We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”
Review of Echo Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Echo Lake Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We booked this a few days before the Presidents day weekend and they were able to accommodate us for two night stay without any problems. While the rooms we stayed in were a bit small, the bed was comfortable. The service was excellent, they helped get us a reservation at a nearby restaurant and the breakfast staff was extremely acmmodating.

The location of this Inn is about 5 miles from Okemo and there was ample parking in the lot adjacent to the Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_E_Kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

Stayed here for the President's Day week in February (five nights) with our four children (6, 12, 14, 16) a friend (17), and the grandparents. The inn accommodated our every need and was very hospitable. They found us a perfect suite with jack and jill bathroom for us and the two youngest children. Our host, Lawrence, took the time to make conversation and helped us to feel at home. The inn was very close to the slopes, and having meal options within the inn made it very easy to put little ones to bed and get an early start slopeside. The inn was clean and the meals were delicious (make sure breakfast is included). Dinner was pricey. The hot tub was hard to reach on frigid nights and not particularly appealing. The furnishings were a bit dated, but charming nonetheless. Each room had its own thermostat and our room had a mini fridge. The recreation room/tavern was an added plus, although the darts were missing for the dart board.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrockportMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

While this is a very nice inn, be very careful making reservations. They write down credit card numbers and leave in a slot. Meaning any employee or other person walking through the door could grab the paper in the key slot could get the number. I reserved with a credit card hardly used, and the day after leaving, I get two calls that my card is being charged! Just a little too convenient since I hadn't used it anywhere since last year nor had I used it that weekend except for here. I emailed hoping for some assurance that paper is shredded, but got no response, which again tells me the owner probably never saw th email So, be careful!

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank skier52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Just returned from a two day business meeting hosted at the Echo Lake inn and found it to be just what our team needed. Small private meeting room, very well equipped, great deli lunches brought up each day by a friendly staff (that after a huge breakfast each morning), wonderful dinners and inviting open fire in the living room to relax with after dinner. It seemed no matter what we asked for they could accommodate, whether late for breakfast - no problem, keeping the staff late up late with our after dinner conversation, no problem -last minute dinner reservations in their dining room the second evening as the restaurant we had planned to eat at was closed, no problem.
I would certainly return and recommend to everyone be it for a meeting or just for the two of you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieKoeppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This was our first time skiing on the east coast and our first time in Vermont. I admit that we waited til last minute to make reservations for lodging for the trip to Okemo Ski Resort, but the price of the room wouldn't have been any cheaper had we reserved two months ago. It's a great place, but overpriced for the one room apartment we had.
Pros:
1. Location! It was a 4 mile drive to the base of Jackson Gore. Highly recommend parking there instead
of Okemo base.
2. Great Staff! Front Desk was friendly and helpful!
3. Apartment was fully equipped. Full size kitchen with pots, pans, plenty of plates and glasses. Even wine openers (which most rentals forget!). Lots of extra pillows and pull out sofa for our kids. There were games and videos in the room, too.
Cons: 1. Cost! Although we did squeeze 2 couples and kids into the one bedroom, I really think we could have found something less expensive with 2 bedrooms elsewhere.
2. Minor drawback was that there was no hotel size shampoo/conditioner, housekeeping or breakfast included. Probably our fault for assuming that this rental was part of the "inn". It is more of an apt rental on the grounds of the very beautiful Echo Lake Inn.
3. Not on a ski shuttle route. But it is very close to Jackson Gore base!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAtoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Echo Lake Inn! After doing a bit of research for a very spontaneous get away we decided to call to see if there was anything available for Christmas night. There was a king sized room with a jacuzzi and fireplace....and they gave us a very good rate since it was not going to be booked last minute. It was wonderful. The inn is very historical, clean, picturesque and VT like if that makes sense! We totally enjoyed the wonderful restaurant which offered a 4 course meal at a fixed price which we felt was very reasonable for the quality and service. Many others were coming to the restaurant from other hotels and inns so we could see they have a stellar reputation in this area. The full breakfast was also included though we did leave a tip. The service at all meals was very good. We loved the bar and the living room area where there is always a roaring fire. They even bring you your drinks to enjoy by the fire.
This inn is very well run by Lawrence, the inn keeper and his staff. We got to know a few of the people and all were so friendly and nice.

As if it wasn't romantic enough, a huge snow storm arrived the day we were supposed to leave so we stayed one more night. We were able to take some beautiful pictures of the inn and we have wonderful memories of our spontaneous get away! We will be back again.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Stayed here the weekend of Dec 18th. Great package which included lift tickets for Okemo and breakfast. We were the only couple the first night so we were upgraded to a room with a 2 person Jacuzzi and a fireplace. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was great. We did not have dinner here but heard another couple rave about the dinner. The entire house had wireless and the room we stayed in had a tv with cable. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBrownCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
3.0 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
277 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
342 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
434 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
6.3 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Lake Inn

Address: 2 Dublin Rd, Ludlow, VT 05149-9309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range: £89 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Echo Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Echo Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Lake Hotel Ludlow
Echo Lake Inn Ludlow, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing