We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality is lost on them”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 7 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hospitality is lost on them”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Went here over the Valentine's weekend...stayed for 3 days.
Upon checking in, the Innkeeper told us we couldn't eat there for dinner because they were booked...didn't even try to accomodate us!
Breakfast offered no options...take it or leave it style of presentation.
When I asked if they had Granola bars, to bring with us as a snack while skiing, they simply said "nope".

By the way, our room was billed as having a fireplace...NOPE! It was a free-standing gas stove. That's not a fireplace folks!

I thought the job of an Innkeeper was to make you feel special and part of a family. If so, I think I want a new family!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    7
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
89
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband, adult children and their spouses spent a lovely weekend Feb. 7 , 8 & 9 at the Inn at Water's Edge. We went skiing at Okemo which has an entrance just 5 minutes from the Inn. This was our second stay at the Inn and it will become an annual vacation for our family. The Inn is lovely, the rooms and bathrooms were great. But the best part were the innkeepers Bruce and Tina. They are so accommodating and helped us with our every need especially with our meals. We had people in our party who were lactose intolerant, one who had recent dental surgery and needed food pureed and others with foods they couldn't tolerate. We spoke with Tina and Bruce about this ahead of time, and they handled every food issue extremely well and were very friendly about it. All of us were able to enjoy the absolutely delicious meals that were prepared in ways we could eat them. Another nice thing about the inn is their large bar and living room area. There were 8 in our group and 7 or 8 women in another group, plus two other couples at the inn the weekend we were there. We all had plenty of room in the beautiful bar area with plenty of booths that we used to play games, and in the living room area around the fire that the other women used to play games. The other two couples played pool together. We all could see the big screen tv to watch the Olympics. So we had fun skiing at Okemo by day, and had delicious food and fun at the Inn at night. I highly recommend the Inn at Water's Edge!!

Room Tip: Last year we stayed in I believe room #11 in another wing. That room was very private as there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Inn at Water's Edge is the cozy kind of place that has you coming back year after year. Bruce and Tina, the innkeepers, are warm and engaging, always ready to answer a question or have a friendly chat. Over the years Bruce has suggested hiking routes, restaurants, shopping destinations, etc - you're wondering about something, he knows the best in the region... and his suggestions have always lived up to billing! Plus he'll make you a mean cocktail in the well-stocked Pub when you get back from a day of fun! After a sound sleep in one of the Inn's comfortable rooms, Tina's delicious breakfast will always help you start the day off right. Whether you are looking for adventure or simply a place to relax, the Inn at Water's Edge has just what you need. And let's not forget, you get all this for the most reasonable price around!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I discovered Inn at Water's Edge in 2011. We returned recently from our 3rd ski trip to the Inn this month. (We missed the 2012 season only because there was no snow to be had in the northeast!) When we initially saw the deal offered through the internet, we both thought it was a mistake; it seemed too good to be true. Indeed, I did ask if it was a typo when I called to book - and it was (and is) on the level. Room, breakfast, dinner and lift tickets are included in the very reasonable price. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by our host Bruce (he and wife Tina own the Inn) and shown to our lovely room. Very cozy with a gas fireplace (with a remote, no less!) and all rooms have adequate space for luggage. (Boot trays indoors near the Inn entrance with outlets for boot heaters and wall hooks for jackets are very helpful in minimizing room clutter.) The bathroom features a whirlpool tub, perfect for after-ski aches (there's also an outdoor hot tub with breathtaking views.) Comfy robes, slippers, hairdryers, shampoo, conditioner and even makeup remover towelettes are provided. All the bedrooms have a different theme, beautifully decorated, and most have fireplaces. The gorgeous English-made bar is well stocked; offerings are beers (including those from Vermont), a great selection of wines, and Bruce can whip up some mean cocktails! You can enjoy your beverages at the bar, or take them to the sitting area just beyond the bar - the couches and chairs are comfortable and make for a great place to relax around the fire and chat with your fellow guests. (We have found that the clientele is 40+ plus.) Or you can curl up with a book if you prefer. There's a pool table and a TV nearby; rooms do not have TVs (fine with us!) Breakfasts and dinners are prepared by Tina, and are delicious; we've never been disappointed with anything Tina prepares. She makes hot breakfasts (served between 7-9 am) and cereals and granola are available also. Coffee and tea are self-serve and available before breakfast. There are 3 not run of the mill entree choices for dinner (served at 7pm), which includes a roll and butter, an appetizer or soup and fresh vegetables, all perfectly paired with the entree, followed by dessert. Bruce's wine suggestions for dinner are on the mark. He also does the serving. And the entertaining - he's full of stories and jokes, and the banter between Bruce and Tina is hilarious. The Inn is located just minutes away from Okemo and parking at the Jackson Gore area is plentiful and way more convenient than parking at Okemo's main area; no stairs to negotiate. Bruce and Tina maintain and manage the Inn and not only is their home beautiful, it's beautifully run. We feel that the Inn is our home away from home and will return. Our trips to the Inn are our little visit to paradise!

Room Tip: If you like cross-ventilation, some rooms have more than 1 window. The bedrooms can be toasty, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I are long time (14 years?) patrons of the Inn and I was just planning on providing a review of our Feb. 9th stay when I happened to notice a recent "1" rating which cited "terrible hospitality" because they were turned away from the bar, not being guests - I have to comment!

The Inn is run by a husband and wife team, Bruce and Tina. They provide bed, breakfast, and optional dinner for overnight guests. Each day you select from a choice of that evening's three dinner entrees during breakfast, since Tina only prepares the plated 4-course dinner to your selection. There is no warming oven holding multiple servings of Veal Marsala, Roasted Cod w/ green olives, capers and herbs, or Chicken Breast stuffed w/ Fontina cheese and fig jam (these being the three entrees on a recent evening).

The Inn also has a beautiful pub as an amenity for the overnight guests, overseen by Bruce, adjacent to the fireplaced lounge/den. When Tina says that dinner is ready, Bruce shepherds all the guests to the dining room, where he changes hats and becomes your server, meaning that the bar is closed. After dinner, Bruce helps with clean up and then returns to the pub. As other reviewers have noted, it feels a lot like visiting family, and I've explained all this for a reason.

The Inn does not provide a full-service restaurant where walk-ins can be accommodated (They do take dinner reservations from the public early in the day, again for the three daily entrees). Similarly, they do not/cannot provide lounge/bar service to the general public, who would have to be shooed out the door at dinner time when the bar was unattended.

This business model is admittedly different from other accommodations in the area; in fact, right across the road, the Echo Lake Inn has regular restaurant service with a seasonal multi-entree menu and a public bar. Instead of being served by a husband and wife owner team they presumably have paid bar tending and waitstaff. While there's nothing wrong with that type of inn, I prefer the friendliness and one-to-one hospitality I get from Bruce and Tina.

It's unfortunate that the earlier reviewer did not understand how the Inn at Water's Edge is operated primarily for their overnight guests, and has no "public" space, including the pub. I know they would not think of wandering into an Inn and "finding" their way to the living room just to enjoy the shared space; at the Inn at Water's Edge, the Pub is similarly a shared space for guests only.

If you look at the distribution of 5, 4, 3, 2, and 1 ratings, it is clear that the Inn is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Water's Edge for 3 nights (Sun-Tues) during ski season. The ski and stay package included a room with a King size bed, breakfast, dinner and daily lift passes for $279 total per night for 2 people. We were confused based upon an earlier review that complained of additional service charges added as well as the website package notation "Vermont state tax and 15% gratuity will be added" but there were no hidden or additional fees added to our bill-it was $279 per night all inclusive. Another helpful tip; if you stay for 3 nights and use your 3 lift ticket vouchers to buy a 3 day Okemo pass then apparently you can trade one of the days for Killington (we didn't do this because it was our first time skiing at Okemo and there were plenty of trails).

The innkeepers, Bruce and TIna, are very friendly. Unfortunately Tina was sick during our stay so we didn't get the opportunity to talk with her much. Bruce kept things running nicely and was quite entertaining with a variety of funny stories.

There are many nice amenities. For skiers there are boot trays in the main hallway to dry your boots each night. There is a hot tub that's perfect after a long day of skiing with a nice view of the stream and surrounding hillside. We noticed that one couple went snow-shoeing and they mentioned that the Inn loaned them the snowshoes.

Some bedrooms include a gas fireplace which was nice during the bitter cold days in February (although the room was cozy and warm even without the fire). The bathtub is a jacuzzi style with jets (also very nice). Lots of little details make this Inn top notch. We were provided plush robes, slippers, shampoo/conditioner/soap, and a hairdryer. The raised bed (steps provided) was very comfortable and although the room was somewhat compact, there was a wardrobe and room to store bags/luggage under the bed. There is no tv in the room but we enjoyed the quiet. We stayed in room 2 on the first floor close to the lounge/bar. There was some noise from people walking in the rooms above us but it was not too bad as everyone seemed to keep the same schedule and arose around 7 am.

The lounge and bar area are really nice with lots of seating, pool table, darts, fireplace, a flat screen tv (we were watching the Olympics every night with other guests). The bar was transported from England and is quite impressive!

The Inn is clean and well managed. Meals were served in the dining room at specific times. Breakfast is from 8-9 am and dinner at 7 pm. The skiers in the Inn would congregate in the dining room before 8 each morning and coffee or tea were always ready while awaiting breakfast. We enjoyed our meals and each day you can choose from among 3 entrees for your four course dinner. We had quail, ribeye steak, chicken piccata and leg of lamb among other things and were quite happy with the variety during out stay. My husband had beer several evenings at the bar or with dinner and the prices were quite reasonable (approx $5).

There is ample convenient parking outside the Inn and the location is only minutes from Okemo's Jackson Gore entrance (best place to park to avoid end of the day traffic).

We enjoyed the company of other guests and made some new friends during this trip. Guests were considerate and the Inn was generally quiet after 10 pm. The group during our stay were all adults, 40+, friendly and fun.

I can't imagine a nicer Inn or a better package deal for skiing. We will most certainly return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1peacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I don't stay at B&Bs a lot, but Bruce and Tina are great examples of what's special about a B&B stay. You really feel like you're in their home, and it feels warm and welcoming and never intrusive or overbearing. The rooms are adorable and quaint, but still have the amenities you would expect. The bathrooms are beautiful and incredibly clean.

Bruce and Tina's home and hospitality really made the weekend for me and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acp_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
3.0 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
271 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
4.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#2 of 7 in Ludlow
118 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Pettigrew Inn
The Pettigrew Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Water's Edge

Property: Inn at Water's Edge
Address: 45 Kingdom Rd, Ludlow, VT 05149-9435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Inn At Water's Edge Ludlow, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing