We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean Room, Health Hazard”

Ludlow Colonial Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ludlow
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This room was filthy. When I arrived, I noticed that there were short black hairs in the shower, blood or feces stain on the tub near the toilet. The window AC was CAKED with dust. The decor seemed to be from the 80's or 90's? The standing light in the room did not work. They gave me 2 bottles of shampoo and no conditioner. There was no body lotion either. Perhaps the worst hotel I have ever had to say in. I would have left if I wasn't so exhausted by the time I arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
4  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went to check on a room while passing thru town. Won't recongnize corp discount. Says he is independent from Best Western chain. Very rude. And tells my wife...no bringing in booze from the outside...what???? We are not college students... I really don't know how this guy stays in business. Stay away from this place, not to mention....the rooms are really bad. Btw he wanted 145 a night for a run down trashy room. Plenty of Inns to choose from.

Room Tip: Choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ssheilmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ken is extremely rude and doesn't care at all if he books a room or makes a guest happy. Horrible attitude! Find another place to stay. Advertised free breakfast but didn't have breakfast of any kind. Smelled like it had been closed and not occupied for a long time, so musty. Needs updated. Noise from people above was very loud from them walking.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel/motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank luvwdw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The thing is I never even stayed here. On July 3rd there was an awful storm that knocked out most of the power outside of Main Street; at 10:30 PM we (mine and another family with kids) called the hotel and asked if they had rooms. We were told yes and when we arrived 20 minutes later and rang the office door no one answered. After repeated attempts to call and knock (10 minutes) someone did answer and rudely told us he was closed. The worst part of this was not only was most of the area was out of power, many of the roads on the mountain were blocked due to fallen trees. The proprietor could not have been any ruder and would have left us without a place to stay; fortunately we were able to get another room close by. NEVER give your business to this man or Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As our home is too small to have overnight guests, we try to put them up (at our expense) in clean, comfortable accommodations. We normally use a hotel up the road which is excellent. As these guests requested being within walking distance to the village of Ludlow, we decided to give this motel a try. About 8-10 years ago, this motel was included in a promotional series of Best Western TV commercials so we figured it would be a good choice. NOT SO. This motel has gone the way of so many and now has East Indians running it which in itself should not be an issue; however, at the risk of sounding terribly politically incorrect, I need to step up and call it the way it unfortunately is. Their standard of hospitality and cleanliness is a victim of their own culture and NOT the standard of the American hotel business. First...no one was there for check- in. The gentleman in the office who sincerely tried to assist us spoke incomprehensible English and gave us a room key card so we could put the luggage in the room for our guests. The room was in dire need of an update; the first floor bathroom screenless window was open (undoubtedly to rid the musty odor of the room.) They did have a newer coffee pot, microwave and mini fridge. We proceeded to dinner and left the check-in process until our return. Secondly, we got back and there was a different gentleman there who also could not be understood and could not access the computer password to check us in. We still had access to the room and hesitantly left our guests. The outdoor pool looked ok but the derelict fountains and landscape in the beginning of a VT summer was very sad. Lastly, we had a phone call the following morning from our guests informing us that the office was closed (at 8:15am) and that they couldn't check-out. It was resolved but who needs this type of aggravation and embarrassment of the lack of VT hospitality.
This motel venue may be perfect for partying skiers, weary travelers who just need a bed for the night or who may have over imbibed not to care where they sleep. We are native Vermonters who feel this is a total misrepresentation of what Vermont has to offer. Shame on the owner of this establishment!!!

Room Tip: Check in at the hotel down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Belmontcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived Friday early evening, after a full day ride (motorcycle) in the rain. The rain stopped long enough to check in to our rooms and unload all of our luggage. Our room had two Queen beds with plenty of room for all of our WET gear. For the Skiers, the rooms have built in ski racks and I believe is about a mile from Okemo Ski Resort. So, after the full day ride in the rain, the last thing any of us wanted to do was to get on the motorcycles again, to go eat. The Owner/Manager, said to us that we could use his car to go out for food. I have to say that this was pretty awesome.On Saturday morning we had the Continental Breakfast, fruit, cereal,toast,muffins,waffle maker,coffee and juice. Also, found one bar and a restaurant within walking distance of our Motel. The staff of the Motel was very very nice, set up a fire ring for us on Saturday night, brought wood for us. Overall it was a pleasant stay, I could go on, but I will put it this way, I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a lot of gear, such as luggage you need to take off your bike, or ski gear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent a weekend at this hotel this past late winter. We arrived very very late, but the hotel had left our key just as the desk said they would. Woke up the next morning to a plain but good breakfast: cold and hot breakfast foods available and the coffee was fine. The breakfast eating area is small but there are couches in the lobby where I took my coffee to read while waiting for the rest of the family to wake up. We were three family members in one large room, also plain, smallish TV, but clean, warm, and comfortable. Nice staff, plenty of parking, all right in the center of Ludlow. The drive to Okemo is just five minutes. No complaints at all - just the basics, done well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
2.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
18.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.8 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Ludlow
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludlow Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow Colonial Motel

Address: 93 Main St, Ludlow, VT 05149-1057 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel)
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £73 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ludlow Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ludlow Colonial Motel! No trip to New England is complete without some skiing, theater and fine dining, which are all easy options from our Ludlow hotel. Visit the Okemo Ski Resort, one of the most beloved skiing destinations in Vermont. During the summer months, a trip to Echo Lake is a must for water recreation, swimming, boating and picnicking. Any time of year is a great time for an event at Weston Theatre or Weston Priory, conveniently close to Ludlow lodging. Whether you’re here to take advantage of the sunshine or visiting us during the winter months for a holiday season our friendly staff makes your stay special. Okemo Valley is home to Fletcher Farm School and the Okemo Mountain Resort. Just a short drive away is Okemo Valley Golf Club, a favorite destination for those looking for a relaxing escape. Whether the Bromley Ski Resort or hiking along the local trails are more your speed, you can enjoy everything this region has to offer when staying at this cozy, charming Ludlow, Vermont hotel. Business travelers in town with Mack Molding, Luzenac, Jeld-Wen® and Okemo Medical Center count on our Ludlow hotel to provide the best service in town. If you’re lucky enough to be here for work, staying at a supremely located property ensures that you can make the most of your down time. With Killington and Stratton Ski Resort 30 miles away, and Woodstock, VT and Manchester, VT drive-able, even a work trip can be a great vacation. Popular towns nearby for tourists make our Ludlow hotel a traveler’s favorite. You can drive to the bigger towns for special events, shopping and dining, but stay at our property to enjoy peace and quiet. We offer 38 deluxe rooms with a microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. A seasonal complimentary breakfast starts your morning off right, complete with hot waffles, sweet pastries, fruits and yogurt complemented with 100% Arabica coffee. Reserve a relaxing stay at Ludlow Colonial Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ludlow Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Ludlow Colonial Hotel Ludlow
Best Western Ludlow
Ludlow Best Western
Ludlow Colonial Motel Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing