when we showed them our confirmation paper that luckily we brought, we had to wait 3 hours for them to find us a room, and then they said they couldn't give us the 3rd bed. around 10pm they came knocking on the door and gave us the 3rd bed,which was falling apart and useless, i ended up just using the mattress on the ground. other than that it was reasonably priced, close to the mountain, and town, and passable as far as cleanliness. oh and bring an ethernet cord if you want to go online, no wifi, plus we had to reset their router with our computer from our room because they said they had to get someone to fix it, so hopefully you know about computers if u want internet acess.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ludlow hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We have stayed here every time we ski at Okemo over the last 4 years. Good place to stay if you want to ski all day and just need a place to sleep at night. Rooms are relatively clean and very spacious. There was one time that we did not get hot water in the shower but generally the water quality it good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Active_Traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stay at Happy Trails regularly - at least four or five times a year. It is a reasonably-priced option for those of us who want a place to sleep in Ludlow without breaking the bank. We've never experienced the problems other visitors have complained of: our rooms have always been clean and the staff has always been friendly. During ski season, we do occasionally hear other visitors, but that speaks more of the guests' inconsiderate behavior rather than anything over which the owners have control, unless the suggestion is to vet all potential customers, an impossibility for motel staff. We're planning to visit Ludlow again soon, probably April, and we'll be staying at Happy Trails as usual.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shea0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

We keep coming back for the convenience to Okemo ski areas, large comfortable rooms, hot tub and affordable rates.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

I stayed at the Happy Trails motel a few nights ago during an impromptu ski trip with my 11 year old son. We literally made the reservation 2 days in advance and I figured I was lucky to get a reservation anywhere in town at all (it was New Year's weekend).

I can totally see why some people complain about bad service, though I personally was treated decently.

I made the reservation on Expedia and left my credit card number as a deposit. I reserved the room for two nights. When I checked in the receptionist (pretty sure she also owns the place) charged me in advance for the room, even before I walked into it. When I asked whether she was going to charge me in advance for the second night she responded "you can decide in the morning whether you want to stay another night - then we charge you." Wow! Almost like a challenge to stay another night!

Honestly, for our purpose the room turned out OK. The TV was good, the bed was actually comfortable, the room temp was fine, and although the physical structure of the motel was actually laughable in its construction, the room seemed pretty clean. The first night we slept fine. The second night, however, was notable for being awoken at 6 AM to the sounds of lovemaking from next door! My 11 year old son asked me if the people next door were OK - he thought someone was getting murdured. Rather than have a birds-and-bees talk at 6 am, I just told him they must have been sore from skiing and were giving each other massages! Not sure he really bought it.

After skiing the second day we thought to check out the hot tub in the "solarium" but skipped it in the end. Even my son, never reluctant to swim in 60 degree ocean water, said "dad, let's just each take a hot shower". Smart kid!

For a crash pad very near Okemo, the Happy Trails motel can work. However, I'd bring styrofoam earplugs, plan never to walk barefoot in your room, don't bother bringing a bathing suit, and don't expect much. If your expectations are modest, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glubblub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

Me and my teenage daughter spent 2 nights at this motel during a short ski trip. This was probably one of the worst motels I have ever stayed at. The musty smell from the room got into all our clothes. The room had very outdated furniture and the cleanliness of the bathroom was far from perfect. And the price they charge for this shack is outrageous.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.4 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
1.2 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
3.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
0.4 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Trails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Trails Motel

Property: Happy Trails Motel
Address: 321 Route 103 S, Ludlow, VT 05149-9568
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Trails Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Happy Trails Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Trails Hotel Ludlow
Happy Trails Motel Ludlow, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing