We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the worst... but definitely not great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Trails Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Happy Trails Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Pittsford, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not the worst... but definitely not great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2007

We just got back from Vermont. We went for a weekend away and just needed a place to stay for one night. We chose this motel because of the price. It is very basic. One nice thing was that they provided a small refrigerator in the room. Our room had a balcony that was nice also. Other than that, it was simply a hotel room. We do have a complaint about the remote for the TV not working right. And our very anticipated soak in the hot tub never happened because when we got there the hot tub was empty.... of water. So that was disappointing. Luckily, the room had an A/C unit that worked well and kept us cool all night. The bed was comfortable enough, although pretty firm, if you happen to not like that.

I probably would not stay here again. Only because you can probably get better quality at the Best Western in town for not much more money.

  • Liked — lLocation
  • Disliked — cheap appearance of everything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takeme2theCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    7
    12
    19
See reviews for
13
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2007

My friends and I make several ski trips to VT each year. We are laidback, low-maintenance folks who really only look for a clean place to crash at the end of a day's skiing. Our stay here was, without a doubt, the only truly negative experience we've had...no way we'll be heading back here again!

First, the owner/manager was miffed that my friend and I checked in late -- I *did* ask about it/make note of it when I booked the reservation online, but he claimed I didn't. Just before we got on the road, I called to tell him that we would get there as soon as we could but that we *might* actually be a bit later because of the rain/ice/snowstorm; he reprimanded me that we ought to know to leave earlier in anticipation of bad weather. Dude, we'd love to leave earlier in the day, but there's this little thing in the way called WORK. He was not in the least bit understanding and refused to leave a key for us as many other hotels up here will do to accommodate late check-in.

When we got to the room, we discovered absolutely no towels. My friend called down to the desk, and again, we encountered an extremely unfriendly tone. It took five minutes on the phone to get him to bring us some towels. The room was basic but fairly spacious with a good-sized fridge. It was relatively clean -- we were willing to overlook the dead flies by the window and a product cap left on the bathroom floor from a previous guest. The hotel itself wasn't bad, but the nasty reception we received made this our first and LAST visit here. If you're looking for hospitality, keep looking. You won't find it here.

  • Liked — room was decent
  • Disliked — unfriendly owner!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SommerWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsge, Manager at Happy Trails Motel, responded to this review, 25 September 2007
Our Check inn time is before midnight.We understand people get late due to bad weather etc. and we try to accomodate request from our guests if they call us before midnight and give us approximate time of their arrival.But if someone says they will be arriving at 1:00 am and they arrive at 3:00 am then they are not going to get best of the service we normally have.Please make sure you make arrangement beforehand.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ludlow hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2007

I think "Happy Trails" is a good name for this place because after one night here we were very happy to be getting back on the trail. Our experience here was not a good one.

When we first arrived and entered our room, we saw that there was old coffee left in the pot. Apparently, it had been left there since the previous guests, and who knows how long ago that was. Next, we checked out the bathroom and saw that the previous guests' used bar of soap and opened shampoo bottle was left in the tub. I am still wondering whether this an oversight on part of the cleaning staff, or did they actually expect new guests to use what was left of the soap and shampoo?

The bed was horrible. The mattress was lumpy, saggy, and you sunk into a crevasse if you moved too close to the center. Worse yet, the fitted sheet was way too small for the mattress and kept popping off all night long. It was so annoying! Additionally, the walls are apparently super-thin in this hotel and you can hear EVERYTHING the other guests next to you are doing (and visa versa). We had to keep our T.V. on for the entire night just to drown out the sounds of the other guests next to us. Without having the T.V. on in our room, we could hear the other guests' conversations, coughing, laughing, and T.V. And, to top it all off, whenever someone in the next room walked around, the pictures on OUR walls shook! Needless to say, despite being totally exhausted from traveling and skiing a full day, we were unable to sleep in this room.

We would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Close proximity to Okemo Mountain
  • Disliked — The thin walls
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icy_mogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2007

The Happy Trails Motel was conveniently located two miles from Okemo Mountain. It was clean and decently maintained, but their floorboards squeaked with every movement and their walls were paper thin. We had a very hard time falling asleep even though we were exhausted because of the noise easily heard from the other rooms.

  • Liked — Proximity to Okemo Mountain
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls and very squeaky floorboards
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longislandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
240 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2007

This is a basic motel, cheap (compared to it's competition around ludlow), and a mile or two from Okemo's entrance. It is just outside the town of Ludlow. We stayed there because it's one of the VERY few places around ludlow that will let you book for just one night of the weekend during ski season (most other places require friday/saturday stay). The room was very warm and temps easily controlled. Room had a fridge and coffee maker. Plenty of room for all our ski gear (and skis too). If you only need a basic, cheap, and clean motel (with no services like a restaurant) this place is fine. We are used to staying at very nice places (think Fairmonts), but are ski racers and check out by 7 in the morning, and thus just need a room to sleep and nothing else. This was fine for our purpose.

  • Liked — Allows one night booking on weekends during the ski season
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2006

This was the only motel left that we could get a reservation. I had read the review that it wasn't a great place to stay, but figured we would try it since it was the only place left. Our experience was that we had a very enjoyable time. The receptionist was very nice, we had two rooms and both were very clean and we in fact turned on the air as it was quite warm - no problem with heat and we had good hot water to shower with. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Very convenient for sightseeing, also.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2006

I though this was a very comfortable motel for the price with good-sized rooms and lovely views. We certainly didn't have any problems with the heat as the reviewer below did and found the owners friendly.

  • Liked — Very comfortable and good-sized rooms
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.4 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
1.2 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
3.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
0.4 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Trails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Trails Motel

Property: Happy Trails Motel
Address: 321 Route 103 S, Ludlow, VT 05149-9568
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Trails Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Happy Trails Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Trails Hotel Ludlow
Happy Trails Motel Ludlow, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing