We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stemwinder

Stemwinder
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Deep wine list eclectic food choices small and big plates for dining delectable cheese plates seasonal fondue
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

What a joy to stumble upon this wonderful restaurant! We received a warm welcome on a rainy evening, and fell in love with the place immediately. Our food was delicious -- from the corn soup on the specials menu, to the ravioli stuffed with cream cheese and radicchio. I had a flight of white wines that were each a treat to taste! Our waiter was charming and helpful. A truly lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlidaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Co
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I don;t know ,,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The place is new, and nicely done, but noisy,,and it doesn't seat many people at that,
I am not sure of what they are trying to do here. Our experience wasn't great to say the least.
We came just ahead of a party of 11, we hurried to get our order in before they did, but we (2 of us) had to wait an hour to get our food, Not so good, I was ready to eat the tablecloth had there been one,
I was told the portions were "small", I thought Tapas, but not exactly.. the plates are priced as appetizers, and are about the same size, at the end, my wife was still hungry, although she usually always orders just an appetizer ,, bottom line, the wine was fine, but with 2 glasses, 1 salad, and 2 small dishes , i paid $ 77 with tip, and I would say eat at DJ's and have a drink at the bar,, ( which seemed friendly enough) Thats the only way i would probably come back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not what we were hoping for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The menu looked terrific and the place was cute-we had hoped for a new go to spot in Ludlow.
We were disappointed. The food wasn't bad but service was extremely slow. It was a Thursday night and the restaurant didn't seem busy. The wine was bad, the bartender agreed, and the bottle was replaced but the waitress acted as though we were being unreasonable for not drinking corked wine. The topper was that we were overcharged for the wine on the bill . We will try one more time and hope the service had improved. Too bad-a lot of potential

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stopped in for dinner on a summer Friday night without reservations. This is not a big place and I was concerned about getting seated but no problem. It was reasonably busy but not overcrowded. (I don't know how that would work out in ski season). The service was very good. At first they sat us at a table near an air conditioning vent, but when we said something we were immediately moved with a smile and no hassle. The food and wine were very good. They were starting to run out of some choices but there were plenty of choices left. I think the small plate format is fun. The two of us split 4 plates and were full. We were not rushed and overall it was a good choice. Go for it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, Vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hugely delightful "small plates"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful gem tucked away on Depot St! Adorable atmosphere with a cozy bar that faces the kitchen where you can watch the owner - and the rest of the pleasant staff - all work hard to provide the freshly prepared food. I have been here twice - once a ladies dinner where we tried numerous items until full and everything was delicious. We sampled beef sliders, cheese plates, a flatbread, and salad. My recent visit with my husband was different. He has shied away from all tapas/small plate venues because he has an appetite like a horse and no he is not overweight. I got him here with the lure of good beer on tap! He agreed to try an appetizer and we chose a meat and cheese plate. There was a list of items to choose - all VT local. The presentation was wonderful with a variety of local condiments and homemade crisp bread. It was a great way to start our evening. We - yes my husband as well - will be back to plow through more of the menu to make our next experience a complete dinner. My husband liked the very wide selection of food options, the fresh taste of the food, the pairings of the items, and the uniqueness of the options. Wine selection is excellent and dessert looked great although we did not try it. Presentation here is as quality as the food. Value is excellent, and far better than the competition across the street.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Safetydiva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stemwinder also viewed

 

Been to Stemwinder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing